The Book Of Lost Things: A Novel

Kobo eBook available

read instantly on your Kobo or tablet.

buy the ebook now

The Book Of Lost Things: A Novel

by John Connolly

Atria Books | November 7, 2006 | Hardcover

4.9 out of 5 rating. 10 Reviews
Not yet rated | write a review
New York Times bestselling author John Connolly''s unique imagination takes readers through the end of innocence into adulthood and beyond in this dark and triumphantly creative novel of grief and loss, loyalty and love, and the redemptive power of stories.

High in his attic bedroom, twelve-year-old David mourns the death of his mother. He is angry and alone, with only the books on his shelf for company. But those books have begun to whisper to him in the darkness, and as he takes refuge in his imagination, he finds that reality and fantasy have begun to meld. While his family falls apart around him, David is violently propelled into a land that is a strange reflection of his own world, populated by heroes and monsters, and ruled over by a faded king who keeps his secrets in a mysterious book... The Book of Lost Things.

An imaginative tribute to the journey we must all make through the loss of innocence into adulthood, John Connolly''s latest novel is a book for every adult who can recall the moment when childhood began to fade, and for every adult about to face that moment. The Book of Lost Things is a story of hope for all who have lost, and for all who have yet to lose. It is an exhilarating tale that reminds us of the enduring power of stories in our lives.

Format: Hardcover

Dimensions: 352 Pages, 5.12 × 8.27 × 0.79 in

Published: November 7, 2006

Publisher: Atria Books

Language: English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 0743298853

ISBN - 13: 9780743298858

Found in: Fiction and Literature

Out of stock Sorry, this item has sold out and may be re-stocked in the future.

Cart

All available formats:

Reviews

– More About This Product –

The Book Of Lost Things: A Novel

The Book Of Lost Things: A Novel

by John Connolly

Format: Hardcover

Dimensions: 352 Pages, 5.12 × 8.27 × 0.79 in

Published: November 7, 2006

Publisher: Atria Books

Language: English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 0743298853

ISBN - 13: 9780743298858

About the Book

In the tradition of C.S. Lewis and Gregory Maguire's "Wicked," bestselling author Connolly ("The Black Angel") offers a creative coming-of-age story about one boy's journey into adulthood by combining dramatic themes with edge-of-your-seat suspense and a fantastical imagination.

Read from the Book

I Of All That Was Found and All That Was Lost Once upon a time -- for that is how all stories should begin -- there was a boy who lost his mother. He had, in truth, been losing her for a very long time. The disease that was killing her was a creeping, cowardly thing, a sickness that ate away at her from the inside, slowly consuming the light within, so that her eyes grew a little less bright with each passing day, and her skin a little more pale. And as she was stolen away from him, piece by piece, the boy became more and more afraid of finally losing her entirely. He wanted her to stay. He had no brothers and no sisters, and while he loved his father, it would be true to say that he loved his mother more. He could not bear to think of a life without her. The boy, whose name was David, did everything that he could to keep his mother alive. He prayed. He tried to be good, so that she would not be punished for his mistakes. He padded around the house as quietly as he was able, and kept his voice down when he was playing war games with his toy soldiers. He created a routine, and he tried to keep to that routine as closely as possible, because he believed in part that his mother''s fate was linked to the actions he performed. He would always get out of bed by putting his left foot on the floor first, then his right. He always counted up to twenty when he was brushing his teeth, and he always stopped when the count was completed. He always touched the faucets in the bathroom and t
read more read less

From the Publisher

New York Times bestselling author John Connolly''s unique imagination takes readers through the end of innocence into adulthood and beyond in this dark and triumphantly creative novel of grief and loss, loyalty and love, and the redemptive power of stories.

High in his attic bedroom, twelve-year-old David mourns the death of his mother. He is angry and alone, with only the books on his shelf for company. But those books have begun to whisper to him in the darkness, and as he takes refuge in his imagination, he finds that reality and fantasy have begun to meld. While his family falls apart around him, David is violently propelled into a land that is a strange reflection of his own world, populated by heroes and monsters, and ruled over by a faded king who keeps his secrets in a mysterious book... The Book of Lost Things.

An imaginative tribute to the journey we must all make through the loss of innocence into adulthood, John Connolly''s latest novel is a book for every adult who can recall the moment when childhood began to fade, and for every adult about to face that moment. The Book of Lost Things is a story of hope for all who have lost, and for all who have yet to lose. It is an exhilarating tale that reminds us of the enduring power of stories in our lives.

About the Author

John Connolly is the author of "Every Dead Thing", which was a bestseller in Britain & Ireland. He is a regular contributor to "The Irish Times", & has traveled extensively in the United States. He lives in Dublin, Ireland.
Item not added

This item is not available to order at this time.

See used copies from 00.00
  • My Gift List
  • My Wish List
  • Shopping Cart