Gilead

Kobo eBook available

read instantly on your Kobo or tablet.

buy the ebook now

Gilead

by Marilynne Robinson

Picador USA | January 31, 2006 | Trade Paperback |

4.25 out of 5 rating. 4 Reviews
Not yet rated | write a review
Twenty-four years after her first novel, "Housekeeping," Marilynne Robinson returns with an intimate tale of three generations from the Civil War to the twentieth century: a story about fathers and sons and the spiritual battles that still rage at America''s heart. Writing in the tradition of Emily Dickinson and Walt Whitman, Marilynne Robinson''s beautiful, spare, and spiritual prose allows "even the faithless reader to feel the possibility of transcendent order" ("Slate"). In the luminous and unforgettable voice of Congregationalist minister John Ames, Gilead reveals the human condition and the often unbearable beauty of an ordinary life.

Format: Trade Paperback

Dimensions: 247 Pages, 5.51 × 7.87 × 0.39 in

Published: January 31, 2006

Publisher: Picador USA

Language: English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 031242440X

ISBN - 13: 9780312424404

Found in: Fiction and Literature

save
28%

In Stock

$12.12

Online Price

$15.95 List Price

or, Used from $5.04

eGift this item

Give this item in the form of an eGift Card.

+ what is this?

This item is eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $25.
See details

Easy, FREE returns. See details

All available formats:

Reviews

– More About This Product –

Gilead

Gilead

by Marilynne Robinson

Format: Trade Paperback

Dimensions: 247 Pages, 5.51 × 7.87 × 0.39 in

Published: January 31, 2006

Publisher: Picador USA

Language: English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 031242440X

ISBN - 13: 9780312424404

From the Publisher

Twenty-four years after her first novel, "Housekeeping," Marilynne Robinson returns with an intimate tale of three generations from the Civil War to the twentieth century: a story about fathers and sons and the spiritual battles that still rage at America''s heart. Writing in the tradition of Emily Dickinson and Walt Whitman, Marilynne Robinson''s beautiful, spare, and spiritual prose allows "even the faithless reader to feel the possibility of transcendent order" ("Slate"). In the luminous and unforgettable voice of Congregationalist minister John Ames, Gilead reveals the human condition and the often unbearable beauty of an ordinary life.

Editorial Reviews

"At a moment in cultural history dominated by the shallow, the superficial, the quick fix, Marilynne Robinson is a miraculous anomaly: a writer who thoughtfully, carefully, and tenaciously explores some of the deepest questions confronting the human species. . . . Poignant, absorbing, lyrical...Robinson manages to convey the miracle of existence itself."--Merle Rubin, "Los Angeles Times Book Review" "Incandescent . . . magnificent . . . Ýa¨ literary miracle."--Lisa Schwarzbaum, "Entertainment Weekly" (A) "Rapturous . . . astonishing . . . "Gilead" is an inspired work from a writer whose sensibility seems steeped in holy fire."--Lisa Shea, "Elle" "Lyrical and meditative . . . potently contemplative."--Michele Orecklin, "Time" "Perfect."--Jeremy Jackson, "People"(four stars) "Major."--Philip Connors, "Newsday""" "You must read this book. . . . Altogether unlike any other work of fiction, it has sprung forth more than twenty years after "Housekeeping" with what I can only call amazing grace."--Anne Hulbert, "Slate""" "So serenely beautiful and written in a prose so gravely measured and thoughtful, that one feels touched with grace just to read it."--Michael Dirda, "The Washington Post"" ""There are passages here of such profound, hard-won wisdom and spiritual insight that they make your own life seem richer. . . . "Gilead" Ýis¨ a quiet, deep celebration of life that you must not miss."--Ron Charles, "The Christian Science Monitor"" """Gilead" is a refuge for readers longing for
read more read less
Item not added

This item is not available to order at this time.

See used copies from 00.00
  • My Gift List
  • My Wish List
  • Shopping Cart