Sidetracked: Why Our Decisions Get Derailed, and How We Can Stick to the Plan

Kobo eBook available

read instantly on your Kobo or tablet.

buy the ebook now

Sidetracked: Why Our Decisions Get Derailed, and How We Can Stick to the Plan

by Francesca Gino

Harvard Business Review Press | February 26, 2013 | Hardcover

Not yet rated | write a review
You may not realize it but simple, irrelevant factors can have profound consequences on your decisions and behavior, often diverting you from your original plans and desires. Sidetracked will help you identify and avoid these influences so the decisions you make do stick—and you finally reach your intended goals.

Psychologist and Harvard Business School professor Francesca Gino has long studied the factors at play when judgment and decision making collide with the results of our choices in real life. In this book she explores inconsistent decisions played out in a wide range of circumstances—from our roles as consumers and employees (what we buy, how we manage others) to the choices that we make more broadly as human beings (who we date, how we deal with friendships). From Gino's research, we see when a mismatch is most likely to occur between what we want and what we end up doing. What factors are likely to sway our decisions in directions we did not initially consider? And what can we do to correct for the subtle influences that derail our decisions? The answers to these and similar questions will help you negotiate similar factors when faced with them in the real world.

For fans of Dan Ariely and Daniel Kahneman, this book will help you better understand the nuances of your decisions and how they get derailed—so you have more control over keeping them on track.

Format: Hardcover

Dimensions: 272 Pages, 5.91 × 9.06 × 0.79 in

Published: February 26, 2013

Publisher: Harvard Business Review Press

Language: English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 1422142698

ISBN - 13: 9781422142691

Found in: Management and Leadership

save
37%

In Stock

$18.48

Online Price

$28.00 List Price

or, Used from $7.66

eGift this item

Give this item in the form of an eGift Card.

+ what is this?

This item is eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $25.
See details

Easy, FREE returns. See details

All available formats:

Check store inventory (prices may vary)

Reviews

– More About This Product –

Sidetracked: Why Our Decisions Get Derailed, and How We Can Stick to the Plan

Sidetracked: Why Our Decisions Get Derailed, and How We Can Stick to the Plan

by Francesca Gino

Format: Hardcover

Dimensions: 272 Pages, 5.91 × 9.06 × 0.79 in

Published: February 26, 2013

Publisher: Harvard Business Review Press

Language: English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 1422142698

ISBN - 13: 9781422142691

About the Book

For fans of Dan Ariely and Daniel Kahneman, this book will help readers better understand the nuances of decisions and how they get derailed--so there is more control to keep them on track.

From the Publisher

You may not realize it but simple, irrelevant factors can have profound consequences on your decisions and behavior, often diverting you from your original plans and desires. Sidetracked will help you identify and avoid these influences so the decisions you make do stick—and you finally reach your intended goals.

Psychologist and Harvard Business School professor Francesca Gino has long studied the factors at play when judgment and decision making collide with the results of our choices in real life. In this book she explores inconsistent decisions played out in a wide range of circumstances—from our roles as consumers and employees (what we buy, how we manage others) to the choices that we make more broadly as human beings (who we date, how we deal with friendships). From Gino's research, we see when a mismatch is most likely to occur between what we want and what we end up doing. What factors are likely to sway our decisions in directions we did not initially consider? And what can we do to correct for the subtle influences that derail our decisions? The answers to these and similar questions will help you negotiate similar factors when faced with them in the real world.

For fans of Dan Ariely and Daniel Kahneman, this book will help you better understand the nuances of your decisions and how they get derailed—so you have more control over keeping them on track.

About the Author

Francesca Gino is Associate Professor of Business Administration in the Negotiation, Organizations, & Markets Unit at the Harvard Business School. Her research focuses on judgment and decision making, social influence, and ethics and creativity. Her studies have been featured on CNN and NPR, as well as in leading print publications including Economist, Financial Times, New York Times, Newsweek, Scientific American, and Psychology Today. In 2009, the New York Times featured Gino's research in The 9th Annual Year in Ideas.

Editorial Reviews

“Similar to Chip and Dan Heath’s Made To Stick and Malcolm Gladwell’s The Tipping Point , this book will appeal to those looking to build their business platform.” — Library Journal “Thoroughly researched and informative, the book’s clarity and simplicity of structure are quite refreshing. Gino possesses a wealth of well-constructed research and experience — both inside university labs and in the business world. This book is filled with carefully explained studies that have taken many years to collect and establish, as well as many insights from the business consulting world.” — Business World magazine “For the general reader desiring to learn more about research studies on some human decision biases and their effects, this book can provide a valuable perspective.” — Choice Magazine “… a powerful survey outlining the entire decision-making process, how it gets derailed, and how to get it back on track.” — Midwest Book Review “Worth reading in every respect [ Sidetracked ] distinguishes itself from other practical books in its substance and the relevance of its examples.” — Personalwirtschaft (Germany) “What separates Sidetracked …from some other books on decision making is an in-depth exploration of the “human” obstacles as opposed to the “organizational” obstacles that can inhibit sound decision-making processes.” — Business S
read more read less
Item not added

This item is not available to order at this time.

See used copies from 00.00
  • My Gift List
  • My Wish List
  • Shopping Cart