Frank Miller's Sin City Volume 1: The Hard Goodbye 3rd Edition

Kobo eBook available

read instantly on your Kobo or tablet.

buy the ebook now

Frank Miller's Sin City Volume 1: The Hard Goodbye 3rd Edition

by Frank Miller
Illustrator Frank Miller

Dark Horse Comics | October 19, 2010 | Trade Paperback

Frank Miller's Sin City Volume 1: The Hard Goodbye 3rd Edition is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 5.
The first volume of the crime-comic megahit that introduced the now-infamous Marv and spawned a blockbuster film returns in a newly redesigned edition, with a brand-new cover by Frank Miller-some of his first comics art in years!

It''s a lousy room in a lousy part of a lousy town. But Marv doesn''t care. There''s an angel in the room. She says her name is Goldie. A few hours later, Goldie''s dead without a mark on her perfect body, and the cops are coming before anyone but Marv could know she''s been killed. Somebody paid good money for this frame . . .

With a new look generating more excitement than ever before, this third edition is the perfect way to attract a whole new generation of readers to Frank Miller''s masterpiece!

* Over a million Sin City books in print!

* New cover by Frank Miller!

* With Miller and codirector Robert Rodriguez gearing up for Sin City 2, this third edition is being released at just the right time!

* The Hard Goodbye was the lead story in the Sin City film, starring Mickey Rourke as Marv!

Format: Trade Paperback

Dimensions: 280 pages, 9 × 6 × 0.63 in

Published: October 19, 2010

Publisher: Dark Horse Comics

Language: English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 1593072937

ISBN - 13: 9781593072933

save 27%

  • In stock online

$15.96  ea

Online Price

$21.00 List Price

or, Used from $8.45

eGift this item

Give this item in the form of an eGift Card.

+ what is this?

This item is eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $25.
See details

Easy, FREE returns. See details

Item can only be shipped in Canada

Downloads instantly to your kobo or other ereading device. See details

All available formats:

Check store inventory (prices may vary)

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Frank Miller is amazing! If you like graphic novels or are looking to understand the Sin City characters more i would highly recommend this book to you.
Date published: 2009-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Walk down the right back alley in Sin City and you can find anything. “The Dark Knight Returns” and “300” creator Miller first ushered audiences into the neo-noir world of Basin City with this hard-boiled detective yarn of one man’s violent search of justice which was serialized in Dark Horse Presents and spawned many further yarns and a motion picture franchise. Marv, the 7-foot flat-topped deeply scared anti-hero of the book, who the author has described as “Conan in a trench coat”, makes for a surprisingly engaging lead as he sets out to do what is right but finds himself constantly befuddled by an unnamed mental condition that places everything he narrates under suspicion. The creators first solo followed his highly publicised departure from DC who he thought were attempting to censor his work and seethes with anger and paranoia which he ploughs into this deliberately violent masterpiece that has become highly influential and was one of the major elements of the 2005 film adaptation. Walk down the right back alley in Sin City and you can find anything.
Date published: 2009-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mr. Miller, You Make a Gooooood Comic! Frank Miller Has Really Outdone Himself in this Tragic But Stylish Noir Tale of Blood, Love, and Sacrifice. After Marv, A Lovable Monster of a Man, is Framed for the Murder of his Love, Goldie, He Goes on a Bloody Rampage to Find her Killer. This Story is Great for Fans of Noir, Gore, or a Rip- Roaring Good Time.
Date published: 2007-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gritty, Dark and Devilishly Miller Frank Miller, the man who put the "dark" in the Dark Knight saga, comes out on his own in the first edition of the Sin City saga. This story is based around Marv, a less than attractive meatheaded thug, and his struggle to find the murderer of Goldie, a prostitute who gave him a chance. The search leads him through a long trail filled with gore, sexy look-a-likes, a dominatrix and a priest. A great read, fasted paced and impossible to put down. Who can't love an ugly thug, a dead prostitute and a "damn fine coat."
Date published: 2006-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The easiest read The first book in Frank Miller's gritty crime series is nowhere near as twisty or confusing as the books to follow. This simply tells the story of Marv, a brute who falls in love with a woman, and his rampage of revenge after he wakes to find her dead in his bed. The plot is still intricate, but you're not confused throughout like you can find yourself in say, "Hell and Back". Like all of Miller's books, it's worth every penny, and Marv's story is unique, just as are Dwight's or Wallace's or Hartigan's.
Date published: 2006-07-16

– More About This Product –

Frank Miller's Sin City Volume 1: The Hard Goodbye 3rd Edition

by Frank Miller
Illustrator Frank Miller

Format: Trade Paperback

Dimensions: 280 pages, 9 × 6 × 0.63 in

Published: October 19, 2010

Publisher: Dark Horse Comics

Language: English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 1593072937

ISBN - 13: 9781593072933

About the Book

Sin City is a place as tough as leather and dry as tinder. Love is the fuel, and the now-infamous character Marv has the match--not to mention a "condition." He's gunning after Goldie's killer, so it's time to watch this town burn!

From the Publisher

The first volume of the crime-comic megahit that introduced the now-infamous Marv and spawned a blockbuster film returns in a newly redesigned edition, with a brand-new cover by Frank Miller-some of his first comics art in years!

It''s a lousy room in a lousy part of a lousy town. But Marv doesn''t care. There''s an angel in the room. She says her name is Goldie. A few hours later, Goldie''s dead without a mark on her perfect body, and the cops are coming before anyone but Marv could know she''s been killed. Somebody paid good money for this frame . . .

With a new look generating more excitement than ever before, this third edition is the perfect way to attract a whole new generation of readers to Frank Miller''s masterpiece!

* Over a million Sin City books in print!

* New cover by Frank Miller!

* With Miller and codirector Robert Rodriguez gearing up for Sin City 2, this third edition is being released at just the right time!

* The Hard Goodbye was the lead story in the Sin City film, starring Mickey Rourke as Marv!
Item not added

This item is not available to order at this time.

See used copies from 00.00
  • My Gift List
  • My Wish List
  • Shopping Cart