The Edge Of Nowhere

Kobo eBook available

read instantly on your Kobo or tablet.

buy the ebook now

The Edge Of Nowhere

by Elizabeth George

Viking USA | September 4, 2012 | Hardcover |

3 out of 5 rating. 1 Reviews
Not yet rated | write a review
The first young adult book by a #1 New York Times bestselling author

Whidbey Island may be only a ferry ride from Seattle, but it''s a world apart. When Becca King arrives there, she doesn''t suspect the island will become her home for the next four years. Put at risk by her ability to hear "whispers"--the thoughts of others--Becca is on the run from her stepfather, whose criminal activities she has discovered. Stranded and alone, Becca is soon befriended by Derric, a Ugandon orphan adopted by a local family; Seth, a kindhearted musician and high school dropout; Debbie, a recovering alcoholic who takes her in; and Diana, with whom Becca shares a mysterious psychic connection.

This compelling coming-of-age story, the first of an ongoing sequence of books set on Whidbey Island, has elements of mystery, the paranormal, and romance. Elizabeth George, bestselling author of the Inspector Lynley crime novels, brings her elegant style, intricate plotting, incisive characterization, and top-notch storytelling to her first book for teens.

Format: Hardcover

Dimensions: 448 Pages, 5.51 × 8.27 × 1.18 in

Published: September 4, 2012

Publisher: Viking USA

Language: English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 0670012963

ISBN - 13: 9780670012961

save
28%

In Stock

$15.20

Online Price

$20.00 List Price

or, Used from $5.04

eGift this item

Give this item in the form of an eGift Card.

+ what is this?

This item is eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $25.
See details

Easy, FREE returns. See details

All available formats:

Check store inventory (prices may vary)

Reviews

– More About This Product –

The Edge Of Nowhere

The Edge Of Nowhere

by Elizabeth George

Format: Hardcover

Dimensions: 448 Pages, 5.51 × 8.27 × 1.18 in

Published: September 4, 2012

Publisher: Viking USA

Language: English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 0670012963

ISBN - 13: 9780670012961

About the Book

From the #1 bestselling author of the Inspector Lynley crime novels comes her first book for young adults. After her mother abandons her on Whidbey Island, Washington, a 14-year-old girl with psychic abilities meets a Ugandan orphan with a secret.

From the Publisher

The first young adult book by a #1 New York Times bestselling author

Whidbey Island may be only a ferry ride from Seattle, but it''s a world apart. When Becca King arrives there, she doesn''t suspect the island will become her home for the next four years. Put at risk by her ability to hear "whispers"--the thoughts of others--Becca is on the run from her stepfather, whose criminal activities she has discovered. Stranded and alone, Becca is soon befriended by Derric, a Ugandon orphan adopted by a local family; Seth, a kindhearted musician and high school dropout; Debbie, a recovering alcoholic who takes her in; and Diana, with whom Becca shares a mysterious psychic connection.

This compelling coming-of-age story, the first of an ongoing sequence of books set on Whidbey Island, has elements of mystery, the paranormal, and romance. Elizabeth George, bestselling author of the Inspector Lynley crime novels, brings her elegant style, intricate plotting, incisive characterization, and top-notch storytelling to her first book for teens.

About the Author

Elizabeth George is the author of more than twenty books for adults. She lives in Seattle, Washington.

Editorial Reviews

Praise for Edge of Nowhere by Elizabeth George

"George has created an interesting set of characters and plot twists that teenagers who like adventure and mysteries will enjoy." -School Library Journal

"...strong appeal to fans of Beth Kephart and Nancy Werlin." -BCCB

"In her first foray into YA fiction, Ms George (a beloved adult suspense novelist) has hit the nail on the proverbial head with this action-packed, mysterious, and somewhat ''creepy'' novel....the writing is superb from Ms. George, as always but...it''s the combination of great characters and relationships that truly have this novel raising the bar when it comes to today''s YA fiction."
                                                                                                                --Suspense Magazine

Edgar Award nominee
Agatha Award nominee
Item not added

This item is not available to order at this time.

See used copies from 00.00
  • My Gift List
  • My Wish List
  • Shopping Cart