Champion: A Legend Novel

Kobo eBook available

read instantly on your Kobo or tablet.

buy the ebook now

Champion: A Legend Novel

by Marie Lu

Putnam Juvenile | November 5, 2013 | Hardcover |

4 out of 5 rating. 2 Reviews
Not yet rated | write a review
The explosive finale to Marie Lu's New York Times bestselling LEGEND trilogy—perfect for fans of THE HUNGER GAMES and DIVERGENT!

He is a Legend.
She is a Prodigy.
Who will be Champion?  
 
June and Day have sacrificed so much for the people of the Republic—and each other—and now their country is on the brink of a new existence. June is back in the good graces of the Republic, working within the government's elite circles as Princeps Elect while Day has been assigned a high level military position. But neither could have predicted the circumstances that will reunite them once again. Just when a peace treaty is imminent, a plague outbreak causes panic in the Colonies, and war threatens the Republic's border cities. This new strain of plague is deadlier than ever, and June is the only one who knows the key to her country's defense. But saving the lives of thousands will mean asking the one she loves to give up everything he has. With heart-pounding action and suspense, Marie Lu's bestselling trilogy draws to a stunning conclusion.
 

Format: Hardcover

Dimensions: 384 Pages, 5.51 × 8.27 × 1.18 in

Published: November 5, 2013

Publisher: Putnam Juvenile

Language: English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 0399256776

ISBN - 13: 9780399256776

save
28%

In Stock

$15.20

Online Price

$20.00 List Price

or, Used from $10.08

eGift this item

Give this item in the form of an eGift Card.

+ what is this?

This item is eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $25.
See details

Easy, FREE returns. See details

All available formats:

Check store inventory (prices may vary)

Reviews

– More About This Product –

Champion: A Legend Novel

Champion: A Legend Novel

by Marie Lu

Format: Hardcover

Dimensions: 384 Pages, 5.51 × 8.27 × 1.18 in

Published: November 5, 2013

Publisher: Putnam Juvenile

Language: English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 0399256776

ISBN - 13: 9780399256776

Read from the Book

SAN FRANCISCO, CALIFORNIA REPUBLIC OF AMERICA * * * POPULATION: 24,646,320   OUT OF ALL THE DISGUISES I’VE WORN, THIS ONE might be my favorite. Dark red hair, different enough from my usual white-blond, cut to just past my shoulders and pulled back into a tail. Green contacts that look natural when layered over my blue eyes. A crumpled, half-tucked collar shirt, its tiny silver but­tons shining in the dark, a thin military jacket, black pants and steel-toed boots, a thick gray scarf wrapped around my neck, chin, and mouth. A dark soldier cap is pulled low over my forehead, and a crimson, painted tattoo stretches all over the left half of my face, changing me into someone unfamiliar. Aside from this, I wear an ever-present earpiece and mike. The Republic insists on it. In most other cities, I’d probably get even more stares than I usually do because of that giant goddy tattoo—not exactly a subtle marker, I gotta admit. But here in San Francisco, I blend right in with the others. The first thing I noticed when Eden and I moved to Frisco eight months ago was the local trend: young people painting black or red pat­terns on their faces, some small and delicate, like Republic seals on their temples or something similar, others huge and sprawling, like giant patterns of the Republic’s land shape. I chose a pretty generic tattoo tonight, because I’m not loyal enough to the Republic to stamp that loyalty right on my face. Leave that to June.
read more read less

From the Publisher

The explosive finale to Marie Lu's New York Times bestselling LEGEND trilogy—perfect for fans of THE HUNGER GAMES and DIVERGENT!

He is a Legend.
She is a Prodigy.
Who will be Champion?  
 
June and Day have sacrificed so much for the people of the Republic—and each other—and now their country is on the brink of a new existence. June is back in the good graces of the Republic, working within the government's elite circles as Princeps Elect while Day has been assigned a high level military position. But neither could have predicted the circumstances that will reunite them once again. Just when a peace treaty is imminent, a plague outbreak causes panic in the Colonies, and war threatens the Republic's border cities. This new strain of plague is deadlier than ever, and June is the only one who knows the key to her country's defense. But saving the lives of thousands will mean asking the one she loves to give up everything he has. With heart-pounding action and suspense, Marie Lu's bestselling trilogy draws to a stunning conclusion.
 

About the Author

Marie Lu (www.marielu.org) is the author of the New York Times bestselling novels Legend, Prodigy, and Champion. She graduated from the University of Southern California and jumped into the video game industry, working for Disney Interactive Studios as a Flash artist. Now a full-time writer, she spends her spare time reading, drawing, playing Assassin's Creed, and getting stuck in traffic. She lives in Los Angeles, California (see above: traffic), with one boyfriend, one Chihuahua mix, and two Pembroke Welsh corgis.

Editorial Reviews

Praise for CHAMPION : STARRED REVIEW from PUBLISHERS WEEKLY : “ Remains masterfully true to its themes of loyalty, necessity, and dreams, eschewing any easy outs that the plot could offer.”     STARRED REVIEW from KIRKUS REVIEWS : “ This exhilarating finale to the dystopian Legend trilogy delivers on the promises of the genre without ever being predictable about details. Ever respectful of the capacity of its readers, this series offers a satisfying conclusion of potential rather than a neatly wrapped denouement.”   -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------   Don’t miss the first two books in Marie Lu’s New York Times bestselling trilogy: LEGEND and PRODIGY !     Praise for LEGEND :   From ENTERTAINMENT WEEKLY : “Fine writing and excellent execution. Sequel, please !”   From THE NEW YORK TIMES : “ Legend doesn’t merely survive the hype, it deserves it .”     From USA TODAY : “Marie Lu’s dystopian novel is a ‘Legend’ in the making .”     From THE LOS ANGELES TIMES : “an action-packed love story full of inventive details.”     STARRED REVIEW from PUBLISHERS WEEKLY: “ Lu’s debut is a stunner . . . raises hopes high for the sequels to come. ”     STARRED REVIEW from KIRKUS REVIEWS :  “ A gripping thriller
read more read less
Item not added

This item is not available to order at this time.

See used copies from 00.00
  • My Gift List
  • My Wish List
  • Shopping Cart