Chaos: Making A New Science

by James Gleick

Penguin Books | August 26, 2008 | Trade Paperback

Chaos: Making A New Science is rated 5 out of 5 by 1.
The million-copy bestseller by National Book Award nominee and Pulitzer Prize finalist James Gleick that reveals the science behind chaos theory

National bestseller
More than a million copies sold

A work of popular science in the tradition of Stephen Hawking and Carl Sagan, this 20th-anniversary edition of James Gleick’s groundbreaking bestseller Chaos introduces a whole new readership to chaos theory, one of the most significant waves of scientific knowledge in our time. From Edward Lorenz’s discovery of the Butterfly Effect, to Mitchell Feigenbaum’s calculation of a universal constant, to Benoit Mandelbrot’s concept of fractals, which created a new geometry of nature, Gleick’s engaging narrative focuses on the key figures whose genius converged to chart an innovative direction for science. In Chaos,Gleick makes the story of chaos theory not only fascinating but also accessible to beginners, and opens our eyes to a surprising new view of the universe.

Format: Trade Paperback

Dimensions: 384 pages, 8.48 × 5.6 × 1.09 in

Published: August 26, 2008

Publisher: Penguin Books

Language: English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 0143113453

ISBN - 13: 9780143113454

Found in: Science and Nature

save 37%

  • In stock online

$16.50  ea

Online Price

$25.00 List Price

or, Used from $7.31

eGift this item

Give this item in the form of an eGift Card.

+ what is this?

This item is eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $25.
See details

Easy, FREE returns. See details

Item can only be shipped in Canada

Downloads instantly to your kobo or other ereading device. See details

All available formats:

Check store inventory (prices may vary)

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from The book that started it all... The first book to bring Chaos Theory and the idea that it can be predicted and predictive to the mainstream, and make it understandable... sometimes. Like Gödel, Escher, Bach, this is a seminal layman's science book, and is equally brilliant. How do you explain that randomness has a pattern to it?
Date published: 2009-08-07

– More About This Product –

Chaos: Making A New Science

by James Gleick

Format: Trade Paperback

Dimensions: 384 pages, 8.48 × 5.6 × 1.09 in

Published: August 26, 2008

Publisher: Penguin Books

Language: English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 0143113453

ISBN - 13: 9780143113454

Table of Contents

Chaos Prologue The Butterfly Effect Edward Lorenz and his toy weather. The computer misbehaves. Long-range forecasting is doomed. Order masquerading as randomness. A world of nonlinearity. "We completely missed the point." Revolution A revolution in seeing. Pendulum clocks, space balls, and playground swings. The invention of the horseshoe. A mystery solved: Jupiter''s Great Red Spot. Life''s Ups and Downs Modeling wildlife populations. Nonlinear science, "the study of non-elephant animals." Pitchfork bifurcations and a ride on the Spree. A movie of chaos and a messianic appeal. A Geometry of Nature A discovery about cotton prices. A refugee from Bourbaki. Transmission errors and jagged shores. New dimensions. The monsters of fractal geometry. Quakes in the schizosphere. From clouds to blood vessels. The trash cans of science. "To see the world in a grain of sand." Strange Attractors A problem for God. Transitions in the laboratory. Rotating cylinders and a turning point. David Ruelle''s idea for turbulence. Loops in phase space. Mille-feuilles and sausage. An astronomer''s mapping. "Fireworks or galaxies." Universality A new start at Los Alamos. The renormalization group. Decoding color. The rise of numerical experimentation. Mitchell Feigenbaum''s breakthrough. A universal theory. The rejection letters. Meeting in Como. Clouds and paintings. The Experimenter Helium in a Small Box. "Insolid billowing of the solid." Flow and form in nature. Albert Libchaber''s delicate triump
read more read less

From the Publisher

The million-copy bestseller by National Book Award nominee and Pulitzer Prize finalist James Gleick that reveals the science behind chaos theory

National bestseller
More than a million copies sold

A work of popular science in the tradition of Stephen Hawking and Carl Sagan, this 20th-anniversary edition of James Gleick’s groundbreaking bestseller Chaos introduces a whole new readership to chaos theory, one of the most significant waves of scientific knowledge in our time. From Edward Lorenz’s discovery of the Butterfly Effect, to Mitchell Feigenbaum’s calculation of a universal constant, to Benoit Mandelbrot’s concept of fractals, which created a new geometry of nature, Gleick’s engaging narrative focuses on the key figures whose genius converged to chart an innovative direction for science. In Chaos,Gleick makes the story of chaos theory not only fascinating but also accessible to beginners, and opens our eyes to a surprising new view of the universe.

About the Author

James Gleick was born in New York City in 1954. He worked for ten years as an editor and reporter for The New York Times, founded an early Internet portal, the Pipeline, and has written several books of popular science, including The Information: A History, a Theory, a Flood, which won the Pen/E. O. Wilson Literary Science Writing Award. He lives in Key West and New York.   

Editorial Reviews

“ Fascinating . . . almost every paragraph contains a jolt.” —The New York Times

“ Taut and exciting . . . a fascinating illustration of how the pattern of science changes.” —The New York Times Book Review

“ Highly entertaining . . . a startling look at newly discovered universal laws.” —Chicago Tribune

“ An awe-inspiring book. Reading it gave me that sensation othat someone had just found the light switch.” —Douglas Adams, author of The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy

“Chaos is a feast.” —The Washington Post Book World
Item not added

This item is not available to order at this time.

See used copies from 00.00
  • My Gift List
  • My Wish List
  • Shopping Cart