Faking Normal

Kobo eBook available

read instantly on your Kobo or tablet.

buy the ebook now

Faking Normal

by Courtney C Stevens

HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS | February 14, 2014 | Hardcover

Faking Normal is rated 4.6667 out of 5 by 3.

Alexi Littrell hasn''t told anyone what happened to her over the summer. Ashamed and embarrassed, she hides in her closet and compulsively scratches the back of her neck, trying to make the outside hurt more than the inside does.

At school, nobody sees the scratches or her pain. The only person she connects with is the mysterious Captain Lyric, who writes song lyrics on her fourth-period desk for her to complete. With pencil marks and music, Alexi carves out a comfortable space for herself as she and the Captain finish each other''s songs-words on a desk feel safer than words spoken aloud.

But when Bodee Lennox, the quiet and awkward boy next door, comes to live with the Littrells, Alexi discovers an unlikely friend who understands her better than anyone. He has secrets of his own and knows all about suffering in silence. As they lean on each other for support, Alexi gives him the strength to deal with his past, and Bodee helps her find the courage to finally speak up.

With her powerful, moving debut novel, author Courtney C. Stevens emerges as an extraordinary new talent to watch.

Format: Hardcover

Dimensions: 336 pages, 8.75 × 6 × 1.16 in

Published: February 14, 2014

Publisher: HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS

Language: English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 0062245384

ISBN - 13: 9780062245380

save 27%

  • In stock online

$16.71  ea

Online Price

$21.99 List Price

or, Used from $5.85

eGift this item

Give this item in the form of an eGift Card.

+ what is this?

This item is eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $25.
See details

Easy, FREE returns. See details

Item can only be shipped in Canada

Downloads instantly to your kobo or other ereading device. See details

All available formats:

Check store inventory (prices may vary)

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Realistic and intense Throughout the whole novel, you're left in the dark as to what happened between Alexi and someone else. You know it's something bad, you know it's one of those topics that is hard to talk about. And when it's revealed you're still reeling from the news. Dealing with this harsh topic is done in a way that is very realistic. I had many suspects in mind, and even though I predicted correctly, it still made me sick to my stomach. Having Alexi pretend like her entire life is okay was just one of the realistic ways she coped with it. Alexi's light was definitely Bodee. He is one character who is full of life and love and he was just the cutest guy ever. Exactly what she needed. Even though she pushes him away, that didn't stop him and I just loved him even more. He's been added to my list of book boyfriends to love. I really liked this one even though the topic was tough to get through. Reading Alexi's point of view made me believe that there is hope after one goes through this. With justice being made as well. Faking Normal will stay with you long after you read it. I know it did with me.
Date published: 2014-12-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Hard hitting and thought provoking Faking Normal by Courtney Stevens is a hard hitting, thought provoking, novel about dealing with pain and suffering due to unfortunate circumstances. It follows the journey of Lex (Alexi Littrell) as she acknowledges and faces the events that took away her innocence and forever changed her life one July evening. Lex is able to do this with the help of an unexpected friend, Botee Lennox, who knows a thing or two about tragedy and abuse. As their friendship develops so does their ability to cope with everything they’ve each been though, they rely on one another for guidance and support during these difficult times. An unlikely and unexpected pair of friends is able to look past one another’s flaws and to help one another find the strength to do what needs to be done for their own safety and the safety of others! I would give this book 4.5/5 stars. I happened to pick it up shortly after the ER case broke national headlines about the violent masculinity and mass shooting that took place simply because ER did not have woman falling all over him. This book is a really good fit along with this current situation as it shows how someone could just “take what they deserve” even if it involves hurting other people. Which unfortunately is a far to common occurrence in society and needs to be stopped.
Date published: 2014-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely great Alexi Littrell is keeping a secret. Something happened to her over the summer, something that drives her to hide in her closet and scratch the back of her neck to the point of bleeding. She’s lost but she can’t show it. That all changes when a tragedy rocks their town and Bodee Lennox, known as The Kool-Aid Kid due to him dying his hair wild colors with packs of Kool-Aid, is suddenly living with them. He gets Alexi in ways no one else does and together, they just might be able to start facing their pasts and start healing. This is definitely the kind of book that stays with you. Alexi’s voice, her confused thoughts, everything about her, just came off as so real that there were times while reading that my hands were shaking. This is a voice that could easily belong to someone you know. There’s a lot of books out there that deal with rape but this is the first one I’ve come across that deals with the victim making excuses for her rapist. The ‘I let him’, the ‘he was hurt/vulnerable’, the ‘other than that night, he’s a good guy’. With all this, Alexi’s mind and thoughts are an understandable mess. I felt for her through the whole book. Bodee, I definitely fell in love with him. He was so caring and gentle with Alexi, even while facing his own demons. The slow development of their friendship was absolutely amazing. Alexi’s two girlfriends, Heather and Liz, were also great characters. Very different from each other so each had their own voice and their own issues through the book. One of the favorite things was how Alexi latched on to Captain Lyric, a person who had written a song lyric on her desk and when she wrote the next line, it became their thing. I completely understood her desire not to find out who was Captain Lyric because knowing would change everything. I did suspect who the rapist was early on but that didn’t matter. It’s not a story full of twists, it’s about Alexi trying to come to terms with what happened to her. The writing, the pacing, the sensitivity to such hard topics, it’s really hard to believe this is a debut author. Courtney C Stevens is definitely someone to watch for. *I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Date published: 2014-04-16

– More About This Product –

Faking Normal

by Courtney C Stevens

Format: Hardcover

Dimensions: 336 pages, 8.75 × 6 × 1.16 in

Published: February 14, 2014

Publisher: HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS

Language: English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 0062245384

ISBN - 13: 9780062245380

From the Publisher

Alexi Littrell hasn''t told anyone what happened to her over the summer. Ashamed and embarrassed, she hides in her closet and compulsively scratches the back of her neck, trying to make the outside hurt more than the inside does.

At school, nobody sees the scratches or her pain. The only person she connects with is the mysterious Captain Lyric, who writes song lyrics on her fourth-period desk for her to complete. With pencil marks and music, Alexi carves out a comfortable space for herself as she and the Captain finish each other''s songs-words on a desk feel safer than words spoken aloud.

But when Bodee Lennox, the quiet and awkward boy next door, comes to live with the Littrells, Alexi discovers an unlikely friend who understands her better than anyone. He has secrets of his own and knows all about suffering in silence. As they lean on each other for support, Alexi gives him the strength to deal with his past, and Bodee helps her find the courage to finally speak up.

With her powerful, moving debut novel, author Courtney C. Stevens emerges as an extraordinary new talent to watch.

Editorial Reviews

"A beautiful reminder that amidst our broken pieces we can truly find ourselves." (Ruta Sepetys, New York Times Bestselling Author of Between Shades of Gray)
Item not added

This item is not available to order at this time.

See used copies from 00.00
  • My Gift List
  • My Wish List
  • Shopping Cart