Love and Terror on the Howling Plains of Nowhere: A Memoir

by Cheryl Strayed, Poe Ballantine

Hawthorne Books | August 19, 2013 | Kobo Edition (eBook)

Not yet rated | write a review
Fans of Truman Capote's In Cold Blood and John Berendt's Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil will embrace Poe Ballantine's Love and Terror on the Howling Plains of Nowhere.

For well over twenty years, Poe Ballantine traveled America, taking odd jobs, living in small rooms, and wondering the big whys. At age 46, he finally settled with his Mexican immigrant wife in Chadron, Nebraska, where they had a son who was red-flagged as autistic. Poe published four books about his experiences as a wanderer and his observations of America. But one day in 2006, his neighbor, Steven Haataja, a math professor from the local state college disappeared. Ninety five days later, the professor was found bound to a tree, burned to death in the hills behind the campus where he had taught. No one, law enforcement included, understood the circumstances. Poe had never contemplated writing mystery or true crime, but since he knew all the players, the suspects, the sheriff, the police involved, he and his kindergarten son set out to find out what might have happened.

Format: Kobo Edition (eBook)

Published: August 19, 2013

Publisher: Hawthorne Books

Language: English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 0986000779

ISBN - 13: 9780986000775

save
23%

Available for download Hurry, only 0 left! Not yet released

$8.49  ea

Online Price

$10.99 List Price


See details

Easy, FREE returns. See details

Downloads instantly to your kobo or other ereading device. See details

All available formats:

Reviews

– More About This Product –

Love and Terror on the Howling Plains of Nowhere: A Memoir

by Cheryl Strayed, Poe Ballantine

Format: Kobo Edition (eBook)

Published: August 19, 2013

Publisher: Hawthorne Books

Language: English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 0986000779

ISBN - 13: 9780986000775

From the Publisher

Fans of Truman Capote's In Cold Blood and John Berendt's Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil will embrace Poe Ballantine's Love and Terror on the Howling Plains of Nowhere.

For well over twenty years, Poe Ballantine traveled America, taking odd jobs, living in small rooms, and wondering the big whys. At age 46, he finally settled with his Mexican immigrant wife in Chadron, Nebraska, where they had a son who was red-flagged as autistic. Poe published four books about his experiences as a wanderer and his observations of America. But one day in 2006, his neighbor, Steven Haataja, a math professor from the local state college disappeared. Ninety five days later, the professor was found bound to a tree, burned to death in the hills behind the campus where he had taught. No one, law enforcement included, understood the circumstances. Poe had never contemplated writing mystery or true crime, but since he knew all the players, the suspects, the sheriff, the police involved, he and his kindergarten son set out to find out what might have happened.
Item not added

This item is not available to order at this time.

See used copies from 00.00
  • My Gift List
  • My Wish List
  • Shopping Cart