Rasputin's Shadow

Kobo eBook available

read instantly on your Kobo or tablet.

buy the ebook now

Rasputin's Shadow

by Raymond Khoury

DUTTON ADULT | October 8, 2013 | Hardcover |

4 out of 5 rating. 1 Reviews
Not yet rated | write a review
An ingenious, fast-paced historical thriller from the author of the New York Times bestseller The Last Templar

On a cold, bleak day in 1916, all hell breaks loose in a mining pit in the Ural Mountains. Overcome by a strange paranoia, the miners attack one another, savagely and ferociously. Minutes later, two men—a horrified scientist and Grigory Rasputin, trusted confidant of the tsar—hit a detonator, blowing up the mine to conceal all evidence of the carnage.

In the present day, FBI agent Sean Reilly's search for Reed Corrigan, the CIA mindcontrol spook who brainwashed Reilly's son, takes a backseat to a new, disturbing case. A Russian embassy attaché seems to have committed suicide by jumping out of a fourth-floor window in Queens. The apartment's owners, a retired physics teacher from Russia and his wife, have gone missing, and further investigation reveals that the former may not be who the FBI believe him to be.

Joined by Russian Federal Security Service agent Larisa Tchoumitcheva, Reilly's investigation of the old man's identity will uncover a desperate search for a small, mysterious device, with consequences that reach back in time and which, in the wrong hands, could have a devastating impact on the modern world.

Packed with the twists, intrigue, and excitement that Khoury's many fans have come to expect, Rasputin's Shadow will keep readers turning pages long into the night.

Format: Hardcover

Dimensions: 416 Pages, 6.3 × 9.06 × 1.18 in

Published: October 8, 2013

Publisher: DUTTON ADULT

Language: English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 0525953132

ISBN - 13: 9780525953135

save
37%

In Stock Hurry, only 0 left! Not yet released

$19.47  ea

Online Price

$29.50 List Price

or, Used from $5.04

eGift this item

Give this item in the form of an eGift Card.

+ what is this?

This item is eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $25.
See details

Easy, FREE returns. See details

Downloads instantly to your kobo or other ereading device. See details

All available formats:

Check store inventory (prices may vary)

Reviews

– More About This Product –

Rasputin's Shadow

by Raymond Khoury

Format: Hardcover

Dimensions: 416 Pages, 6.3 × 9.06 × 1.18 in

Published: October 8, 2013

Publisher: DUTTON ADULT

Language: English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 0525953132

ISBN - 13: 9780525953135

Read from the Book

Prologue Ural Mountains, Russian Empire 1916 As the high-­pitched shriek reverberated against the walls of the copper mine, Maxim Nikolaev felt an unusual pinch deep in his skull. The big man set down his pickax and wiped his brow just as the pain­ful sensation subsided. He took in a deep breath, flooding his already-­infested lungs with more toxic dust. He didn’t even notice or care anymore. Right then, the mid-­morning break was all he was thinking of, given that his working day had started at five. As the last echoes of the whistle died out around him and with the army of pickaxes now at rest, Maxim heard the distant sound of the Miass River, out by the mouth of the open mine. It reminded him of when he was a boy, when his uncle often took him swimming at a se­cluded spot on the outskirts of Ozyorsk, away from the thick, putrid smoke that belched out of the smelting plant twenty-­four hours a day. He remembered the smell of the pine trees, so tall they seemed to touch the sky. He missed the tranquility of the place. He missed the open sky and the clean air even more. A voice rang out from farther down the tunnel. “Hey, Mamo, get your ass over here. We’re playing for a go on Pyotr’s daughter.” Maxim wanted to roll his eyes at Vasily, partly for the diminutive, which he hated, and partly for the man’s general stupidity, but the wiry bastard took offense at the slightest provocation, so Maxim smiled at the group
read more read less

From the Publisher

An ingenious, fast-paced historical thriller from the author of the New York Times bestseller The Last Templar

On a cold, bleak day in 1916, all hell breaks loose in a mining pit in the Ural Mountains. Overcome by a strange paranoia, the miners attack one another, savagely and ferociously. Minutes later, two men—a horrified scientist and Grigory Rasputin, trusted confidant of the tsar—hit a detonator, blowing up the mine to conceal all evidence of the carnage.

In the present day, FBI agent Sean Reilly's search for Reed Corrigan, the CIA mindcontrol spook who brainwashed Reilly's son, takes a backseat to a new, disturbing case. A Russian embassy attaché seems to have committed suicide by jumping out of a fourth-floor window in Queens. The apartment's owners, a retired physics teacher from Russia and his wife, have gone missing, and further investigation reveals that the former may not be who the FBI believe him to be.

Joined by Russian Federal Security Service agent Larisa Tchoumitcheva, Reilly's investigation of the old man's identity will uncover a desperate search for a small, mysterious device, with consequences that reach back in time and which, in the wrong hands, could have a devastating impact on the modern world.

Packed with the twists, intrigue, and excitement that Khoury's many fans have come to expect, Rasputin's Shadow will keep readers turning pages long into the night.

About the Author

RAYMOND KHOURY is the New York Times bestselling author of The Last Templar, The Sanctuary, The Sign, The
Templar Salvation
, and The Devil's Elixir. Also an acclaimed screenwriter and producer, he lives in London with his family.

Editorial Reviews

"Vivid, energetic scenes ensure that Khoury''s tale never falters or bores. It''s the sort of novel that could make a colorful movie."-Kirkus on The Devil''s Elixir

"A fast-paced thrill-ride...A sure bet for fans of Steve Berry and James Rollins, too." -Booklist on The Devil''s Elixir
Item not added

This item is not available to order at this time.

See used copies from 00.00
  • My Gift List
  • My Wish List
  • Shopping Cart