Talking with My Mouth Full: Crab Cakes, Bundt Cakes, and Other Kitchen Stories

by Bonny Wolf, Scott Turow

St. Martin's Press | December 10, 2013 | Kobo Edition (eBook)

Not yet rated | write a review
What does America really eat? Which recipes do real home cooks turn to again and again? More often than not, they are dishes handed down from great aunts and painstakingly copied out of smudged recipe boxes rather than the creations of celebrity chefs. Bonny Wolf, food commentator for NPR's "Weekend Edition", writes about the great regional and family food traditions in this country--birthday cake and dinner party food, hearty American breakfasts and Fourth of July picnic dishes.  In Talking with My Mouth Full, she writes stories about food, and also about the people who eat it.
 
This book gives a snapshot of the American traditions that have contributed to what and how we eat.  Food trends come and go, but many delightful national treasures--bundt cake, barbecue, roast chicken, fair food--are timeless.  Each of Bonny Wolf's chapters, whether she's writing about true regional specialties like Minnesota's wild rice, Texas' Blue Bell ice cream or Maryland's famous crab cakes or about family favorites like noodle pudding or Irish raisin soda bread, ends with a perfectly chosen group of recipes, tantalizing and time-tested.
 
In the tradition of Laurie Colwin's Home Cooking, Talking with My Mouth Full is a book you will turn to over and over for wonderful food writing and recipes for comfort food, a great nosh, or the ideal covered dish to take to a potluck supper.

Format: Kobo Edition (eBook)

Published: December 10, 2013

Publisher: St. Martin's Press

Language: English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 1466859687

ISBN - 13: 9781466859685

save
0%

Available for download Hurry, only 0 left! Not yet released

$8.99  ea

Online Price

$8.99 List Price


See details

Easy, FREE returns. See details

Downloads instantly to your kobo or other ereading device. See details

All available formats:

Reviews

– More About This Product –

Talking with My Mouth Full: Crab Cakes, Bundt Cakes, and Other Kitchen Stories

by Bonny Wolf, Scott Turow

Format: Kobo Edition (eBook)

Published: December 10, 2013

Publisher: St. Martin's Press

Language: English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 1466859687

ISBN - 13: 9781466859685

From the Publisher

What does America really eat? Which recipes do real home cooks turn to again and again? More often than not, they are dishes handed down from great aunts and painstakingly copied out of smudged recipe boxes rather than the creations of celebrity chefs. Bonny Wolf, food commentator for NPR's "Weekend Edition", writes about the great regional and family food traditions in this country--birthday cake and dinner party food, hearty American breakfasts and Fourth of July picnic dishes.  In Talking with My Mouth Full, she writes stories about food, and also about the people who eat it.
 
This book gives a snapshot of the American traditions that have contributed to what and how we eat.  Food trends come and go, but many delightful national treasures--bundt cake, barbecue, roast chicken, fair food--are timeless.  Each of Bonny Wolf's chapters, whether she's writing about true regional specialties like Minnesota's wild rice, Texas' Blue Bell ice cream or Maryland's famous crab cakes or about family favorites like noodle pudding or Irish raisin soda bread, ends with a perfectly chosen group of recipes, tantalizing and time-tested.
 
In the tradition of Laurie Colwin's Home Cooking, Talking with My Mouth Full is a book you will turn to over and over for wonderful food writing and recipes for comfort food, a great nosh, or the ideal covered dish to take to a potluck supper.

Item not added

This item is not available to order at this time.

See used copies from 00.00
  • My Gift List
  • My Wish List
  • Shopping Cart