The Forest: A Novel

by Edward Rutherfurd

Random House Publishing Group | June 12, 2013 | Kobo Edition (eBook)

The Forest: A Novel is rated 3.5 out of 5 by 4.
“AS ENTERTAINING AS SARUM AND RUTHERFURD’S OTHER SWEEPING NOVEL OF BRITISH HISTORY, LONDON.”
–The Boston Globe


“Engaging . . . A sprawling tome that combines fact with fiction and covers 900 years in the history of New Forest, a 100,000-acre woodland in southern England . . . Rutherfurd sketches the histories of six fictional families, ranging from aristocrats to peasants, who have lived in the forest for generations. . . . But the real success is in how Rutherfurd paints his picture of the wooded enclave with images of treachery and violence, as well as magic and beauty.”
–The New York Post

THE FOREST IS MICHENER TOLD WITH AN ENGLISH ACCENT.”
–St. Louis Post-Dispatch

“TALES OF LOVE AND HONOR, DECEIT AND VIOLENCE, INHERITANCE AND LOSS.”
–San Jose Mercury News

Format: Kobo Edition (eBook)

Published: June 12, 2013

Publisher: Random House Publishing Group

Language: English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 0804151024

ISBN - 13: 9780804151023

Found in: Fiction and Literature

save 0%

  • Available for download
  • Not available in stores

$9.99  ea

Online Price

$9.99 List Price


See details

Easy, FREE returns. See details

Downloads instantly to your kobo or other ereading device. See details

All available formats:

Reviews

Rated 3 out of 5 by from The Forest I thought this book was a rip off of a book I read before called 'I Am England' which was fantastic. This book was alright but failed to hold my interest. I have read many historical novels and felt this book was only alright.
Date published: 2000-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A wonderful path through "The Forest" Edward Rutherfurd, yet again, displays his talents for story telling and historical research in what is one of his finer books to date. He draws the reader into the history of the Royal Forest to the south of England and never allows the reader to lose interest. With wonderful character development - both of historical and fictitious personae - the reader feels as though they have a birds eye view of the forest thoughout its turbulent history. The research done in preparation for this novel has been undoubtably meticulous and as a lover of history, I am very impressed with the authors level of expertise. I wholeheartedly recommend this novel to anyone looking for a good storyteller to captivate them.
Date published: 2000-08-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The Forest Great Read for the summer..For fans of England and "Sarum" this is a must read. I like the chunks of history made digestable by the personal touches in the characters lives. The only drawback here is that you loose the continuity from chapter to chapter.Feels like Rutherford actually wrote this book in chapter form and then cobbled the chapters together. Still worth taking to the beach and loosing oneself in.
Date published: 2000-06-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The Forest Once again, Rutherfurd takes the reader into the depths of England's past. 'The Forest' takes place in the south of England, not too far away from Sarum, the setting of Rutherfurd's masterpiece of the same name. Unfortunately, 'The Forest' doesn't quite live up to its predecessor. The characters simply do not grab the reader's attention. This is due mostly to Rutherfurd's style of jumping through time and spending only a short while with the people in the various eras. Although this was successful in previous novels, the chapters just aren't involving enough. That being said, the book was still a very enjoyable way to pass time.
Date published: 2000-06-16

– More About This Product –

The Forest: A Novel

by Edward Rutherfurd

Format: Kobo Edition (eBook)

Published: June 12, 2013

Publisher: Random House Publishing Group

Language: English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 0804151024

ISBN - 13: 9780804151023

From the Publisher

“AS ENTERTAINING AS SARUM AND RUTHERFURD’S OTHER SWEEPING NOVEL OF BRITISH HISTORY, LONDON.”
–The Boston Globe


“Engaging . . . A sprawling tome that combines fact with fiction and covers 900 years in the history of New Forest, a 100,000-acre woodland in southern England . . . Rutherfurd sketches the histories of six fictional families, ranging from aristocrats to peasants, who have lived in the forest for generations. . . . But the real success is in how Rutherfurd paints his picture of the wooded enclave with images of treachery and violence, as well as magic and beauty.”
–The New York Post

THE FOREST IS MICHENER TOLD WITH AN ENGLISH ACCENT.”
–St. Louis Post-Dispatch

“TALES OF LOVE AND HONOR, DECEIT AND VIOLENCE, INHERITANCE AND LOSS.”
–San Jose Mercury News
Item not added

This item is not available to order at this time.

See used copies from 00.00
  • My Gift List
  • My Wish List
  • Shopping Cart