The Forest

Kobo eBook available

read instantly on your Kobo or tablet.

buy the ebook now

The Forest

by Edward Rutherfurd

Random House Publishing Group | July 3, 2001 | Mass Market Paperbound

The Forest is rated 3.5 out of 5 by 4.
“AS ENTERTAINING AS SARUM AND RUTHERFURD’S OTHER SWEEPING NOVEL OF BRITISH HISTORY, LONDON.”
–The Boston Globe


“Engaging . . . A sprawling tome that combines fact with fiction and covers 900 years in the history of New Forest, a 100,000-acre woodland in southern England . . . Rutherfurd sketches the histories of six fictional families, ranging from aristocrats to peasants, who have lived in the forest for generations. . . . But the real success is in how Rutherfurd paints his picture of the wooded enclave with images of treachery and violence, as well as magic and beauty.”
–The New York Post

THE FOREST IS MICHENER TOLD WITH AN ENGLISH ACCENT.”
–St. Louis Post-Dispatch

“TALES OF LOVE AND HONOR, DECEIT AND VIOLENCE, INHERITANCE AND LOSS.”
–San Jose Mercury News

Format: Mass Market Paperbound

Dimensions: 784 pages, 6.86 × 4.18 × 1.23 in

Published: July 3, 2001

Publisher: Random House Publishing Group

Language: English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 0345441788

ISBN - 13: 9780345441782

Found in: Historical

save 5%

  • In stock online

$9.99  ea

Online Price

$9.99 List Price

or, Used from $5.04

eGift this item

Give this item in the form of an eGift Card.

+ what is this?

This item is eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $25.
See details

Easy, FREE returns. See details

Item can only be shipped in Canada

Downloads instantly to your kobo or other ereading device. See details

All available formats:

Check store inventory (prices may vary)

Reviews

Rated 3 out of 5 by from The Forest I thought this book was a rip off of a book I read before called 'I Am England' which was fantastic. This book was alright but failed to hold my interest. I have read many historical novels and felt this book was only alright.
Date published: 2000-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A wonderful path through "The Forest" Edward Rutherfurd, yet again, displays his talents for story telling and historical research in what is one of his finer books to date. He draws the reader into the history of the Royal Forest to the south of England and never allows the reader to lose interest. With wonderful character development - both of historical and fictitious personae - the reader feels as though they have a birds eye view of the forest thoughout its turbulent history. The research done in preparation for this novel has been undoubtably meticulous and as a lover of history, I am very impressed with the authors level of expertise. I wholeheartedly recommend this novel to anyone looking for a good storyteller to captivate them.
Date published: 2000-08-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The Forest Great Read for the summer..For fans of England and "Sarum" this is a must read. I like the chunks of history made digestable by the personal touches in the characters lives. The only drawback here is that you loose the continuity from chapter to chapter.Feels like Rutherford actually wrote this book in chapter form and then cobbled the chapters together. Still worth taking to the beach and loosing oneself in.
Date published: 2000-06-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The Forest Once again, Rutherfurd takes the reader into the depths of England's past. 'The Forest' takes place in the south of England, not too far away from Sarum, the setting of Rutherfurd's masterpiece of the same name. Unfortunately, 'The Forest' doesn't quite live up to its predecessor. The characters simply do not grab the reader's attention. This is due mostly to Rutherfurd's style of jumping through time and spending only a short while with the people in the various eras. Although this was successful in previous novels, the chapters just aren't involving enough. That being said, the book was still a very enjoyable way to pass time.
Date published: 2000-06-16

– More About This Product –

The Forest

by Edward Rutherfurd

Format: Mass Market Paperbound

Dimensions: 784 pages, 6.86 × 4.18 × 1.23 in

Published: July 3, 2001

Publisher: Random House Publishing Group

Language: English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 0345441788

ISBN - 13: 9780345441782

Read from the Book

The Rufus Stone April 2000 High over Sarum the small plane flew. Below, the graceful cathedral with its soaring spire rested on the sweeping green lawns like a huge model. Beyond the cathedral precincts, the medieval city of Salisbury lay peacefully in the sun. Earlier that morning there had been an April shower, but now the sky was clear, a pale washed blue. A perfect day, thought Dottie Pride, to fly a reconnaissance mission. Not for the first time, she was grateful for the fact she worked in television. Say what you like about her boss -- and there were those who said John Grockleton was a brute -- he was good about things like chartering planes. "He just wants to get on the right side of you," one of the cameramen had remarked. She couldn''t help that. The main thing was that she was in the Cessna now, and it was a beautiful morning. From Sarum, the beautiful Avon valley continued due south through lush green meadows for over twenty miles until it reached the sheltered waters of Christchurch harbour. On its western side lay the rolling ridges of Dorset; to the east, the huge county of Hampshire with its ancient capital of Winchester and great port of Southampton. Dottie glanced at the map. There were only two small market towns on the Avon between here and the sea. Fordingbridge, eight miles south, and Ringwood, another five beyond that. A few miles below Ringwood, she noted, there was a place called Tyrrell''s Ford. They had not even reached Fordingbridge befor
read more read less

From the Publisher

“AS ENTERTAINING AS SARUM AND RUTHERFURD’S OTHER SWEEPING NOVEL OF BRITISH HISTORY, LONDON.”
–The Boston Globe


“Engaging . . . A sprawling tome that combines fact with fiction and covers 900 years in the history of New Forest, a 100,000-acre woodland in southern England . . . Rutherfurd sketches the histories of six fictional families, ranging from aristocrats to peasants, who have lived in the forest for generations. . . . But the real success is in how Rutherfurd paints his picture of the wooded enclave with images of treachery and violence, as well as magic and beauty.”
–The New York Post

“THE FOREST IS MICHENER TOLD WITH AN ENGLISH ACCENT.”
–St. Louis Post-Dispatch

“TALES OF LOVE AND HONOR, DECEIT AND VIOLENCE, INHERITANCE AND LOSS.”
–San Jose Mercury News

From the Jacket

"AS ENTERTAINING AS "SARUM AND RUTHERFURD''S OTHER SWEEPING NOVEL OF BRITISH HISTORY, "LONDON."
"-The Boston Globe"
"Engaging . . . A sprawling tome that combines fact with fiction and covers 900 years in the history of New Forest, a 100,000-acre woodland in southern England . . . Rutherfurd sketches the histories of six fictional families, ranging from aristocrats to peasants, who have lived in the forest for generations. . . . But the real success is in how Rutherfurd paints his picture of the wooded enclave with images of treachery and violence, as well as magic and beauty."
"-The New York Post
""THE FOREST IS MICHENER TOLD WITH AN ENGLISH ACCENT."
"-St. Louis Post-Dispatch
"TALES OF LOVE AND HONOR, DECEIT AND VIOLENCE, INHERITANCE AND LOSS."
"-San Jose Mercury News

About the Author

Edward Rutherfurd was born in Salisbury, England, and educated at Cambridge University. His first novel, Sarum, was an instant international bestseller. His subsequent novels–Russka and London–were also highly acclaimed bestsellers here and abroad.

Editorial Reviews

“Not all good things come in small packages. If you like books that are big, Edward Rutherfurd is your man. He writes wonderful sagas, tales that cover centuries, always keeping these long stories lively by telling us about the events and conflicts of people’s lives. Rutherfurd does the painstaking research; the reader has all the fun.”
–Seattle Times

“Many of the most memorable characters are women–Adela the Norman, bold in the face of injustice; her descendant Alice Albion, almost brave enough to defeat the hatred of the civil war; tough old Adelaide, so loyal to ancient grievances that she can’t let her sweet niece Fanny take hold of love.”
–Kansas City Star

“The novel covers 10 centuries, tracking a half-dozen or so families and their fates, their fortunes, and intrigues moving the stories along. But the trees have tales to tell, too. As fiction, it works like a charm. . . . English majors will love this, and so will almost anyone else who starts page 1 and follows Puckle, Godwin Pride, Cola the Huntsman and their descendents along Rutherfurd’s twisting road.”
–New York Daily News
Item not added

This item is not available to order at this time.

See used copies from 00.00
  • My Gift List
  • My Wish List
  • Shopping Cart