The Maze Runner (maze Runner, Book One)

Kobo eBook available

read instantly on your Kobo or tablet.

buy the ebook now

The Maze Runner (maze Runner, Book One)

by James Dashner

Random House Children's Books | August 24, 2010 | Trade Paperback |

4.1967 out of 5 rating. 61 Reviews
Not yet rated | write a review
Read the first book in the New York Times bestselling Maze Runner series, perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent. The Maze Runner motion picture featuring the star of MTV''s Teen Wolf, Dylan O'Brien; Kaya Scodelario; Aml Ameen; Will Poulter; and Thomas Brodie-Sangster, and hits theaters September 19, 2014! Also look for James Dashner's newest book The Eye of Minds, book one in the Mortality Doctrine series.
 
If you ain't scared, you ain't human.
 
When Thomas wakes up in the lift, the only thing he can remember is his name. He's surrounded by strangers-boys whose memories are also gone.
 
Nice to meet ya, shank. Welcome to the Glade.
 
Outside the towering stone walls that surround the Glade is a limitless, ever-changing maze. It's the only way out-and no one's ever made it through alive.
 
Everything is going to change.
 
Then a girl arrives. The first girl ever. And the message she delivers is terrifying.
 
Remember. Survive. Run.

Praise for the Maze Runner series:

 
"[A] mysterious survival saga that passionate fans describe as a fusion of Lord of the Flies, The Hunger Games, and Lost."-EW.com
 
"Wonderful action writing-fast-paced…but smart and well observed."-Newsday
 
"[A] nail-biting must-read."-Seventeen.com

"Breathless, cinematic action."-Publishers Weekly
 
"Heart-pounding to the very last moment."-Kirkus Reviews
 
"Exclamation-worthy."-Romantic Times
 
[STAR] "James Dashner's illuminating prequel [The Kill Order] will thrill fans of this Maze Runner [series] and prove just as exciting for readers new to the series."-Shelf Awareness, Starred


From the Hardcover edition.

Format: Trade Paperback

Dimensions: 400 Pages, 5.91 × 7.87 × 0.79 in

Published: August 24, 2010

Publisher: Random House Children's Books

Language: English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 0385737955

ISBN - 13: 9780385737951

Appropriate for ages: 13 - 17
Special Offer
Read the book. See the Movie. Earn 250 SCENE points on Indigo featured titles
Details

save
10%

In Stock

$10.44

Online Price

$10.99 List Price

or, Used from $6.68

eGift this item

Give this item in the form of an eGift Card.

+ what is this?

This item is eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $25.
See details

Easy, FREE returns. See details

All available formats:

Check store inventory (prices may vary)

Reviews

– More About This Product –

The Maze Runner (maze Runner, Book One)

The Maze Runner (maze Runner, Book One)

by James Dashner

Format: Trade Paperback

Dimensions: 400 Pages, 5.91 × 7.87 × 0.79 in

Published: August 24, 2010

Publisher: Random House Children's Books

Language: English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 0385737955

ISBN - 13: 9780385737951

About the Book

When Thomas wakes up, he's surrounded by kids who welcome him to the Glade. Just like Thomas, the Gladers don't know why or how they got there. The next day, a girl arrives with a surprising message.

Read from the Book

Chapter 1 He began his new life standing up, surrounded by cold darkness and stale, dusty air. Metal ground against metal; a lurching shudder shook the floor beneath him. He fell down at the sudden movement and shuffled backward on his hands and feet, drops of sweat beading on his forehead despite the cool air. His back struck a hard metal wall; he slid along it until he hit the corner of the room. Sinking to the floor, he pulled his legs up tight against his body, hoping his eyes would soon adjust to the darkness. With another jolt, the room jerked upward like an old lift in a mine shaft. Harsh sounds of chains and pulleys, like the workings of an ancient steel factory, echoed through the room, bouncing off the walls with a hollow, tinny whine. The lightless elevator swayed back and forth as it ascended, turning the boy''s stomach sour with nausea; a smell like burnt oil invaded his senses, making him feel worse. He wanted to cry, but no tears came; he could only sit there, alone, waiting. My name is Thomas, he thought. That... that was the only thing he could remember about his life. He didn''t understand how this could be possible. His mind functioned without flaw, trying to calculate his surroundings and predicament. Knowledge flooded his thoughts, facts and images, memories and details of the world and how it works. He pictured snow on trees, running down a leaf-strewn road, eating a hamburger, the moon casting a pale glow on a grassy meadow, swimming in a lake, a busy c
read more read less

From the Publisher

Read the first book in the New York Times bestselling Maze Runner series, perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent. The Maze Runner motion picture featuring the star of MTV''s Teen Wolf, Dylan O'Brien; Kaya Scodelario; Aml Ameen; Will Poulter; and Thomas Brodie-Sangster, and hits theaters September 19, 2014! Also look for James Dashner's newest book The Eye of Minds, book one in the Mortality Doctrine series.
 
If you ain't scared, you ain't human.
 
When Thomas wakes up in the lift, the only thing he can remember is his name. He's surrounded by strangers-boys whose memories are also gone.
 
Nice to meet ya, shank. Welcome to the Glade.
 
Outside the towering stone walls that surround the Glade is a limitless, ever-changing maze. It's the only way out-and no one's ever made it through alive.
 
Everything is going to change.
 
Then a girl arrives. The first girl ever. And the message she delivers is terrifying.
 
Remember. Survive. Run.

Praise for the Maze Runner series:

 
"[A] mysterious survival saga that passionate fans describe as a fusion of Lord of the Flies, The Hunger Games, and Lost."-EW.com
 
"Wonderful action writing-fast-paced…but smart and well observed."-Newsday
 
"[A] nail-biting must-read."-Seventeen.com

"Breathless, cinematic action."-Publishers Weekly
 
"Heart-pounding to the very last moment."-Kirkus Reviews
 
"Exclamation-worthy."-Romantic Times
 
[STAR] "James Dashner's illuminating prequel [The Kill Order] will thrill fans of this Maze Runner [series] and prove just as exciting for readers new to the series."-Shelf Awareness, Starred


From the Hardcover edition.

About the Author

James Dashner is the author of the New York Times bestselling Maze Runner series: The Maze Runner, The Scorch Trials, The Death Cure, and The Kill Order, as well as The Eye of Minds, book one in the Mortality Doctrine series. Dashner was born and raised in Georgia, but now lives and writes in the Rocky Mountains. To learn more about James and his books, visit JamesDashner.com, follow @jamesdashner on Twitter, and find dashnerjames on Instagram.




From the Hardcover edition.

Editorial Reviews

Praise for the Maze Runner series:
 
A New York Times Bestseller
A USA Today Bestseller
A Book Sense Bestseller
An Indie Next List Selection
A Kirkus Reviews Best Teen Book of the Year
An ALA-YASLA Best Fiction for Young Adults Book
An ALA-YALSA Quick Pick
 
"[A] mysterious survival saga that passionate fans describe as a fusion of Lord of the Flies, The Hunger Games, and Lost."-EW.com
 
"Wonderful action-writing-fast-paced…but smart and well observed."-Newsday

"[A] nail-biting must-read."-Seventeen.com

"Breathless, cinematic action."-Publishers Weekly
 
"Heart pounding to the very last moment."-Kirkus Reviews
 
"Exclamation-worthy."-Romantic Times
 
* "James Dashner's illuminating prequel [The Kill Order] will thrill fans of this Maze Runner [series] and prove just as exciting for readers new to the series."-Shelf Awareness, Starred
 
"Take a deep breath before you start any James Dashner book."-Deseret News


From the Hardcover edition.

Appropriate for ages: 13 - 17

Item not added

This item is not available to order at this time.

See used copies from 00.00
  • My Gift List
  • My Wish List
  • Shopping Cart