The Nightmare

Kobo eBook available

read instantly on your Kobo or tablet.

buy the ebook now

The Nightmare

by Lars Kepler

McClelland & Stewart | January 29, 2013 | Trade Paperback |

3.5 out of 5 rating. 4 Reviews
Not yet rated | write a review
The bestselling follow up to the debut thriller The Hypnotist, again starring DI Joona Linna, became a bestseller around the world and successfully established itself in Canada. For readers of Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbo. 

On  a summer night, police recover the body of a young woman from an abandoned pleasure boat drifting around the Stockholm archipelago. Her lungs are filled with brackish water, and the forensics team is sure that she drowned. Why, then, is the pleasure boat still afloat, and why are there no traces of water on her clothes or body? The next day, a man turns up dead in his state apartment in Stockholm, hanging from a lamphook in the ceiling. All signs point to suicide, but the room has a high ceiling, and there''s not a single piece of furniture around -- nothing to climb on. Joona Linna begins to piece together the two mysteries, but the logistics are a mere prelude to a dizzying and dangerous course of events. At its core, the most frightening aspect of The Nightmare isn''t its gruesome crimes -- it''s the dark psychology of its characters, who show us how blind we are to our own motives.

Format: Trade Paperback

Dimensions: 512 Pages, 5.91 × 8.66 × 1.18 in

Published: January 29, 2013

Publisher: McClelland & Stewart

Language: English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 0771095880

ISBN - 13: 9780771095887

save
28%

In Stock Hurry, only 0 left! Not yet released

$13.67  ea

Online Price

$17.99 List Price

or, Used from $5.04

eGift this item

Give this item in the form of an eGift Card.

+ what is this?

This item is eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $25.
See details

Easy, FREE returns. See details

Downloads instantly to your kobo or other ereading device. See details

All available formats:

Check store inventory (prices may vary)

Reviews

– More About This Product –

The Nightmare

by Lars Kepler

Format: Trade Paperback

Dimensions: 512 Pages, 5.91 × 8.66 × 1.18 in

Published: January 29, 2013

Publisher: McClelland & Stewart

Language: English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 0771095880

ISBN - 13: 9780771095887

From the Publisher

The bestselling follow up to the debut thriller The Hypnotist, again starring DI Joona Linna, became a bestseller around the world and successfully established itself in Canada. For readers of Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbo. 

On  a summer night, police recover the body of a young woman from an abandoned pleasure boat drifting around the Stockholm archipelago. Her lungs are filled with brackish water, and the forensics team is sure that she drowned. Why, then, is the pleasure boat still afloat, and why are there no traces of water on her clothes or body? The next day, a man turns up dead in his state apartment in Stockholm, hanging from a lamphook in the ceiling. All signs point to suicide, but the room has a high ceiling, and there''s not a single piece of furniture around -- nothing to climb on. Joona Linna begins to piece together the two mysteries, but the logistics are a mere prelude to a dizzying and dangerous course of events. At its core, the most frightening aspect of The Nightmare isn''t its gruesome crimes -- it''s the dark psychology of its characters, who show us how blind we are to our own motives.

About the Author

LARS KEPLER is the pseudonym of Alexandra Coelho Ahndoril & Alexander Ahndoril, both critically-acclaimed writers under their own names. Alexandra Coelho Ahndoril''s first novel Stjärneborg (Castle of Stars) has been translated in several languages while Alexander Ahndoril''s novel The Director, about Ingmar Bergman, was shortlisted for the Independent Foreign Fiction Prize. The Nightmare is the second book in a series featuring Detective Inspector Joona Linna.

Editorial Reviews

"A high-octane, taut thriller... what sets The Nightmare apart from its rivals is the way it has been translated: a pacy, present-tense unravelling of the action that ramps up the sense of peril."
-Marie Claire

"Fans of slow-burning Scandinavian crime fiction with troubled heroes will feel right at home with Kepler...."
-Publishers Weekly

"A fast-paced book that is impossible to put down.... A thrilling plotline...unique, creative, and entertaining..."
-Deseret News
Item not added

This item is not available to order at this time.

See used copies from 00.00
  • My Gift List
  • My Wish List
  • Shopping Cart