The Secret Life Of Bees (movie Tie-in)

Kobo eBook available

read instantly on your Kobo or tablet.

buy the ebook now

The Secret Life Of Bees (movie Tie-in)

by Sue Monk Kidd

Penguin Books | August 26, 2008 | Trade Paperback

The Secret Life Of Bees (movie Tie-in) is rated 4.4444 out of 5 by 9.
Sue Monk Kidd’s The Secret Life of Bees, a heartwarming coming of age tale set in 1960s South Carolina, a multi-million copy New York Times bestseller, now an award-winning film starring Dakota Fanning, Queen Latifah, Jennifer Hudson and Alicia Keys

Fans of  Kathryn Stockett’s The Help and Beth Hoffman’s Saving CeeCee Honeycutt will love Sue Monk Kidd’s Southern coming of age tale. The Secret Life of Bees was a New York Times bestseller for more than 125 weeks, a Good Morning America “Read This” Book Club pick and was made into an award-winning film starring Dakota Fanning, Queen Latifah, Jennifer Hudson and Alicia Keys. Set in South Carolina in 1964, The Secret Life of Bees tells the story of Lily Owens, whose life has been shaped around the blurred memory of the afternoon her mother was killed.

When Lily''s fierce-hearted black "stand-in mother," Rosaleen, insults three of the town''s most vicious racists, Lily decides they should both escape to Tiburon, South Carolina—a town that holds the secret to her mother''s past. There they are taken in by an eccentric trio of black beekeeping sisters who introduce Lily to a mesmerizing world of bees, honey, and the Black Madonna who presides over their household. This is a remarkable story about divine female power and the transforming power of love—a story that women will share and pass on to their daughters for years to come.

Format: Trade Paperback

Dimensions: 336 pages, 7.88 × 5.12 × 0.63 in

Published: August 26, 2008

Publisher: Penguin Books

Language: English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 0143114557

ISBN - 13: 9780143114550

Found in: Fiction and Literature

save 27%

  • In stock online

$14.44  ea

Online Price

$19.00 List Price

or, Used from $5.04

eGift this item

Give this item in the form of an eGift Card.

+ what is this?

This item is eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $25.
See details

Easy, FREE returns. See details

Item can only be shipped in Canada

Downloads instantly to your kobo or other ereading device. See details

All available formats:

Check store inventory (prices may vary)

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really enjoyed this It is 1964 in South Carolina. When Lily was only 4 years old, her mother was killed and she thinks she did it by accident, but she doesn't remember the details. Now, she's 14 and has had to live with her abusive father since her mother died. When she and their housekeeper, Rosaleen, a black woman, get into trouble with the law, Lily manages to break Rosaleen out of jail and they run away and find a woman (August) and her sisters in another town to stay with, while they help with the housework and August's beekeeping. I really liked this, although the end was a little unrealistic, I thought. I really enjoyed some of the secondary characters. I'm actually finding I don't have a lot else to say about the book. Was really good, though.
Date published: 2012-08-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from An Endearing Tale This story takes place in the sixties and revolves around a 14 year girl, Lily who lost her mother at an early age. She has to endure growing up with a bitter abusive father whom she decides to runs away from after a racial event with her nanny-housekeeper. The tale takes her to a home of three beekeeping sisters where Lily's gains insight about her own life and the people around her. This is wonderful story about the times of the sixties and sisterhood. Truly enjoyed and one of my best reads for 2009. Would recommended to anyone who enjoys tales about how a person's experiencescan shape one's life.
Date published: 2009-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Secret LIfe of Bees by Sue Kidd (Book Review) The Secret Life of Bees by Annette Dunlea Set in the 1960’s US in a time of racial tensions Lily narrates her coming of age tale. Lily flees her abusive father and the police with her nanny Rosaleen to find more of her mother’s history. She goes to live with the three calendar sisters who have a profound influence on her life. August adopts her as a daughter and helps her to forgive herself and love others. It is a celebration of family and motherhood. Vivid description and enchanting characters record Lily’s journey to womanhood in a Kidd’s unique southern voice. Reviewed by Annette Dunlea author of Always and Forever and The Honey Trap
Date published: 2009-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great book This book is one of the greatest books I have ever read. The way it deals with political and social problems of the 60's and still tells an amazing story is incredible. You will fall in love with each of the characters one by one and at the end of the book you will want more of their lives. This book will become and remain a classic novel for a long time.
Date published: 2009-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AMAZING!!! Ok so I hadnt heard of this book before I saw the ad for the movie and because books are usually better than the movie I decided I would read the book before I watched the movie. The book is amazing and I cant wait to see the movie. I would defidently recommend this book to anybody!
Date published: 2008-10-31

– More About This Product –

The Secret Life Of Bees (movie Tie-in)

by Sue Monk Kidd

Format: Trade Paperback

Dimensions: 336 pages, 7.88 × 5.12 × 0.63 in

Published: August 26, 2008

Publisher: Penguin Books

Language: English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 0143114557

ISBN - 13: 9780143114550

About the Book

"Sue Monk Kidd is an extraordinary storyteller. In "The Secret Life of Bees," she explores a young girl's search for the truth about her mother; her courage to tear down racial barriers; and her joy as she claims her place within a community of women. Beautifully written." (Ursula Hegi, author of "The Vision of Emma Blau").

Read from the Book

The queen, for her part, is the unifying force of the community; if she is removed from the hive, the workers very quickly sense her absence. After a few hours, or even less, they show unmistakable signs of queenlessness. — Man and Insects Chapter One At night I would lie in bed and watch the show, how bees squeezed through the cracks of my bedroom wall and flew circles around the room, making that propeller sound, a high-pitched zzzzzz that hummed along my skin. I watched their wings shining like bits of chrome in the dark and felt the longing build in my chest. The way those bees flew, not even looking for a flower, just flying for the feel of the wind, split my heart down its seam. During the day I heard them tunneling through the walls of my bedroom, sounding like a radio tuned to static in the next room, and I imagined them in there turning the walls into honeycombs, with honey seeping out for me to taste. The bees came the summer of 1964, the summer I turned fourteen and my life went spinning off into a whole new orbit, and I mean whole new orbit. Looking back on it now, I want to say the bees were sent to me. I want to say they showed up like the angle Gabriel appearing to the Virgin Mary, setting events in motion I could never have guessed. I know it is presumptuous to compare my small life to hers, but I have reason to believe she wouldn''t mind; I will get to that. Right now it''s enough to say that despite everything that happened that summer, I remain tender
read more read less

From the Publisher

Sue Monk Kidd’s The Secret Life of Bees, a heartwarming coming of age tale set in 1960s South Carolina, a multi-million copy New York Times bestseller, now an award-winning film starring Dakota Fanning, Queen Latifah, Jennifer Hudson and Alicia Keys

Fans of  Kathryn Stockett’s The Help and Beth Hoffman’s Saving CeeCee Honeycutt will love Sue Monk Kidd’s Southern coming of age tale. The Secret Life of Bees was a New York Times bestseller for more than 125 weeks, a Good Morning America “Read This” Book Club pick and was made into an award-winning film starring Dakota Fanning, Queen Latifah, Jennifer Hudson and Alicia Keys. Set in South Carolina in 1964, The Secret Life of Bees tells the story of Lily Owens, whose life has been shaped around the blurred memory of the afternoon her mother was killed.

When Lily''s fierce-hearted black "stand-in mother," Rosaleen, insults three of the town''s most vicious racists, Lily decides they should both escape to Tiburon, South Carolina—a town that holds the secret to her mother''s past. There they are taken in by an eccentric trio of black beekeeping sisters who introduce Lily to a mesmerizing world of bees, honey, and the Black Madonna who presides over their household. This is a remarkable story about divine female power and the transforming power of love—a story that women will share and pass on to their daughters for years to come.

About the Author

SUE MONK KIDD is the author of the New York Times bestselling novels, The Secret Life of Bees and The Mermaid Chair, and the memoirs Traveling with Pomegranates, which she wrote with her daughter Ann Kidd Taylor, The Dance of the Dissident Daughter, When the Heart Waits, as well as Firstlight, a collection of her early writings. The Secret Life of Bees has spent more than 125 weeks on the New York Times bestseller list and was adapted into an award-winning movie starring Dakota Fanning, Queen Latifah, Jennifer Hudson and Alicia Keys. The Mermaid Chair, a #1 New York Times bestseller, was adapted into a television movie. Both of her novels have been translated into more than 24 languages. The recipient of numerous literary awards, Sue lives with her husband on an island off the coast of Florida.

Item not added

This item is not available to order at this time.

See used copies from 00.00
  • My Gift List
  • My Wish List
  • Shopping Cart