The Tender Bar: A Memoir

Kobo eBook available

read instantly on your Kobo or tablet.

buy the ebook now

The Tender Bar: A Memoir

by J. R. Moehringer

Hyperion | August 1, 2006 | Trade Paperback

Not yet rated | write a review
The New York Times bestseller and one of the 100 Most Notable Books of 2005. In the tradition of This Boy''s Life and The Liar''s Club, a raucous, poignant, luminously written memoir about a boy striving to become a man, and his romance with a bar.

J.R. Moehringer grew up captivated by a voice. It was the voice of his father, a New York City disc jockey who vanished before J.R. spoke his first word. Sitting on the stoop, pressing an ear to the radio, J.R. would strain to hear in that plummy baritone the secrets of masculinity and identity. Though J.R.''s mother was his world, his rock, he craved something more, something faintly and hauntingly audible only in The Voice.

At eight years old, suddenly unable to find The Voice on the radio, J.R. turned in desperation to the bar on the corner, where he found a rousing chorus of new voices. The alphas along the bar--including J.R.''s Uncle Charlie, a Humphrey Bogart look-alike; Colt, a Yogi Bear sound-alike; and Joey D, a softhearted brawler--took J.R. to the beach, to ballgames, and ultimately into their circle. They taught J.R., tended him, and provided a kind of fathering-by-committee. Torn between the stirring example of his mother and the lurid romance of the bar, J.R. tried to forge a self somewhere in the center. But when it was time for J.R. to leave home, the bar became an increasingly seductive sanctuary, a place to return and regroup during his picaresque journeys. Time and again the bar offered shelter from failure, rejection, heartbreak--and eventually from reality.

In the grand tradition of landmark memoirs, The Tender Bar is suspenseful, wrenching, and achingly funny. A classic American story of self-invention and escape, of the fierce love between a single mother and an only son, it''s also a moving portrait of one boy''s struggle to become a man, and an unforgettable depiction of how men remain, at heart, lost boys.

Format: Trade Paperback

Dimensions: 432 pages, 3.15 × 2.07 × 0.49 in

Published: August 1, 2006

Publisher: Hyperion

Language: English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 0786888768

ISBN - 13: 9780786888764

save
28%

In Stock Hurry, only 0 left! Not yet released

$13.68  ea

Online Price

$18.00 List Price

or, Used from $4.99

eGift this item

Give this item in the form of an eGift Card.

+ what is this?

This item is eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $25.
See details

Easy, FREE returns. See details

Item can only be shipped in Canada

Downloads instantly to your kobo or other ereading device. See details

All available formats:

Check store inventory (prices may vary)

Reviews

– More About This Product –

The Tender Bar: A Memoir

by J. R. Moehringer

Format: Trade Paperback

Dimensions: 432 pages, 3.15 × 2.07 × 0.49 in

Published: August 1, 2006

Publisher: Hyperion

Language: English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 0786888768

ISBN - 13: 9780786888764

From the Publisher

The New York Times bestseller and one of the 100 Most Notable Books of 2005. In the tradition of This Boy''s Life and The Liar''s Club, a raucous, poignant, luminously written memoir about a boy striving to become a man, and his romance with a bar.

J.R. Moehringer grew up captivated by a voice. It was the voice of his father, a New York City disc jockey who vanished before J.R. spoke his first word. Sitting on the stoop, pressing an ear to the radio, J.R. would strain to hear in that plummy baritone the secrets of masculinity and identity. Though J.R.''s mother was his world, his rock, he craved something more, something faintly and hauntingly audible only in The Voice.

At eight years old, suddenly unable to find The Voice on the radio, J.R. turned in desperation to the bar on the corner, where he found a rousing chorus of new voices. The alphas along the bar--including J.R.''s Uncle Charlie, a Humphrey Bogart look-alike; Colt, a Yogi Bear sound-alike; and Joey D, a softhearted brawler--took J.R. to the beach, to ballgames, and ultimately into their circle. They taught J.R., tended him, and provided a kind of fathering-by-committee. Torn between the stirring example of his mother and the lurid romance of the bar, J.R. tried to forge a self somewhere in the center. But when it was time for J.R. to leave home, the bar became an increasingly seductive sanctuary, a place to return and regroup during his picaresque journeys. Time and again the bar offered shelter from failure, rejection, heartbreak--and eventually from reality.

In the grand tradition of landmark memoirs, The Tender Bar is suspenseful, wrenching, and achingly funny. A classic American story of self-invention and escape, of the fierce love between a single mother and an only son, it''s also a moving portrait of one boy''s struggle to become a man, and an unforgettable depiction of how men remain, at heart, lost boys.

About the Author

J.R. Moehringer, winner of the Pulitzer Prize for feature writing in 2000, is a staff writer for the Los Angeles Times Sunday Magazine, and a former Nieman Fellow at Harvard University. He lives in Denver.
Item not added

This item is not available to order at this time.

See used copies from 00.00
  • My Gift List
  • My Wish List
  • Shopping Cart