The Tender Bar

Kobo eBook available

read instantly on your Kobo or tablet.

buy the ebook now

The Tender Bar

by J.r. Moehringer

Hyperion | September 1, 2005 | Hardcover |

Not yet rated | write a review
The New York Times bestseller and one of the 100 Most Notable Books of 2005. In the tradition of This Boy''s Life and The Liar''s Club, a raucous, poignant, luminously written memoir about a boy striving to become a man, and his romance with a bar.

J.R. Moehringer grew up captivated by a voice. It was the voice of his father, a New York City disc jockey who vanished before J.R. spoke his first word. Sitting on the stoop, pressing an ear to the radio, J.R. would strain to hear in that plummy baritone the secrets of masculinity and identity. Though J.R.''s mother was his world, his rock, he craved something more, something faintly and hauntingly audible only in The Voice.

At eight years old, suddenly unable to find The Voice on the radio, J.R. turned in desperation to the bar on the corner, where he found a rousing chorus of new voices. The alphas along the bar--including J.R.''s Uncle Charlie, a Humphrey Bogart look-alike; Colt, a Yogi Bear sound-alike; and Joey D, a softhearted brawler--took J.R. to the beach, to ballgames, and ultimately into their circle. They taught J.R., tended him, and provided a kind of fathering-by-committee. Torn between the stirring example of his mother and the lurid romance of the bar, J.R. tried to forge a self somewhere in the center. But when it was time for J.R. to leave home, the bar became an increasingly seductive sanctuary, a place to return and regroup during his picaresque journeys. Time and again the bar offered shelter from failure, rejection, heartbreak--and eventually from reality.

In the grand tradition of landmark memoirs, The Tender Bar is suspenseful, wrenching, and achingly funny. A classic American story of self-invention and escape, of the fierce love between a single mother and an only son, it''s also a moving portrait of one boy''s struggle to become a man, and an unforgettable depiction of how men remain, at heart, lost boys.

Format: Hardcover

Dimensions: 384 Pages, 6.3 × 9.45 × 0.79 in

Published: September 1, 2005

Publisher: Hyperion

Language: English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 1401300642

ISBN - 13: 9781401300647

Out of stock Sorry, this item has sold out and may be re-stocked in the future.

Cart

All available formats:

Reviews

– More About This Product –

The Tender Bar

The Tender Bar

by J.r. Moehringer

Format: Hardcover

Dimensions: 384 Pages, 6.3 × 9.45 × 0.79 in

Published: September 1, 2005

Publisher: Hyperion

Language: English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 1401300642

ISBN - 13: 9781401300647

About the Book

J.R. Moehringer grew up captivated by a voice. It was the voice of his father, a New York City disc jockey who vanished before J.R. spoke his first word. Sitting on the stoop, pressing an ear to the radio, J.R. would strain to hear in that plummy baritone the secrets of masculinity and identity. Though J.R.'s mother was his world, his rock, he craved something more, something faintly and hauntingly audible only in The Voice." "At eight years old, suddenly unable to find The Voice on the radio, J.R. turned in desperation to the bar on the corner, where he found a rousing chorus of new voices. Cops and poets, bookies and soldiers, movie stars and stumblebums, all sorts of men gathered in the bar to tell their stories and forget their cares. The alphas along the bar - including J.R.'s Uncle Charlie, a Humphrey Bogart look-alike; Colt, a Yogi-Bear sound-alike; and Joey D, a softhearted brawler - took J.R. to the beach, to ballgames, and ultimately into their circle. They taught J.R., tended him, and provided a kind of fatherhood-by-committee." Torn between the stirring example of his mother and the lurid romance of the bar, J.R. tried to forge a self somewhere in the center. But when it was time for J.R. to leave home, the bar became an increasingly seductive sanctuary, a place to return and regroup during his picaresque journeys - from his grandfather's tumbledown house to the hallowed towers and spires of Yale; from his absurd stint selling housewares at Lord & Taylor to his dream job at the New York Times, which became a nightmare when he found himself a faulty cog in a vast machine. Time and again the bar offered shelter from failure, rejection, heartbreak - and eventually from reality.

From the Publisher

The New York Times bestseller and one of the 100 Most Notable Books of 2005. In the tradition of This Boy''s Life and The Liar''s Club, a raucous, poignant, luminously written memoir about a boy striving to become a man, and his romance with a bar.

J.R. Moehringer grew up captivated by a voice. It was the voice of his father, a New York City disc jockey who vanished before J.R. spoke his first word. Sitting on the stoop, pressing an ear to the radio, J.R. would strain to hear in that plummy baritone the secrets of masculinity and identity. Though J.R.''s mother was his world, his rock, he craved something more, something faintly and hauntingly audible only in The Voice.

At eight years old, suddenly unable to find The Voice on the radio, J.R. turned in desperation to the bar on the corner, where he found a rousing chorus of new voices. The alphas along the bar--including J.R.''s Uncle Charlie, a Humphrey Bogart look-alike; Colt, a Yogi Bear sound-alike; and Joey D, a softhearted brawler--took J.R. to the beach, to ballgames, and ultimately into their circle. They taught J.R., tended him, and provided a kind of fathering-by-committee. Torn between the stirring example of his mother and the lurid romance of the bar, J.R. tried to forge a self somewhere in the center. But when it was time for J.R. to leave home, the bar became an increasingly seductive sanctuary, a place to return and regroup during his picaresque journeys. Time and again the bar offered shelter from failure, rejection, heartbreak--and eventually from reality.

In the grand tradition of landmark memoirs, The Tender Bar is suspenseful, wrenching, and achingly funny. A classic American story of self-invention and escape, of the fierce love between a single mother and an only son, it''s also a moving portrait of one boy''s struggle to become a man, and an unforgettable depiction of how men remain, at heart, lost boys.

About the Author

J. R. Moehringer is a Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist and novelist. He is the author of The Tender Bar (2005) and Sutton (2012). He collaborated on Andre Aggassi's memoir Open (2012). Moehringer graduated from Yale University in 1986. He began his journalism career as a news assistant at The New York Times later moving to Breckenridge, Colorado to work at the Rocky Mountain News and even later he became a reporter for the Orange County bureau of the Los Angeles Times. Moehringer eventually was sent to Atlanta to serve as the LA Times national correspondent on the south. Moehringer received the Literary Award, PEN Center USA West and the Livingston Award for Young Journalists, both in 1997 and a Pulitzer Prize for Feature Writing in 2000.
Item not added

This item is not available to order at this time.

See used copies from 00.00
  • My Gift List
  • My Wish List
  • Shopping Cart