Tuesday's Gone: A Frieda Klein Novel

Kobo eBook available

read instantly on your Kobo or tablet.

buy the ebook now

Tuesday's Gone: A Frieda Klein Novel

by Nicci French

Pamela Dorman Books | April 9, 2013 | Hardcover

3 out of 5 rating. 1 Reviews
Not yet rated | write a review
"Blue Monday leaves readers with the promise of intriguing tales to come"  -People (four-star review)

Internationally bestselling authors Nicci Gerard and Sean French, writing as Nicci French, have sold more than eight million copies of their books worldwide. But nothing they've written written before has grabbed the attention of reviewers and readers like Blue
Monday
and its iconic heroine, Frieda Klein. In a starred review, Publishers Weekly called it a "superb psychological thriller . . . with brooding atmosphere, sustained suspense, a last-minute plot twist, and memorable cast of characters."

In Tuesday's Gone, a London social worker makes a routine home visit only to discover her client, Michelle Doyce, serving afternoon tea to a naked, decomposing corpse. With no clues as to the dead man's identity, Chief Inspector Karlsson again calls upon Frieda for help. She discovers that the body belongs to Robert Poole, con man extraordinaire. But Frieda can't shake the feeling that the past isn't done with her yet. Did someone kill Poole to embroil her in the investigation? And if so, is Frieda herself the next victim?

A masterpiece of paranoia, Tuesday's Gone draws readers inexorably into a fractured and faithless world as it brilliantly confirms Frieda Klein as a quintessential heroine for our times.


Format: Hardcover

Dimensions: 384 pages, 3.66 × 2.49 × 0.49 in

Published: April 9, 2013

Publisher: Pamela Dorman Books

Language: English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 0670025674

ISBN - 13: 9780670025671

save
37%

In Stock Hurry, only 0 left! Not yet released

$19.47  ea

Online Price

$29.50 List Price

or, Used from $5.04

eGift this item

Give this item in the form of an eGift Card.

+ what is this?

This item is eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $25.
See details

Easy, FREE returns. See details

Item can only be shipped in Canada

Downloads instantly to your kobo or other ereading device. See details

All available formats:

Check store inventory (prices may vary)

Reviews

– More About This Product –

Tuesday's Gone: A Frieda Klein Novel

by Nicci French

Format: Hardcover

Dimensions: 384 pages, 3.66 × 2.49 × 0.49 in

Published: April 9, 2013

Publisher: Pamela Dorman Books

Language: English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 0670025674

ISBN - 13: 9780670025671

About the Book

Internationally bestselling author French has sold more than eight million copies of books worldwide. In this release, a London social worker makes a routine home visit only to discover her client serving afternoon tea to a naked, decomposing corpse.

Read from the Book

Maggie Brennan half walked, half ran along Deptford Church Street. She was talking on the phone and reading a file and looking for the address in the A–Z . It was the second day of the week, and she was already two days behind schedule. This didn’t include the caseload she had inherited from a colleague who was now on permanent sick leave. “No,” said Maggie, into the phone. She looked at her watch. “I’ll try to get to the meeting before you finish.” She put the mobile into her pocket. She was thinking of the case she’d just come from. A three-year-old with bruises. Suspicious bruises, the doc tor in A&E had said. Maggie had talked to the mother, looked at the child, checked out the flat where they lived. It was horrible, damp, cold, but not obviously dangerous. The mother said she didn’t have a boyfriend, and Maggie had checked the bathroom and there was no razor. She had insisted that the child had fallen down the stairs. That’s what people said when they hit their children, but even so, three-year-olds really did fall downstairs. She’d only spent ten minutes there, but ten hours wouldn’t have made much difference. If she removed the child, the prosecution would probably fail and she would be disciplined. If she didn’t remove the child and he was found dead, there would be an inquiry; she would be fired and maybe prosecuted. So she’d signed off on it. No immediate cause for concern. Probably not
read more read less

From the Publisher

"Blue Monday leaves readers with the promise of intriguing tales to come"  -People (four-star review)

Internationally bestselling authors Nicci Gerard and Sean French, writing as Nicci French, have sold more than eight million copies of their books worldwide. But nothing they've written written before has grabbed the attention of reviewers and readers like Blue
Monday
and its iconic heroine, Frieda Klein. In a starred review, Publishers Weekly called it a "superb psychological thriller . . . with brooding atmosphere, sustained suspense, a last-minute plot twist, and memorable cast of characters."

In Tuesday's Gone, a London social worker makes a routine home visit only to discover her client, Michelle Doyce, serving afternoon tea to a naked, decomposing corpse. With no clues as to the dead man's identity, Chief Inspector Karlsson again calls upon Frieda for help. She discovers that the body belongs to Robert Poole, con man extraordinaire. But Frieda can't shake the feeling that the past isn't done with her yet. Did someone kill Poole to embroil her in the investigation? And if so, is Frieda herself the next victim?

A masterpiece of paranoia, Tuesday's Gone draws readers inexorably into a fractured and faithless world as it brilliantly confirms Frieda Klein as a quintessential heroine for our times.


About the Author

Nicci French is the pseudonym for the internationally bestselling writing partnership of suspense writers Nicci Gerrard and Sean French. They are married and live in Suffolk and London, England.

Editorial Reviews

Praise for BLUE MONDAY by Nicci French : “Fast-paced and spooky…it leaves readers with the promise of intriguing tales to come.” — People (****) “A neat puzzle with a satisfying resolution and a terrific twist at the end.” — The New York Times Book Review “[A] superb psychological thriller . . . With its brooding atmosphere, sustained suspense, last-minute plot twist, and memorable cast of characters, this series debut will leave readers eager to discover what color Tuesday will be.” — Publishers Weekly , starred review “With its smart plot, crisp prose, and a stunning final twist, this is psychological suspense at its best. Absolutely riveting.” — Booklist , starred review “This is psychological suspense done right. The authors pace themselves and build the tension slowly while carefully developing each of the players. For fans of Tana French’s and Lisa Gardner’s moody, dark, twisty thrillers.” — Library Journal “Complex and flawed, Frieda Klein is a refreshingly human protagonist, an intriguing debut for a truly unique character.” — Tami Hoag , bestselling author of Down the Darkest Road “A searing psychological thriller in the rich vein of Kate Atkinson and Laura Lippman, Blue Monday is powerful and gripping—a page-turner with heart and soul.  Psychotherapist Frieda Klein is an enormously appealing new series hero.” — Jo
read more read less
Item not added

This item is not available to order at this time.

See used copies from 00.00
  • My Gift List
  • My Wish List
  • Shopping Cart