Unorthodox: The Scandalous Rejection of My Hasidic Roots

by Deborah Feldman

Simon & Schuster | February 14, 2012 | Kobo Edition (eBook)

Unorthodox: The Scandalous Rejection of My Hasidic Roots is rated 4 out of 5 by 1.
The instant New York Times bestselling memoir of a young Jewish woman’s escape from a religious sect, in the tradition of Ayaan Hirsi Ali’s Infidel and Carolyn Jessop’s Escape, featuring a new epilogue by the author.

As a member of the strictly religious Satmar sect of Hasidic Judaism, Deborah Feldman grew up under a code of relentlessly enforced customs governing everything from what she could wear and to whom she could speak to what she was allowed to read. It was stolen moments spent with the empowered literary characters of Jane Austen and Louisa May Alcott that helped her to imagine an alternative way of life. Trapped as a teenager in a sexually and emotionally dysfunctional marriage to a man she barely knew, the tension between Deborah’s desires and her responsibilities as a good Satmar girl grew more explosive until she gave birth at nineteen and realized that, for the sake of herself and her son, she had to escape.

Format: Kobo Edition (eBook)

Published: February 14, 2012

Publisher: Simon & Schuster

Language: English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 1439187029

ISBN - 13: 9781439187029

Found in: Biography and Memoir

save 0%

  • Available for download
  • Not available in stores

$16.99  ea

Online Price

$16.99 List Price


See details

Easy, FREE returns. See details

Downloads instantly to your kobo or other ereading device. See details

All available formats:

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Enjoyed it Great read and to see what other cultures and religions manage their lives. Unhappy to see how some cultures still see women as nothing more than child making machines. Very interesting and thrilled to see their are some "strong" and determined women that make difficult but important and smart choices. Great read.
Date published: 2012-08-10
Rated out of 5 by from Knowledge is understanding.
Date published: 2012-04-10
Rated out of 5 by from Knowledge is understanding.
Date published: 2012-04-10

– More About This Product –

Unorthodox: The Scandalous Rejection of My Hasidic Roots

by Deborah Feldman

Format: Kobo Edition (eBook)

Published: February 14, 2012

Publisher: Simon & Schuster

Language: English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 1439187029

ISBN - 13: 9781439187029

From the Publisher

The instant New York Times bestselling memoir of a young Jewish woman’s escape from a religious sect, in the tradition of Ayaan Hirsi Ali’s Infidel and Carolyn Jessop’s Escape, featuring a new epilogue by the author.

As a member of the strictly religious Satmar sect of Hasidic Judaism, Deborah Feldman grew up under a code of relentlessly enforced customs governing everything from what she could wear and to whom she could speak to what she was allowed to read. It was stolen moments spent with the empowered literary characters of Jane Austen and Louisa May Alcott that helped her to imagine an alternative way of life. Trapped as a teenager in a sexually and emotionally dysfunctional marriage to a man she barely knew, the tension between Deborah’s desires and her responsibilities as a good Satmar girl grew more explosive until she gave birth at nineteen and realized that, for the sake of herself and her son, she had to escape.
Item not added

This item is not available to order at this time.

See used copies from 00.00
  • My Gift List
  • My Wish List
  • Shopping Cart