The Edge Of Nowhere

Kobo eBook available

read instantly on your Kobo or tablet.

buy the ebook now

The Edge Of Nowhere

by Elizabeth George

Penguin Young Readers Group | September 4, 2012 | Hardcover

The Edge Of Nowhere is rated 3 out of 5 by 1.
The first young adult book by a #1 New York Times bestselling author

Whidbey Island may be only a ferry ride from Seattle, but it''s a world apart. When Becca King arrives there, she doesn''t suspect the island will become her home for the next four years. Put at risk by her ability to hear "whispers"--the thoughts of others--Becca is on the run from her stepfather, whose criminal activities she has discovered. Stranded and alone, Becca is soon befriended by Derric, a Ugandon orphan adopted by a local family; Seth, a kindhearted musician and high school dropout; Debbie, a recovering alcoholic who takes her in; and Diana, with whom Becca shares a mysterious psychic connection.

This compelling coming-of-age story, the first of an ongoing sequence of books set on Whidbey Island, has elements of mystery, the paranormal, and romance. Elizabeth George, bestselling author of the Inspector Lynley crime novels, brings her elegant style, intricate plotting, incisive characterization, and top-notch storytelling to her first book for teens.

Format: Hardcover

Dimensions: 448 pages, 8.63 × 5.81 × 1.38 in

Published: September 4, 2012

Publisher: Penguin Young Readers Group

Language: English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 0670012963

ISBN - 13: 9780670012961

save 27%

  • In stock online

$15.20  ea

Online Price

$20.00 List Price

eGift this item

Give this item in the form of an eGift Card.

+ what is this?

This item is eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $25.
See details

Easy, FREE returns. See details

Item can only be shipped in Canada

Downloads instantly to your kobo or other ereading device. See details

All available formats:

Check store inventory (prices may vary)

Reviews

Rated 3 out of 5 by from EDGE OF NOWHERE DEFINITELY A "TWEEN" BOOK. HAD TO REREAD SOME PARTS BECAUSE IT WAS SORT OF MIXED UP.
Date published: 2014-02-18

– More About This Product –

The Edge Of Nowhere

by Elizabeth George

Format: Hardcover

Dimensions: 448 pages, 8.63 × 5.81 × 1.38 in

Published: September 4, 2012

Publisher: Penguin Young Readers Group

Language: English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 0670012963

ISBN - 13: 9780670012961

About the Book

From the #1 bestselling author of the Inspector Lynley crime novels comes her first book for young adults. After her mother abandons her on Whidbey Island, Washington, a 14-year-old girl with psychic abilities meets a Ugandan orphan with a secret.

Read from the Book

THE GIRL WHO HEARS VOICES Becca stopped. The air was cool under looming hemlocks, cedars, and Douglas firs. It was also teeming with whispers. They were oddly strong, despite no one being close by, as if people were hiding behind every tree. They spoke of longing and desperation. They seemed to reveal confusion, anger, and despair. They came from every direction at once. Amelia Anne Is Dead and Gone Kat Rosenfield The Catastrophic History of You & Me Jess Rothenberg Cold Fury T. M. Goeglein The Edge of the Water Elizabeth George If I Stay Gayle Forman Matched Ally Condie The Name of the Star Maureen Johnson Seconds Away Harlan Coben Shelter Harlan Coben Where She Went Gayle Forman ELIZABETH    GEORGE the Edge of Nowhere VIKING AN IMPRINT OF PENGUIN GROUP (USA) INC. ------------------------------ ------------------------------ The Girl Who Hears Voices Other Books You May Enjoy Title Page Copyright Dedication Epigraph   How Things Began   PART ONE ONE TWO THREE FOUR FIVE SIX SEVEN EIGHT NINE TEN ELEVEN   PART TWO TWELVE THIRTEEN FOURTEEN FIFTEEN SIXTEEN SEVENTEEN EIGHTEEN NINETEEN   PART THREE TWENTY TWENTY-ONE TWENTY-TWO TWENTY-THREE TWENTY-FOUR TWENTY-FIVE TWENTY-SIX TWENTY-SEVEN TWENTY-EIGHT   PART FOUR TWENTY-NINE THIRTY THIRTY-ONE THIRTY-TWO THIRTY-THREE THIRTY-FOUR THIRTY-FIVE THIRTY-SIX THIRTY-SEVEN THIRTY-EIGHT THIRTY-NINE FORTY FORTY-ONE FORTY-TWO FORTY-THREE FORTY-FOUR FORTY-FIVE Epilogue   AUTHOR’S NOTE An Excit
read more read less

From the Publisher

The first young adult book by a #1 New York Times bestselling author

Whidbey Island may be only a ferry ride from Seattle, but it''s a world apart. When Becca King arrives there, she doesn''t suspect the island will become her home for the next four years. Put at risk by her ability to hear "whispers"--the thoughts of others--Becca is on the run from her stepfather, whose criminal activities she has discovered. Stranded and alone, Becca is soon befriended by Derric, a Ugandon orphan adopted by a local family; Seth, a kindhearted musician and high school dropout; Debbie, a recovering alcoholic who takes her in; and Diana, with whom Becca shares a mysterious psychic connection.

This compelling coming-of-age story, the first of an ongoing sequence of books set on Whidbey Island, has elements of mystery, the paranormal, and romance. Elizabeth George, bestselling author of the Inspector Lynley crime novels, brings her elegant style, intricate plotting, incisive characterization, and top-notch storytelling to her first book for teens.

About the Author

Elizabeth George is the author of more than twenty books for adults. She lives in Seattle, Washington.

Editorial Reviews

Praise for Edge of Nowhere by Elizabeth George

“George has created an interesting set of characters and plot twists that teenagers who like adventure and mysteries will enjoy.” —School Library Journal

“...strong appeal to fans of Beth Kephart and Nancy Werlin.” —BCCB

"In her first foray into YA fiction, Ms George (a beloved adult suspense novelist) has hit the nail on the proverbial head with this action-packed, mysterious, and somewhat ''creepy'' novel....the writing is superb from Ms. George, as always but...it''s the combination of great characters and relationships that truly have this novel raising the bar when it comes to today''s YA fiction."
                                                                                                                --Suspense Magazine

Edgar Award nominee
Agatha Award nominee