A Scientific Romance

Kobo eBook available

read instantly on your Kobo or tablet.

buy the ebook now

A Scientific Romance

by Ronald Wright

Knopf Canada | July 7, 1998 | Trade Paperback

A Scientific Romance is rated 4.6667 out of 5 by 3.
In this critically acclaimed and bestselling novel, Ronald Wright has fashioned a story for our times, an unforgettable chronicle of love, plague and time travel in the tradition of Nineteen Eighty-Four and The Handmaid''s Tale.

Format: Trade Paperback

Dimensions: 320 pages, 8 × 5.15 × 0.7 in

Published: July 7, 1998

Publisher: Knopf Canada

Language: English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 0676971075

ISBN - 13: 9780676971071

Found in: Erotica

save 27%

  • In stock online

$15.96  ea

Online Price

$21.00 List Price

or, Used from $5.04

eGift this item

Give this item in the form of an eGift Card.

+ what is this?

This item is eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $25.
See details

Easy, FREE returns. See details

Item can only be shipped in Canada

Downloads instantly to your kobo or other ereading device. See details

All available formats:

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantasmagorical Wright's book - a haunting journal of a man propelled into an apocalyptic not-to-distant and all too possible future, ranks as one of the best in the genre. A relevant clarion call that should be required reading!
Date published: 2001-03-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from a bargain books gem I pulled this title randomly out of the bargain books bin so that my total would be high enough to get free shipping. I knew nothing about the author and certainly didn't expect it to be such a beautifully written novel. The story follows an archaeologist 500 years into the future (where nature has reclaimed the land again from man-made "progress") who is left to fend for himself and to figure out what happened to civilization. Despite the theme of time travel, this book will appeal to Anglophiles and fans of 19th century literature and philosophy more than the average SciFi fan.
Date published: 2000-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Scientific Romance Building on H.G. Wells' novel, The Time Machine, Wright portrays a dystopian future, into which an individual, by scientific miracle, travels 500 years, documenting every emotion and experience. A novel about the curiosities, reverence of a radically changed future, regret and hindsight. Not many novels have changed my outlook on the present as this one has. Nor have many novels made me think critically of our treatment of the environment - and of other people.
Date published: 1999-06-21

– More About This Product –

A Scientific Romance

by Ronald Wright

Format: Trade Paperback

Dimensions: 320 pages, 8 × 5.15 × 0.7 in

Published: July 7, 1998

Publisher: Knopf Canada

Language: English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 0676971075

ISBN - 13: 9780676971071

From the Publisher

In this critically acclaimed and bestselling novel, Ronald Wright has fashioned a story for our times, an unforgettable chronicle of love, plague and time travel in the tradition of Nineteen Eighty-Four and The Handmaid''s Tale.

About the Author

Ronald Wright is the author of the international bestsellers Time Among the Maya and Stolen Continents and of Home and Away, an acclaimed collection of travel pieces. He lives near Port Hope, Ontario.

Editorial Reviews

"Wright has come up with a treasure, a delightfully witty and suspenseful fantasy — in the rip-roaring tradition of the masters." —Alberto Manguel, The Globe and Mail "[A] virtuoso performance, an audacious leap ... into the unknown ... both beautifully realized and macabre.... This is an extraordinary novel, a brilliant synthesis of interpretive and imaginative elements, and, like the best fiction, a trenchant commentary on reality." — The Financial Post "Dazzling — A Scientific Romance is — poetic, sexy, satirical, [and] layered with rich bits from the author''s well-stocked mind." — The Globe and Mail "A ripping yarn packed with head-turning ideas.... [Wright] artfully uses the archeology of the future to satiric ends.... A Scientific Romance is a feast of a read, succeeding both as entertainment and a provocative parable of environmental limits." —Ted Mumford , NOW "... A powerful visionary core ... few writers have imagined the future with such compelling and tragic urgency." —John Bemrose, Maclean''s "Pure pleasure [and] — perfectly imagined....A deeply seductive and brilliantly sustained piece of adventure writing — enthrallingly descriptive, [which] turns into a compelling cultural satire." — The Observer "In 100 years'' time this book should be a classic." — The Guardian "A skillful, thoughtful fantasy of the postmillenniu
read more read less