Call The Midwife: Farewell To The East End

Kobo eBook available

read instantly on your Kobo or tablet.

buy the ebook now

Call The Midwife: Farewell To The East End

by Jennifer Worth

HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS | March 4, 2013 | Trade Paperback

Not yet rated | write a review

The last book in the trilogy begun by Jennifer Worth''sNew York Timesbestseller and the basis for the PBS seriesCall the Midwife

When twenty-two-year-old Jennifer Worth, from a comfortable middle-class upbringing, went to work as a midwife in the poorest section of postwar London, she not only delivered hundreds of babies and touched many lives, she also became the neighborhood''s most vivid chronicler.Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East Endis the last book in Worth''s memoir trilogy, which theTimes Literary Supplementdescribed as "powerful stories with sweet charm and controlled outrage" in the face of dire circumstances.

Here, at last, is the full story of Chummy''s delightful courtship and wedding. We also meet Megan''mave, identical twins who share a browbeaten husband, and return to Sister Monica Joan, who is in top eccentric form. As in Worth''s first two books,Call the Midwife: A Memoir of Birth, Joy, and Hard TimesandCall the Midwife: Shadows of the Workhouse, the vividly portrayed denizens of a postwar East End contend with the trials of extreme poverty-unsanitary conditions, hunger, and disease-and find surprising ways to thrive in their tightly knit community.

A rich portrait of a bygone era of comradeship and midwifery populated by unforgettable characters,Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East Endwill appeal to readers of Frank McCourt, Katherine Boo, and James Herriot, as well as to the fans of the acclaimed PBS show based on the trilogy.

Format: Trade Paperback

Dimensions: 336 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 0.79 in

Published: March 4, 2013

Publisher: HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS

Language: English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 0062270060

ISBN - 13: 9780062270061

Found in: Biography and Memoir

save 27%

  • In stock online

$15.19  ea

Online Price

$19.99 List Price

eGift this item

Give this item in the form of an eGift Card.

+ what is this?

This item is eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $25.
See details

Easy, FREE returns. See details

Item can only be shipped in Canada

Downloads instantly to your kobo or other ereading device. See details

All available formats:

Check store inventory (prices may vary)

Reviews

– More About This Product –

Call The Midwife: Farewell To The East End

by Jennifer Worth

Format: Trade Paperback

Dimensions: 336 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 0.79 in

Published: March 4, 2013

Publisher: HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS

Language: English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 0062270060

ISBN - 13: 9780062270061

About the Book

The final book in the acclaimed memoir series--the basis for the acclaimed PBS series: an enduring work of literary nonfiction that combines a heartwarming coming-of-age story and a startling look at women's lives in the poorest section of postwar London.

From the Publisher

The last book in the trilogy begun by Jennifer Worth''sNew York Timesbestseller and the basis for the PBS seriesCall the Midwife

When twenty-two-year-old Jennifer Worth, from a comfortable middle-class upbringing, went to work as a midwife in the poorest section of postwar London, she not only delivered hundreds of babies and touched many lives, she also became the neighborhood''s most vivid chronicler.Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East Endis the last book in Worth''s memoir trilogy, which theTimes Literary Supplementdescribed as "powerful stories with sweet charm and controlled outrage" in the face of dire circumstances.

Here, at last, is the full story of Chummy''s delightful courtship and wedding. We also meet Megan''mave, identical twins who share a browbeaten husband, and return to Sister Monica Joan, who is in top eccentric form. As in Worth''s first two books,Call the Midwife: A Memoir of Birth, Joy, and Hard TimesandCall the Midwife: Shadows of the Workhouse, the vividly portrayed denizens of a postwar East End contend with the trials of extreme poverty-unsanitary conditions, hunger, and disease-and find surprising ways to thrive in their tightly knit community.

A rich portrait of a bygone era of comradeship and midwifery populated by unforgettable characters,Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East Endwill appeal to readers of Frank McCourt, Katherine Boo, and James Herriot, as well as to the fans of the acclaimed PBS show based on the trilogy.

About the Author

Jennifer Worth trained as a nurse at the Royal Berk-shire Hospital in Reading, and was later ward sister at the Elizabeth Garrett Anderson Hospital in London, then the Marie Curie Hospital, also in London. Music had always been her passion, and in 1973 she left nursing in order to study music intensively, teaching piano and singing for about twenty-five years. Jennifer died in May 2011 after a short illness, leaving her husband, Philip; two daughters; and three grandchildren. Her books have all been bestsellers in England.