Deliverance

Kobo eBook available

read instantly on your Kobo or tablet.

buy the ebook now

Deliverance

by C J Redwine

HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS | August 18, 2014 | Trade Paperback

Deliverance is rated 5 out of 5 by 1.

Perfect for fans of Graceling, this final installment in the Defiance trilogy drives Rachel and Logan to conquer their greatest enemies-the Commander and the Cursed One-once and for all

Everything hangs in the balance, and nothing is certain: Rachel has been kidnapped by enemy forces and is being taken to Rowansmark while Logan, imprisoned and awaiting trial, is unable to leave Lankenshire. Separated from each other and their Baalboden comrades, each must find a way to achieve what they desperately want: to rid their world of the Commander and the tech that controls the deadly Cursed One once and for all.

Rachel, for her part, isn''t waiting around to be rescued. Fighting through her pain and embracing the warrior she''s become, she will do whatever it takes to escape her enemies'' clutches and find her way back to Logan, to join him in his fight. But when she learns a secret that changes everything, Rachel realizes that escaping Ian and his tracker friends is no longer an option if she wants to save Logan. Instead, she''ll have to destroy Rowansmark from the inside out-if she can survive the journey through the Wasteland.

Logan needs allies if he wants to thwart Rowansmark''s power grab and rescue Rachel. But securing allies will mean betraying his beliefs and enlisting the help of the man he hates more than anyone: Commander Jason Chase. Driven by his fierce love for Rachel and his determination to make his world safe, he may be just the weapon the city-states need to defeat the Cursed One.

But as Rowansmark bears down with all its might and uneasy alliances are tested, will the pair''s love for each other be enough to surmount the unbelievable odds against them?

Format: Trade Paperback

Dimensions: 480 pages, 8.5 × 5.5 × 1.26 in

Published: August 18, 2014

Publisher: HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS

Language: English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 0062359509

ISBN - 13: 9780062359506

save 13%

  • In stock online

$11.37  ea

Online Price

$12.50 List Price

or, Used from $110.30

eGift this item

Give this item in the form of an eGift Card.

+ what is this?

This item is eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $25.
See details

Easy, FREE returns. See details

Item can only be shipped in Canada

Downloads instantly to your kobo or other ereading device. See details

All available formats:

Check store inventory (prices may vary)

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Explosive and Action-Packed "Deliverance" by C.J. Redwine is the explosive and action-packed finale to the "Defiance series. It begins with Willow and Logan imprisoned in Lankenshire with Commander Chase and his army threatening an attack if he's not released to suffer the tyrant's justice. Determined to seek allies to thwart the powerful control of Ravensmark Logan has to develop a plan to engineer a prison break, protect an innocent city and find a murderer before he can stop the two power-hungry leaders. Rachel injured and kidnapped by enemy forces is being taken to Rowansmark to face James Rowan's retribution for the theft of a tech weapon that summons and controls the destructive tanniyn. With Quinn her protector hurt and abandoned by the enemy, she begins to look for an opportunity to escape, but Ian McEntire has his own plan for taking care of the feisty warrior. When Rachel discovers that before his death Marcus McEntire invented a more advanced weapon to protect Rowansmark she struggles to survive the trip across the Wasteland and to infiltrate the city so she can find the tech. In a plot where two violent and power-hungry leaders clash, each wanting ultimate power, Logan will make an alliance that could leave him vulnerable to attack. Fast-paced, the action never stops as tension and suspense builds;Rachel and Logan struggling to reunite amid the mounting crisis, their love strengthening their resolve as they're faced with overcoming incredible odds. The final book is not only a thrill ride with twists and turns that keep you riveted, but is told from Logan and Rachel's perspectives. The strands of the plot follow Rachel's fight to stay alive on the trip across the Wasteland as well as in Rowansmark where she has to uncover the new tech that James Rowan intends to use against the Commander and his armies. In the same way Logan must survive the hostility of Commander Chase if he wants to find allies in the city-states who will help destroy the despot controlling Rowansmark. Only when reunited does Logan and Rachel's fight become most effective, their love and faith in each other as well as in their friends a formidable weapon. As in all of the novels in the Defiance series, the core characters add energy, power and passion to this tale. Rachel Adams has slowly overcome her bitterness and anger over the death of her father Jared, Oliver and her best friend. Fierce, strong, defiant and unshakeable, she's willing to bravely sacrifice her life if it means saving Logan and her friends. Similarly Logan McEntire who's riddled with uncertainty about the love of those that raised him is a courageous, natural leader who easily evaluates each situation before formulating a plan; assessing the motives, strengths and weaknesses of not only his team but his enemies. He's a technical whiz who has integrity, grit and an ardent love for Rachel. Ian McEntire is Logan's broken and driven BROTHER who's destroyed hundreds of lives because he believed a lie. Willow Runningbrook and her brother Quinn are smart and skilled warriors. Stubborn, efficient and selfless they are protective and loyal to Rachel and Logan. Of the antagonists in the story Commander Jason Chase is a self-righteous, arrogant and calculating strategist who rules by fear and brutality. Similarly, Jason Rowan is the cruel, merciless and egotistical tyrant in Rowansmark who will sacrifice anything or anyone to control all the city-states. I thoroughly enjoyed "Deliverance" and like all the Defiance series consider it to be well-written and mesmerizing from the first page to the last. In future I intend to look for more novels by C.J. Redwine, a talented author.
Date published: 2014-10-09

– More About This Product –

Deliverance

by C J Redwine

Format: Trade Paperback

Dimensions: 480 pages, 8.5 × 5.5 × 1.26 in

Published: August 18, 2014

Publisher: HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERS

Language: English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 0062359509

ISBN - 13: 9780062359506

From the Publisher

Perfect for fans of Graceling, this final installment in the Defiance trilogy drives Rachel and Logan to conquer their greatest enemies-the Commander and the Cursed One-once and for all

Everything hangs in the balance, and nothing is certain: Rachel has been kidnapped by enemy forces and is being taken to Rowansmark while Logan, imprisoned and awaiting trial, is unable to leave Lankenshire. Separated from each other and their Baalboden comrades, each must find a way to achieve what they desperately want: to rid their world of the Commander and the tech that controls the deadly Cursed One once and for all.

Rachel, for her part, isn''t waiting around to be rescued. Fighting through her pain and embracing the warrior she''s become, she will do whatever it takes to escape her enemies'' clutches and find her way back to Logan, to join him in his fight. But when she learns a secret that changes everything, Rachel realizes that escaping Ian and his tracker friends is no longer an option if she wants to save Logan. Instead, she''ll have to destroy Rowansmark from the inside out-if she can survive the journey through the Wasteland.

Logan needs allies if he wants to thwart Rowansmark''s power grab and rescue Rachel. But securing allies will mean betraying his beliefs and enlisting the help of the man he hates more than anyone: Commander Jason Chase. Driven by his fierce love for Rachel and his determination to make his world safe, he may be just the weapon the city-states need to defeat the Cursed One.

But as Rowansmark bears down with all its might and uneasy alliances are tested, will the pair''s love for each other be enough to surmount the unbelievable odds against them?

About the Author

C.J. REDWINE lives in Nashville, Tennessee, with her family. She has books in every corner of her house, an impressive Harry Potter memorabilia collection, and a bunch of really cool friends she doesn’t get to see nearly as much as she’d like to. She is also the author of Defiance and Deception. You can visit C.J. online at www.cjredwine.blogspot.com.

Editorial Reviews

Praise for Deception:

"An engaging fantasy" -Booklist

Praise for Defiance:

"A well-paced, heart-wrenching tale of loyalty, courage, and love." -Romantic Times

Praise for Defiance:

"C.J. Redwine''s Defiance is a gritty, thrilling adventure sprinkled with moments of breathtaking tenderness. I read it in one sitting." -Rae Carson, Morris Award finalist for and New York Times bestselling author of The Girl of Fire and Thorns