Mystic City: A Mystic City Novel, Book I

Kobo eBook available

read instantly on your Kobo or tablet.

buy the ebook now

Mystic City: A Mystic City Novel, Book I

by Theo Lawrence

Random House Children's Books | December 5, 2013 | Hardcover

Mystic City: A Mystic City Novel, Book I is rated 3 out of 5 by 2.
For fans of Matched, The Hunger Games, X-Men, and Blade Runner comes a tale of a magical city divided, a political rebellion ignited, and a love that was meant to last forever. Book One of the Mystic City Novels.

Aria Rose, youngest scion of one of Mystic City''s two ruling rival families, finds herself betrothed to Thomas Foster, the son of her parents'' sworn enemies. The union of the two will end the generations-long political feud—and unite all those living in the Aeries, the privileged upper reaches of the city, against the banished mystics who dwell below in the Depths. But Aria doesn''t remember falling in love with Thomas; in fact, she wakes one day with huge gaps in her memory. And she can''t conceive why her parents would have agreed to unite with the Fosters in the first place. Only when Aria meets Hunter, a gorgeous rebel mystic from the Depths, does she start to have glimmers of recollection—and to understand that he holds the key to unlocking her past. The choices she makes can save or doom the city—including herself.  

Format: Hardcover

Dimensions: 416 pages, 8.56 × 6.76 × 1.4 in

Published: December 5, 2013

Publisher: Random House Children's Books

Language: English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 038574160X

ISBN - 13: 9780385741606

save 90%

  • Out of stock online

$2.00  ea

Online Price

$19.99 List Price

This item is eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $25.
See details

Easy, FREE returns. See details

Item can only be shipped in Canada

Downloads instantly to your kobo or other ereading device. See details

All available formats:

Check store inventory (prices may vary)

Reviews

Rated 2 out of 5 by from Fell flat for me The Roses and Forrestors are powerful families that are divided in what now believes to be Manhattan, New York. The deadly cost of global warming has risen sea levels, and the city has taken up to live upwards in skyscrapers. The citizens are divided beneath the two families, but there are also the non mystics and rebel mystics. Mystics are dangerous (or so Aria is led to believe). Her family vows to reunite the two feuding families with her marriage to the handsome Thomas. When Aria wakes up with no memories of being engaged to him at all, and with memories of a love with a faceless stranger she begins to question what her family’s intentions are up to. Then she meets a mystic boy named Hunter, and life as she knows it, is turned upside down. As for Aria, I fully support that she’s a wealthy teenage girl who happens to be emotionally abused by her politically-hungry family, but I seriously needed her to be stronger than she was portrayed. And her family!! Talk about dysfunctional! Her father is a power hungry murderer, her mom is just as bad and her older brother is a Sic user. Her entire family is crazy! Yikes! At least Aria isn’t like them. I pity her. I felt bad for her. Can I say that her family is probably quite toxic, and she should just get the heck out of there? (Yes, I’m giving advice to a completely fictional character.) Then there are secondary characters like Thomas, whom I just want to slap. Handsome, and conniving, he is a full blown liar. (Girls, don’t fall for a pretty face, the inside won’t necessarily match the outside.) The only character that I remotely held any any interest to is Davida. She’s kind and loyal and always has Aria’s back. (Please Theo Lawrence, include some moral, heart-warming characters to root for?) And the love interest Hunter, I completely forgot about him. He’s sweet, and romantic and cute, but what about his personality? I needed more character development! The book is terribly predictable, and other than the one twist, the plot was indeed fast paced, as I flew through the pages rather quickly. The world building isn’t fully formed as other novels, but I can say it was rather realistic. Their technology isn’t as advanced as our technology today, so it’s not like I was oohing and aahhing about the marvels of their scanners. I also find it highly amusing that their cell phones are called “TouchMes.” (Excuse me, while I gag.) I can understand this book is targeted toward the young adult audience, but I felt it was too immature and lacking any depth. The romance (thank God!) wasn’t the main focus, but the mystery was, which I thankfully can praise. I can definitely vouch and say this book will keep you entertained, but if you’re looking for a more fluffier YA novel to read, then Mystic City is definitely for you. Just keep an open mind about certain parts since I can definitely say one part did make me think, “WTF!”
Date published: 2014-12-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A World of Magic and Forbidden Love Mystic City is not the Manhattan we know today. In this Manhattan, the city is mostly flooded and the rich live high in the sky in a series of skyscrapers known as The Aeries. The poor live below in an area known as The Depths. The Mystics also live in the squalor of the Depths, especially the ones who haven't been drained of their magic. Aria Rose is from one of Mystic City's most elite families. She is engaged to Thomas Foster, son of another elite family and formerly her families bitter rival. The problem is that Aria can not remember falling in love with Thomas and her quest to bring back her memories is what this story is all about. Her quest for the knowledge she's lost takes her deep into the depths and more deeply into the world of unregistered Mystics. It gets her a job where she learns things about her family that she didn't want to know. It teaches her that you can't always believe what you think you see to be the truth. It introduces her to Hunter, an unregistered Mystic that she should feel afraid of but instead feels familiar, who rescues her on her first foray into The Depths. Yes, Mystic City has a Romeo and Juliet-esque feel to it. Yes, it is full of magic and forbidden love. Yes, it is a sweeping tale of good vs evil, right vs wrong. It is all of those things and then some. Yes it would make a fabulous movie. For many readers this will be a story to devour in one sitting. It will be the story that they are dying to read more of. I found it to be a very good read. Intriguing, mysterious, entertaining and full of romantic moments. There are characters to love and hate and despair over. I truly enjoyed all of it. I give this book a total of 4 out of 5 reads. I will choose it for book club. There are a number of regulars I can recommend it to but it was not the You Have To Read This! book that I can recommend to everyone. It's up there though. I predict that Mystic City will find quite the fan base. For fans of Divergent, Delirium, Starters, Meridian, etc.. *Advance Readers copy received from Random House.
Date published: 2012-09-22

– More About This Product –

Mystic City: A Mystic City Novel, Book I

by Theo Lawrence

Format: Hardcover

Dimensions: 416 pages, 8.56 × 6.76 × 1.4 in

Published: December 5, 2013

Publisher: Random House Children's Books

Language: English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 038574160X

ISBN - 13: 9780385741606

From the Publisher

For fans of Matched, The Hunger Games, X-Men, and Blade Runner comes a tale of a magical city divided, a political rebellion ignited, and a love that was meant to last forever. Book One of the Mystic City Novels.

Aria Rose, youngest scion of one of Mystic City''s two ruling rival families, finds herself betrothed to Thomas Foster, the son of her parents'' sworn enemies. The union of the two will end the generations-long political feud—and unite all those living in the Aeries, the privileged upper reaches of the city, against the banished mystics who dwell below in the Depths. But Aria doesn''t remember falling in love with Thomas; in fact, she wakes one day with huge gaps in her memory. And she can''t conceive why her parents would have agreed to unite with the Fosters in the first place. Only when Aria meets Hunter, a gorgeous rebel mystic from the Depths, does she start to have glimmers of recollection—and to understand that he holds the key to unlocking her past. The choices she makes can save or doom the city—including herself.  

About the Author

THEO LAWRENCE is a graduate of Columbia University and the Juilliard School. A Presidential Scholar in the Arts for Voice, he has performed at Carnegie Hall, the Kennedy Center, and Off-Broadway.

Editorial Reviews

USA Today, "Happily Ever After" (blog), October 9, 2012:
"The characters themselves, especially Aria, are what drive this book. I love deep and complex stuff, I love the cover, I love Theo''s writing and the Mystic City world...This novel is for fans of mind games, rebels, heartache and intrigue."

Kirkus Reviews
, May 15, 2012:
"A gripping Romeo-and-Juliet exploration of deception, espionage, revolution, the greater good and love conquering all—with the aid of magical green lights and a peculiar little locket."

Publishers Weekly, September 3, 2012:
"Debut author Lawrence’s writing is assured."

School Library Journal, January 2013:
"This book marries a fast-paced plot with likable, developed characters, set in a future Manhattan that is all too believable...The plot takes other twists and turns as the protagonist learns about the Mystics and the scope of her own family’s power. Hand this book to fans of Gabrielle Zevin’s All These Things I’ve Done and other urban dystopias with strong female characters."