The Kill Order (maze Runner, Prequel)

by James Dashner

Random House Children's Books | January 7, 2014 | Trade Paperback

The Kill Order (maze Runner, Prequel) is rated 1 out of 5 by 1.

Read the fourth book in the #1 New York Times bestselling Maze Runner series, perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent. The first book, The Maze Runner, is now a major motion picture featuring the star of MTV''s Teen Wolf, Dylan O’Brien; Kaya Scodelario; Aml Ameen; Will Poulter; and Thomas Brodie-Sangster and the second book, The Scorch Trials, will soon be a movie that hits theaters September 18, 2015! Also look for James Dashner’s newest novels, The Eye of Minds and The Rule of Thoughts, the first two books in the Mortality Doctrine series.
 
They thought the end came in a flash.
 
Before WICKED was formed, before the Glade was built, before Thomas entered the Maze, sun flares hit the earth, killing most of the population.
 
The worst is yet to come.
 
Mark and Trina were there when it happened. They survived. But now a virus is spreading. A virus that fills humans with murderous rage.
 
There is no cure. No escape.
 
They’re convinced that there’s a way to save those who are left—if they can stay alive. Because in this new, devastated world, every life has a price. And to some you’re worth more dead than alive.
 
The end is only the beginning.
 
Praise for the Maze Runner series:
 
"[A] mysterious survival saga that passionate fans describe as a fusion of Lord of the Flies, The Hunger Games, and Lost."—EW.com
 
“Wonderful action writingfast-paced…but smart and well observed.”Newsday
 
“[A] nail-biting must-read.”—Seventeen.com
 
“Breathless, cinematic action.” Publishers Weekly
 
“Heart-pounding to the very last moment.” Kirkus Reviews
 
“Exclamation-worthy.” Romantic Times

[STAR] “James Dashner’s illuminating prequel [The Kill Order] will thrill fans of this Maze Runner [series] and prove just as exciting for readers new to the series.”—Shelf Awareness, Starred




From the Hardcover edition.

Format: Trade Paperback

Dimensions: 368 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 0.69 in

Published: January 7, 2014

Publisher: Random House Children's Books

Language: English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 0385742894

ISBN - 13: 9780385742894

save 13%

  • In stock online

$10.00  ea

Online Price

$10.99 List Price

eGift this item

Give this item in the form of an eGift Card.

+ what is this?

This item is eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $25.
See details

Easy, FREE returns. See details

Item can only be shipped in Canada

Downloads instantly to your kobo or other ereading device. See details

Check store inventory (prices may vary)

Reviews

Rated 1 out of 5 by from Totally NOT what I expected it should be If you are expecting to read about how WICKED was established, how Thomas & Theresa helped built the Maze, like me, then you can forget about reading this book. Not only none of the above was mentioned in the entire book, it is merely yet another journey about a group of people struggling to survive after the sun flare happened, you will get glimpse of it through Mark’s dreams though, and its not much, take my word on that one. How they were trying to figure out why somebody is going around shooting darts at people, how some die soon after, how some became what you know as “Cranks” if you have read the other 3 books. I really thought when I was reading this that Mark & Trina were the predecessors of WICKED, and how I was totally disappointed. Like the 1st book, The Maze Runner, it was extremely boring and slow for the first half of the book, when I got to the middle, things started to pick up, just to find that I have to pull myself to turn the pages. I almost gave up on the last couple chapters, almost but I just told myself just a few more to go, might as well finish it. Honestly, Dashner only took 5 pages to sum up how the government decided and launched the Kill Order, and it’s like in the last 6 chapters of the book (each chapter is merely 4-5 pages long) And he made it as correspondences between two people, what an easy way out of it! And don’t even expect you will get details of it, it’s just a memorandum to “justify” their decision, reasoning, no action, no emotion, no plot, nothing. As for Thomas & Theresa, they were NEVER mentioned anywhere in the story, they were placed as a different part of the book, after the Epilogue, not part of. Not only that, its only 3-4 pages long, about how Thomas was “recruited” (which you already know from all the memories Thomas got in the last 3 books) I did had a little assumption which was confirmed true when I was reading the last chapter of the book when I was reading about Thomas & Theresa. So you can see there isn’t really any surprises there. If you only want to find out who Theresa is, you can just go into the store and spend about 5 minutes to read the very last section of the book on the profile on Theresa. She is a village girl that Mark saved when his group was making their way to a place they believed are responsible for the killings of their villagers. Having said all that, if you are looking for background information on WICKED, on Thomas & Theresa, on the predecessors of WICKED, how the Maze was built, you will find none of them in this book. So my recommendation is: You can stay away from this Prequel, no need to read as it does not tie to the Maze Runner series. Just read the other 3 books.
Date published: 2014-07-03

– More About This Product –

The Kill Order (maze Runner, Prequel)

by James Dashner

Format: Trade Paperback

Dimensions: 368 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 0.69 in

Published: January 7, 2014

Publisher: Random House Children's Books

Language: English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 0385742894

ISBN - 13: 9780385742894

From the Publisher

Read the fourth book in the #1 New York Times bestselling Maze Runner series, perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent. The first book, The Maze Runner, is now a major motion picture featuring the star of MTV''s Teen Wolf, Dylan O’Brien; Kaya Scodelario; Aml Ameen; Will Poulter; and Thomas Brodie-Sangster and the second book, The Scorch Trials, will soon be a movie that hits theaters September 18, 2015! Also look for James Dashner’s newest novels, The Eye of Minds and The Rule of Thoughts, the first two books in the Mortality Doctrine series.
 
They thought the end came in a flash.
 
Before WICKED was formed, before the Glade was built, before Thomas entered the Maze, sun flares hit the earth, killing most of the population.
 
The worst is yet to come.
 
Mark and Trina were there when it happened. They survived. But now a virus is spreading. A virus that fills humans with murderous rage.
 
There is no cure. No escape.
 
They’re convinced that there’s a way to save those who are left—if they can stay alive. Because in this new, devastated world, every life has a price. And to some you’re worth more dead than alive.
 
The end is only the beginning.
 
Praise for the Maze Runner series:
 
"[A] mysterious survival saga that passionate fans describe as a fusion of Lord of the Flies, The Hunger Games, and Lost."—EW.com
 
“Wonderful action writing—fast-paced…but smart and well observed.”—Newsday
 
“[A] nail-biting must-read.”—Seventeen.com
 
“Breathless, cinematic action.” —Publishers Weekly
 
“Heart-pounding to the very last moment.” —Kirkus Reviews
 
“Exclamation-worthy.” —Romantic Times

[STAR] “James Dashner’s illuminating prequel [The Kill Order] will thrill fans of this Maze Runner [series] and prove just as exciting for readers new to the series.”—Shelf Awareness, Starred




From the Hardcover edition.

About the Author

James Dashner is the author of the #1 New York Times bestselling Maze Runner series: The Maze Runner, The Scorch Trials, The Death Cure, and The Kill Order, as well as The Eye of Minds and The Rule of Thoughts, the first two books in the Mortality Doctrine series. Dashner was born and raised in Georgia, but now lives and writes in the Rocky Mountains. To learn more about James and his books, visit JamesDashner.com, follow @jamesdashner on Twitter, and find dashnerjames on Instagram.




From the Hardcover edition.

Editorial Reviews

Praise for the Maze Runner series:

A #1 New York Times Bestselling Series
A USA Today Bestseller
A Book Sense Bestseller
An Indie Next List Selection
A Kirkus Reviews Best Teen Book of the Year
An ALA-YASLA Best Fiction for Young Adults Book
An ALA-YALSA Quick Pick

"[A] mysterious survival saga that passionate fans describe as a fusion of Lord of the Flies, The Hunger Games, and Lost."—EW.com
 
“Wonderful action writing—fast-paced…but smart and well observed.”—Newsday
 
“[A] nail-biting must-read.”—Seventeen.com
 
“Breathless, cinematic action.”—Publishers Weekly
 
“Heart pounding to the very last moment.”—Kirkus Reviews
 
“Exclamation-worthy.”—Romantic Times
 
* “James Dashner’s illuminating prequel [The Kill Order] will thrill fans of this Maze Runner [series] and prove just as exciting for readers new to the series.”—Shelf Awareness, Starred
 
“Take a deep breath before you start any James Dashner book.”—Deseret News


From the Hardcover edition.