The Ruins Of Gorlan: Book 1

Kobo eBook available

read instantly on your Kobo or tablet.

buy the ebook now

The Ruins Of Gorlan: Book 1

by John A. Flanagan

Puffin | June 13, 2006 | Trade Paperback

The Ruins Of Gorlan: Book 1 is rated 4.5714 out of 5 by 7.

The international bestselling series with over 5 million copies sold in the U.S. alone!

They have always scared him in the past—the Rangers, with their dark cloaksand shadowy ways. The villagers believe the Rangers practice magic that makes them invisible to ordinary people. And now 15-year-old Will, always small for his age, has been chosen as a Ranger''s apprentice. What he doesn''t yet realize is that the Rangers are the protectors of the kingdom. Highly trained in the skills of battle and surveillance, they fight the battles before the battles reach the people. And as Will is about to learn, there is a large battle brewing. The exiled Morgarath, Lord of the Mountains of Rain and Night, is gathering his forces for an attack on the kingdom. This time, he will not be denied. . . .

Perfect for fans of J.R.R. Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings, T.H. White’s The Sword in the Stone, Christopher Paolini’s Eragon series, and George R. R. Martin’s Game of Thrones / A Song of Ice and Fire series.

 

Format: Trade Paperback

Dimensions: 272 pages, 7.73 × 5.08 × 0.7 in

Published: June 13, 2006

Publisher: Puffin

Language: English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 0142406635

ISBN - 13: 9780142406632

Appropriate for ages: 9 - 12

save 5%

  • In stock online

$9.99  ea

$9.99 List Price

or, Used from $5.04

eGift this item

Give this item in the form of an eGift Card.

+ what is this?

This item is eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $25.
See details

Easy, FREE returns. See details

Item can only be shipped in Canada

Downloads instantly to your kobo or other ereading device. See details

All available formats:

Check store inventory (prices may vary)

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent read The first time I read this book, I just couldn't put it down. It's a tale about Will, an orphan, who like others, fears the Rangers. They are mysterious and dangerous. The ranger, Halt, decides to take Will on as an apprentice and the adventure doesn't cease. I've read this book five times now, and will read it again in the future. It's an excellent beginning to an excellent series. Definitely one to add to the library.
Date published: 2014-01-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Kind of like Sword in the Stone Rangers Apprentice Book 1: The Ruins of Gorlan by John Flanagan is kind of like "Sword in the Stone": a nice kid does great things in a world touched by fantasy. The kid is Will, a 15 year old orphan, who is chosen for an apprenticeship with the mysterious and select group called the Rangers. Much of the story shows Will learning the skills of the Rangers. His major conflict is a boy his same age who is apprenticeing as a soldier. Once that is resolved, Will finds himself pitted against a greater danger: a magical creature that seems unstoppable. The story has a lot of momentum and Will comes across as a likeable protagonist. Good read.
Date published: 2012-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely Great! The 'Ranger's Apprentice' is an exciting adventure which begins in Araluen with the three young wards of Baron Arald choosing the Craftmaster they 're to train under. Of the two main characters Horace is a muscle-bound bully who's chosen by Sir Rodney to train as a knight at Battleschool. Orphaned as a baby and accepted as a ward by the Baron, Will is wiry, agile but small for his age. He believes his father died a heroic knight in the fight against the evil Morgarath, Lord of the Mountains of Rain and Night, and dreams of following in his footsteps. What he doesn't know is that one of the secret organization of trackers and spies called Rangers, has taken an interest in him, and will test Will for courage, intelligence and truthfulness before taking him as an apprentice. As the boys train, the evil and exiled Lord Morgarath is gathering his forces to attack the kingdom and has sent the Kalkara, vicious assassins, to kill key commanders in the King's army. Ranger Halt takes his apprentice Will to track the Kalkara and finds in their pursuit that they are the ones being pursued. As Will shows his determination and bravery in the field, Horace begins his training at Battleschool. His natural ability with the sword makes him a target for three second year student apprentices and in his struggle to maintain his grades while suffering from the pain of attack, he begins to change into the chivalrous and valiant knight he was meant to be. In the' 'The Ruins of Gorlan' not only does Horace begin a transformation into a formidable young warrior, but Will learns to respect the surveillance and battle skills of the Rangers who are the real protectors of the kingdom. In the end he is faced with a choice that will change his life forever. With every' page the excitement mounts as the battle begins brewing and the young apprentices face danger and adventure at every turn.
Date published: 2008-02-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Read I am fantasy lover, especially of books that take place in the past with magical creatures and such, like Lord of the Rings. So, it was only natural that I enjoyed this book. However, there were a few downsides to the book. The creatures were, how you say, fairly lame. For example: Wargals. It sounds like some new type of pasta to me. Morgarath: If you are going to come up with a dark Lords name, make it scary. Morgarath sounds too much like Morgoth from Lord of the Rings. Morgarath does not strike fear in me. In fact, it makes me laugh. Anyway, I did enjoy the book.
Date published: 2007-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great read I enjoyed reading this book and my son loved it. It held our interest and kept us thinking. We were eagerto get the next in the series. We liked how it ended, leaving us wanting more.
Date published: 2007-12-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for all ages The Rangers Apprentice keeps you on the edge of your seat as you read it. A phenominal read for all people! Can't wait for the next one in the series to come out!!!!
Date published: 2006-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Couldn't put it down. I found this is a wonderful book for all ages. My son and I both read the book. As soon as we finished this book we started looking for the next book in the series. Any one that likes the Harry Potter series should love this book as well. It is a wonderful book and I enjoyed reading it very much.
Date published: 2006-07-19

– More About This Product –

The Ruins Of Gorlan: Book 1

by John A. Flanagan

Format: Trade Paperback

Dimensions: 272 pages, 7.73 × 5.08 × 0.7 in

Published: June 13, 2006

Publisher: Puffin

Language: English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 0142406635

ISBN - 13: 9780142406632

About the Book

Full of adventure, storytelling, magic, and deep characterization, this debut fantasy introduces the magic-practicing Rangers, protectors of the kingdom, and Will, a 15-year-old villager who has been chosen as a Ranger's apprentice.

Read from the Book

  5 IT WAS LONG AFTER MIDNIGHT. THE FLICKERING TORCHES around the castle yard, already replaced once, had begun to burn low again.Will had watched patiently for hours, waiting for this moment—when the light was uncertain and the guards were yawning, in the last hour of their shift. The day had been one of the worst he could remember.While his yearmates celebrated, enjoying their feast and then spending their time in lighthearted horseplay through the castle and the village, Will had slipped away to the silence of the forest, a kilometer or so from the castle walls. There, in the dim green coolness beneath the trees, he had spent the afternoon reflecting bitterly on the events of the Choosing, nursing the deep pain of disappointment and wondering what the Ranger’s paper said. As the long day wore on, and the shadows began to lengthen in the open fields beside the forest, he came to a decision. He had to know what was on the paper. And he had to know tonight. Once night fell, he made his way back to the castle, avoiding villagers and castle folk alike, and secreted himself in the branches of the fig tree again. On the way, he slipped unnoticed into the kitchens and helped himself to bread, cheese and apples.He munched moodily on these, barely tasting them, as the evening passed and the castle began to settle down for the night. He observed the movements of the guards, getting a feeling for their timing as they went on their regular rounds. In addition to the gu
read more read less

From the Publisher

The international bestselling series with over 5 million copies sold in the U.S. alone!

They have always scared him in the past—the Rangers, with their dark cloaksand shadowy ways. The villagers believe the Rangers practice magic that makes them invisible to ordinary people. And now 15-year-old Will, always small for his age, has been chosen as a Ranger''s apprentice. What he doesn''t yet realize is that the Rangers are the protectors of the kingdom. Highly trained in the skills of battle and surveillance, they fight the battles before the battles reach the people. And as Will is about to learn, there is a large battle brewing. The exiled Morgarath, Lord of the Mountains of Rain and Night, is gathering his forces for an attack on the kingdom. This time, he will not be denied. . . .

Perfect for fans of J.R.R. Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings, T.H. White’s The Sword in the Stone, Christopher Paolini’s Eragon series, and George R. R. Martin’s Game of Thrones / A Song of Ice and Fire series.

 

About the Author

John Flanagan grew up in Sydney, Australia, hoping to be a writer. John began writing Ranger’s Apprentice for his son, Michael, ten years ago, and is still hard at work on the series and its spinoff, Brotherband Chronicles. He currently lives in the suburb of Manly, Australia, with his wife. In addition to their son, they have two grown daughters and four grandsons.

Appropriate for ages: 9 - 12