The Transit Of Venus

by Shirley Hazzard

Penguin Publishing Group | September 1, 1990 | Trade Paperback

The Transit Of Venus is rated 5 out of 5 by 3.
The Transit of Venus is considered Shirley Hazzard's most brilliant novel. It tells the story of two orphan sisters, Caroline and Grace Bell, as they leave Australia to start a new life in post-war England. What happens to these young women--seduction and abandonment, marriage and widowhood, love and betrayal--becomes as moving and wonderful and yet as predestined as the transits of the planets themselves. Gorgeously written and intricately constructed, Hazzard's novel is a story of place: Sydney, London, New York, Stockholm; of time: from the fifties to the eighties; and above all, of women and men in their passage through the displacements and absurdities of modern life.

Format: Trade Paperback

Dimensions: 352 pages, 7.72 × 5.07 × 0.72 in

Published: September 1, 1990

Publisher: Penguin Publishing Group

Language: English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 0140107479

ISBN - 13: 9780140107470

Found in: Fiction and Literature

save 27%

  • In stock online

$15.20  ea

Online Price

$20.00 List Price

eGift this item

Give this item in the form of an eGift Card.

+ what is this?

This item is eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $25.
See details

Easy, FREE returns. See details

Item can only be shipped in Canada

Downloads instantly to your kobo or other ereading device. See details

Check store inventory (prices may vary)

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Must Read Shirley Hazzard has achieved a brilliant novel. The characters are revealed with great sensitivity and intimacy. Their hurts and sorrows their joys and pleasures are detailed in ways that leave the reader thinking "I know how that feels exactly." Sophisticated prose, tantalizing foreshadowing and wonderful wit along with deeply effecting plotting are all Hazzard trademarks handled with great artistry. It is a novel for a mature reader who loves literature. The characters will stay with you a long time, their dialogue will resonate and help you better understand life, love and the costs of accepting both.
Date published: 2015-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Among the most memorable novels I've read I'm now reading this gorgeous novel for the third time--slowly, to savour every nuance and phrase. Don't be discouraged by the slow start; once you get to know the rich cast of characters, and familiarize yourself with Shirley Hazzard's chiseled yet challenging prose (not one word out of place), you won't want this tale to end. Transit of Venus is one of those rare novels that seem to contain the entire life cycle of everyone you know, including yourself. It's about love, time, change, loss...all the great themes. Just make sure you give yourself time to enjoy it.
Date published: 2007-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from For fans of Anita Brookner and Barbara Pym I am a voracious reader and it is not often that I can recommend a book as strongly as this one! The Bell sisters are wonderful characters and their sorrows and joys throughout the years are related in beautiful prose. Although it is a "quiet read" -- it is a book to savour. I enjoyed it as much as the male bookstore owner who recommended it to me! Read it -- you will not be disappointed!
Date published: 2001-01-28

– More About This Product –

The Transit Of Venus

by Shirley Hazzard

Format: Trade Paperback

Dimensions: 352 pages, 7.72 × 5.07 × 0.72 in

Published: September 1, 1990

Publisher: Penguin Publishing Group

Language: English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 0140107479

ISBN - 13: 9780140107470

From the Publisher

The Transit of Venus is considered Shirley Hazzard's most brilliant novel. It tells the story of two orphan sisters, Caroline and Grace Bell, as they leave Australia to start a new life in post-war England. What happens to these young women--seduction and abandonment, marriage and widowhood, love and betrayal--becomes as moving and wonderful and yet as predestined as the transits of the planets themselves. Gorgeously written and intricately constructed, Hazzard's novel is a story of place: Sydney, London, New York, Stockholm; of time: from the fifties to the eighties; and above all, of women and men in their passage through the displacements and absurdities of modern life.

About the Author

Born in Australia, Shirley Hazzard traveled the world during her early years, a result of her parents' diplomatic postings. In 1947, at the age of 16, she was engaged by British intelligence to monitor the civil war in China. In 1963, she married the writer Francis Steegmuller, who died in 1994. She has written several novels, two of which were National Book Award Finalists: The Bay of Noon (1971) and The Transit of Venus (1981, available from Penguin). She is also the author of two collections of short stories, and several works of nonfiction including the memoir Greene on Capri. Hazzard's most recent work, The Great Fire, won of the 2003 National Book Award for Fiction and the Miles Franklin Award. She now lives in New York, making frequent travels to Italy.

From Our Editors

Shirley Hazzard has dazzled readers for years with such works as The Bay of Noon and The Countenance of Truth. Considered by many to be the novelist`s best work, The Transit of Venus is the touching and moving story of two sisters who move from Australia to live in England following the Second World War. During their time there, the two women encounter all that love, death, marriage, betrayal and friendship encompass. You`ll live an entire lifetime with these ladies as they struggle with the absurdities of modern life and win your heart along the way.