Of This Earth: a Mennonite Boyhood in the Boreal Forest

Cover may not be exactly as depicted

Of This Earth: a Mennonite Boyhood in the Boreal Forest

by WIEBE RUDY

Used & Rare price

SPECIAL SHIPPING CONSIDERATIONS FOR USED & RARE ITEMS.

Please see the special considerations for shipping Used & Rare items, including extended delivery times, possible import duties & taxes.

Delivered in 3-5 weeks

Format: Hardcover

Publisher: Knopf Canada

Condition:

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0676977529

ISBN - 13:9780676977523

Seller Comments:

8vo. Pp 389. "A beautiful, moving memoir of a boy's coming of age, infused with a deep love of the land, from one of Canada's most cherished and acclaimed writers. In Of This Earth, Rudy Wiebe gives vivid life again to the vanished world of Speedwell, Saskatchewan, an isolated, poplar-forested, mostly Mennonite community ¿ and Rudy's first home. Too young to do heavy work, Rudy witnessed a way of life that was soon to disappear. And we experience with him the hard labour of clearing the stony, silty bushland; the digging out of precious wells one bucket of dirt at a time; sorrow at the death of a beloved sister; the disorienting searches for grazing cattle in the vast wilderness sloughs and the sweet discovery of the power of reading. Rare personal photographs (reproduced throughout the book) and the fragile memories of those who are left give shape to the story of Mennonite immigrants building a life in Canada, the growth and decline of the small Speedwell community, the sway of religion, and a young boy's growing love of the extreme beauty of the aspen forests ¿ as well as how all these elements came to inform his destiny as a writer."

From the Publisher

A beautiful, moving memoir of a boy’s coming of age, infused with a deep love of the land, from one of Canada’s most cherished and acclaimed writers.

In Of This Earth, Rudy Wiebe gives vivid life again to the vanished world of Speedwell, Saskatchewan, an isolated, poplar-forested, mostly Mennonite community – and Rudy’s first home. Too young to do heavy work, Rudy witnessed a way of life that was soon to disappear. And we experience with him the hard labour of clearing the stony, silty bushland; the digging out of precious wells one bucket of dirt at a time; sorrow at the death of a beloved sister; the disorienting searches for grazing cattle in the vast wilderness sloughs and the sweet discovery of the power of reading.

Rare personal photographs (reproduced throughout the book) and the fragile memories of those who are left give shape to the story of Mennonite immigrants building a life in Canada, the growth and decline of the small Speedwell community, the sway of religion, and a young boy’s growing love of the extreme beauty of the aspen forests – as well as how all these elements came to inform his destiny as a writer.

A hymn to a lost place and a distant time, Of This Earth follows the best of memoirs in the tradition of Sharon Butala’s The Perfection of the Morning and W. G. Sebald’s Austerlitz. It is an evocation of the Canadian west that only a writer of Rudy Wiebe’s powers could summon.

Used books: 1 more copy of this item is available

Of This Earth: a Mennonite Boyhood in the Boreal Forest

Of This Earth: a Mennonite Boyhood in the Boreal Forest

by Rudy Wiebe

Delivered in 3-5 weeks

Condition:

Format: Hardcover

Publisher: Knopf Canada

Seller Comments:

Book. Signed by Author(s) Complete number line from 1 to 10; inscribed and dated 2014 by Rudy Wiebe on the title page: "Peace, Rudy Wiebe"; minor wear; otherwise a solid, clean, unread copy in collectible condition.

$43.26