Of This Earth: a Mennonite Boyhood in the Boreal Forest

Cover may not be exactly as depicted

Of This Earth: a Mennonite Boyhood in the Boreal Forest

by Rudy Wiebe

Used & Rare price

SPECIAL SHIPPING CONSIDERATIONS FOR USED & RARE ITEMS.

Please see the special considerations for shipping Used & Rare items, including extended delivery times, possible import duties & taxes.

Delivered in 3-5 weeks

Format: Trade Paperback

Publisher: Vintage Canada

Condition:

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0676977537

ISBN - 13:9780676977530

Seller Comments:

Softcover. Sound & good copy, light to moderate rubbing/edgewear to wraps.

From the Publisher

A beautiful, moving memoir of a boy’s coming of age, infused with a deep love of the land, from one of Canada’s most cherished and acclaimed writers.

In Of This Earth, Rudy Wiebe gives vivid life again to the vanished world of Speedwell, Saskatchewan, an isolated, poplar-forested, mostly Mennonite community – and Rudy’s first home. Too young to do heavy work, Rudy witnessed a way of life that was soon to disappear. And we experience with him the hard labour of clearing the stony, silty bushland; the digging out of precious wells one bucket of dirt at a time; sorrow at the death of a beloved sister; the disorienting searches for grazing cattle in the vast wilderness sloughs and the sweet discovery of the power of reading.

Rare personal photographs (reproduced throughout the book) and the fragile memories of those who are left give shape to the story of Mennonite immigrants building a life in Canada, the growth and decline of the small Speedwell community, the sway of religion, and a young boy’s growing love of the extreme beauty of the aspen forests – as well as how all these elements came to inform his destiny as a writer.

A hymn to a lost place and a distant time, Of This Earth follows the best of memoirs in the tradition of Sharon Butala’s The Perfection of the Morning and W. G. Sebald’s Austerlitz. It is an evocation of the Canadian west that only a writer of Rudy Wiebe’s powers could summon.


From the Hardcover edition.

Used books: 5 more copies of this item are available

Of This Earth: a Mennonite Boyhood in the Boreal Forestâ

Of This Earth: a Mennonite Boyhood in the Boreal Forestâ

by Rudy Wiebe

Delivered in 3-5 weeks

Condition:

Format: Paperback

Publisher: Vintage Canada

Seller Comments:

Paperback book in good condition.

$12.49

Of This Earth: a Mennonite Boyhood in the Boreal Forest

Of This Earth: a Mennonite Boyhood in the Boreal Forest

by Rudy Wiebe

Delivered in 3-5 weeks

Condition:

Format: Paperback

Publisher: Knopf Canada

Seller Comments:

8vo. Pp 389.

$19.86

Of This Earth: a Mennonite Boyhood in the Boreal Forest

Of This Earth: a Mennonite Boyhood in the Boreal Forest

by Rudy Wiebe

Delivered in 3-5 weeks

Condition:

Format: Paperback

Publisher: Knopf Canada

Seller Comments:

8vo-over 7¾"-9¾" (CAD) 2nd Printing No markings, Fine. Wraps, 391pp. B&W photos. (1.7 Jm Fo 11/2.

$20.23

Of This Earth: a Mennonite Boyhood in the Boreal Forest

Of This Earth: a Mennonite Boyhood in the Boreal Forest

by Rudy Wiebe

Delivered in 3-5 weeks

Condition:

Format:

Publisher: Vintage Canada, 2007.

Seller Comments:

Paperback. Very good or better. Fiction: Fiction. Ships directly from our store in Santa Barbara, California.

$20.24

Of This Earth: a Mennonite Boyhood in the Boreal Forest

Of This Earth: a Mennonite Boyhood in the Boreal Forest

Delivered in 3-5 weeks

Condition:

Format: Paperback

Publisher: Vintage Books Canada

Seller Comments:

Quality Books...Because We Care-Shipped from Canada. Usually ships within 1-2 business days.

$30.44