The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics

Cover may not be exactly as depicted

The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics

by Daniel James Brown

Used & Rare price

SPECIAL SHIPPING CONSIDERATIONS FOR USED & RARE ITEMS.

Please see the special considerations for shipping Used & Rare items, including extended delivery times, possible import duties & taxes.

Delivered in 3-5 weeks

Format: Audiobook CD

Publisher: Penguin Audiobooks

Condition:

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1611761697

ISBN - 13:9781611761696

Seller Comments:

12 CDs in box.

From the Publisher

For readers of Laura Hillenbrand''s Seabiscuit and Unbroken, the dramatic story of the American rowing team that stunned the world at Hitler''s 1936 Berlin Olympics

Daniel James Brown’s robust book tells the story of the University of Washington’s 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic gold medal, a team that transformed the sport and grabbed the attention of millions of Americans. The sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the boys defeated elite rivals first from eastern and British universities and finally the German crew rowing for Adolf Hitler in the Olympic games in Berlin, 1936.

The emotional heart of the story lies with one rower, Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, who rows not for glory, but to regain his shattered self-regard and to find a place he can call home. The crew is assembled  by an enigmatic coach and mentored by a visionary, eccentric British boat builder, but it is their trust in each other that makes them a victorious team. They remind the country of what can be done when everyone quite literally pulls together—a perfect melding of commitment, determination, and optimism.

Drawing on the boys’ own diaries and journals, their photos and memories of a once-in-a-lifetime shared dream, The Boys in the Boat is an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times—the improbable, intimate story of nine working-class boys from the American west who, in the depths of the Great Depression, showed the world what true grit really meant. It will appeal to readers of Erik Larson, Timothy Egan, James Bradley, and David Halberstam''s The Amateurs.

Used books: 3 more copies of this item are available

The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics

The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics

by Daniel James Brown

Delivered in 3-5 weeks

Condition:

Format: Audiobook CD

Publisher: Penguin Audiobooks

Seller Comments:

12 CDs in box.

$57.22

The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics

The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics

by Daniel James Brown

Delivered in 3-5 weeks

Condition:

Format: Audiobook CD

Publisher: Penguin Audiobooks

Seller Comments:

12 CDs in box.

$67.96

The Boys in the Boat

The Boys in the Boat

by Edward Daniel James/ Herrmann Brown

Delivered in 3-5 weeks

Condition:

Format: CD/SPOKEN WORD

Publisher: Penguin Audiobooks

Seller Comments:

BRAND NEW BOOK! Shipped within 24-48 hours. Normal delivery time is 5-12 days.

$73.25