The Intuitionist

Cover may not be exactly as depicted

The Intuitionist

by Colson Whitehead

Used & Rare price

SPECIAL SHIPPING CONSIDERATIONS FOR USED & RARE ITEMS.

Please see the special considerations for shipping Used & Rare items, including extended delivery times, possible import duties & taxes.

Delivered in 3-5 weeks

Format: Hardcover

Publisher: Doubleday

Condition:

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0385492995

ISBN - 13:9780385492997

Seller Comments:

0385492995 All orders processed 7 days a week. We value your satisfaction and our feedback! Thanks Y44W.

From the Publisher

It is a time of calamity in a major metropolitan city''s Department of Elevator Inspectors, and Lila Mae Watson, the first black female elevator inspector in the history of the department, is at the center of it.  There are two warring factions within the department:  the Empiricists, who work by the book and dutifully check for striations on the winch cable and such; and the Intuitionists, who are simply able to enter the elevator cab in question, meditate, and intuit any defects.  

Lila Mae is an Intuitionist and, it just so happens, has the highest accuracy rate in the entire department.  But when an elevator in a new city building goes into total freefall on Lila Mae''s watch, chaos ensues.  It''s an election year in the Elevator Guild, and the good-old-boy Empiricists would love nothing more than to assign the blame to an Intuitionist.  But Lila Mae is never wrong.

The sudden appearance of excerpts from the lost notebooks of Intuitionism''s founder, James Fulton, has also caused quite a stir.  The notebooks describe Fulton''s work on the "black box," a perfect elevator that could reinvent the city as radically as the first passenger elevator did when patented by Elisha Otis in the nineteenth century.  When Lila Mae goes underground to investigate the crash, she becomes involved in the search for the portions of the notebooks that are still missing and uncovers a secret that will change her life forever.

A dead-serious and seriously funny feat of the imagination, The Intuitionist is a brilliant debut by an exceptional young talent.  Its sidesplitting humor is accompanied by a sobering examination of race--how it causes people to act and what it causes them to believe about themselves and others.  In the tradition of Ralph Ellison, Colson Whitehead artfully crosses back and forth over racial, political, and artistic borders to create a work of stunning depth,  soulfulness, and originality, starring one of the most intriguing heroines in contemporary fiction.

Used books: 50 more copies of this item are available

prev

1

2

3

The Intuitionist-1st Edition/1st Printing

The Intuitionist-1st Edition/1st Printing

by Colson Whitehead

Delivered in 3-5 weeks

Condition:

Format: 1/4 Cloth

Publisher: Anchor Books/Doubleday

Seller Comments:

8vo; [xii], 255, [5] pages. 0385492995. A handsome First Edition/First Printing in Fine condition in Fine dust-jacket; It is a time of calamity in a major metropolitan city's Department of Elevator Inspectors, and Lila Mae Watson, the first black female elevator inspector in the history of the department, is at the center of it.

$65.88

The Intuitionist

The Intuitionist

by Colson Whitehead

Delivered in 3-5 weeks

Condition:

Format: Hard cover

Publisher: Anchor Books

Seller Comments:

Sewn binding. Cloth over boards. With dust jacket. 272 p. Audience: General/trade. Fine in fine dust jacket with mylar cover. Unread in mint condition. First edition signed by author. Great deal...I must unload most of my book collection asap, so take advantage!

$71.16

The Intuitionist

The Intuitionist

by Colson Whitehead

Delivered in 3-5 weeks

Condition:

Format: Hardcover

Publisher: Anchor/Doubleday

Seller Comments:

8vo-over 7¾"-9¾" tall. Signed by Author First edition, first prnt. Signed by Whitehead on the title page. Fine condition in a Fine dustjacket with an archival cover. Whitehead's acclaimed first novel. Actual image of the book; not a stock photo.

$72.57

The Intuitionist

The Intuitionist

by Colson Whitehead

Delivered in 3-5 weeks

Condition:

Format: hardcover

Publisher: Anchor Doubleday

Seller Comments:

First edition. Fine in a fine duswrapper.

$72.57

The Intuitionist

The Intuitionist

by Colson Whitehead

Delivered in 3-5 weeks

Condition:

Format: Hardcover

Publisher: Anchor Books

Seller Comments:

Signed by Author First edition, first printing, hardcover. 255 pages. Very good with tail of spine bumped and small bruise to bottom edge of rear board, in fine dust jacket. Jacket in protective mylar cover. Author's first novel. Signed by author on title page.

$85.93

The Intuitionist (Signed)

The Intuitionist (Signed)

by Colson Whitehead

Delivered in 3-5 weeks

Condition:

Format: Soft Cover

Publisher: Anchor Books / Doubleday

Seller Comments:

Advance Reading Copy (ARC) Signed by Author Author's first book.

$92.62

The Intuitionist

The Intuitionist

by Colson Whitehead

Delivered in 3-5 weeks

Condition:

Format: Hardcover

Publisher: ANCHOR. NY 1999

Seller Comments:

0385492995. Fine in a fine dj. Author's FIRST novel. Favorably compared to Ralph Ellison's "Invisible Man."

$92.62

The Intuitionist Novel

The Intuitionist Novel

by Colson Whitehead

Delivered in 3-5 weeks

Condition:

Format: Hardcover

Publisher: Anchor Books

Seller Comments:

New York: Anchor Books, January 1999. Stated First edition. Hardcover. Fine/fine. 255pp. 8vo. Signed by author on the title page. Author's debut novel is tight and unread, has the original price on the jacket, is unmarked and clean. Complete number line on copyright page beginning with 1 and ending with 10. Brodart protected jacket.

$99.30

The Intuitionist (Signed)

The Intuitionist (Signed)

by Colson Whitehead

Delivered in 3-5 weeks

Condition:

Format: Hard Cover

Publisher: Anchor Books / Doubleday

Seller Comments:

Signed by Author Very slight bump to lower corner of front board and slight rub to tail of spine. DJ in plastic cover. Author's first book.

$105.98

The Intuitionist-1st Edition/1st Printing

The Intuitionist-1st Edition/1st Printing

by Colson Whitehead

Delivered in 3-5 weeks

Condition:

Format: 1/4 Cloth

Publisher: Anchor Books/Doubleday

Seller Comments:

8vo; [xii], 255, [5] pages. 0385492995. A handsome First Edition/First Printing in Fine condition in Fine dust-jacket. Signed by author Colson Whitehead directly on the title page; It is a time of calamity in a major metropolitan city's Department of Elevator Inspectors, and Lila Mae Watson, the first black female elevator inspector in the history of the department, is at the center of it.

$119.35