Her Stories

by Virginia Hamilton

Blue Sky Press | January 1, 1996 | Hardcover

Not yet rated | write a review
In the tradition of Hamilton''s The People Could Fly and In the Beginning, a dramatic new collection of 25 compelling tales from the female African American storytelling tradition. Each story focuses on the role of women--both real and fantastic--and their particular strengths, joys and sorrows. Full-color illustrations.

Format: Hardcover

Dimensions: 32 Pages, 8.66 × 11.02 × 0.39 in

Published: January 1, 1996

Publisher: Blue Sky Press

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 0590473700

ISBN - 13: 9780590473705

Found in: African-American Studies
Appropriate for ages: 3 - 5

save
37%

In Stock

$23.09

Online Price

$34.99 List Price

or, Used from $5.04

eGift this item

Give this item in the form of an eGift Card.

+ what is this?

This item is eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $25.
See details

Easy, FREE returns. See details

All available formats:

Check store inventory (prices may vary)

Reviews

– More About This Product –

Her Stories

Her Stories

by Virginia Hamilton

Format: Hardcover

Dimensions: 32 Pages, 8.66 × 11.02 × 0.39 in

Published: January 1, 1996

Publisher: Blue Sky Press

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 0590473700

ISBN - 13: 9780590473705

From the Publisher

In the tradition of Hamilton''s The People Could Fly and In the Beginning, a dramatic new collection of 25 compelling tales from the female African American storytelling tradition. Each story focuses on the role of women--both real and fantastic--and their particular strengths, joys and sorrows. Full-color illustrations.

About the Author

There were five of us children and our parents on a twelve-acre farm. My dad was the sun around which my world revolved. My mom, with her quiet, determined way, was my universe. My brother Bill was the closest to my age. He was the dreamer and shared his dreams with me. Having learned in school that China was on the other side of the world, he started digging a hole in orderto get there. It was I who stood at his side as the hole, at a depth of six feet, began to fill with water. Memories of those years, of summer days, wintern ights, storms and sunshine, have given ample food to my imagination all ofmy life. So has living here in my hometown of Yellow Springs, Ohio. My husband and I built our house on the last few acres of my family’s farm. Across the way, other relatives live in close comfort to us. Here on the land is the best place for me to write. I love the old trees, the great old one in which my brother Bill had his tree house. Being an Ohioan means that I have a long kinship wiht so many people here, with the landscape and the Ohio sky. For me, there is nothing quite like an Ohio sunset. I write books because I love chasing after a good story and seeing fantastic characters rise out of the mist of my imaginings. I can’t explain how it is I keep having new ideas. But one book ineviably follows another. It is my way of exploring the known, the remembered, and the imagined, the literary triad of which all stories are made.

From Our Editors

In the tradition of Hamilton's The People Could Fly and In the Beginning, a dramatic new collection of 25 compelling tales from the female African American storytelling tradition. Each story focuses on the role of women--both real and fantastic--and their particular strengths, joys and sorrows. Full-color illustrations

Appropriate for ages: 3 - 5

Item not added

This item is not available to order at this time.

See used copies from 00.00
  • My Gift List
  • My Wish List
  • Shopping Cart