Secret Pizza Party

Kobo eBook available

read instantly on your Kobo or tablet.

buy the ebook now

Secret Pizza Party

by Adam Rubin
Illustrator Daniel Salmieri

Dial | September 10, 2013 | Picture Books

Not yet rated | write a review
Shhhh! Don''t tell anyone about this mouth-watering book from the New York Times bestselling creators of Dragons Love Tacos!

How does Racoon love pizza? Oh, let him count the ways. He loves the gooey cheesy-ness, salty pepperoni-ness, sweet sweet tomato-ness, and of course the crispity crunchity crust. But someone is always chasing poor Raccoon away from his favorite food with a broom! What''s a hungry raccoon to do? Plan an elaborate secret pizza party, of course! 
But shhh! It's a secret! In fact, you should probably just forget I told you. Nope, no secret pizza party happening here.You didn't already tell all your friends, did you? Uh oh . . .

Fans of Jon Klassen and Mo Willems''s humor will gobble up this quirky ode to the lengths we will go to for our heart''s desire.

Praise for Dragons Love Tacos:
New York Times bestseller
A New York Times Notable Children''s Book of 2012

"Rubin and Salmieri are two of the weirdest, funniest guys working in kids' lit today. The team lets its geek flag fly in an obsessive how-to guide for would-be dragon taco party hosts. Why a taco party? As Rubin explains, ''The only things dragons love more than parties or tacos, is taco parties.'' If further proof is required, Salmieri—whose poker-faced watercolor, gouache, and color pencil drawings set a benchmark for oddball observational humor—shows one odd, scaly creature with a carryout bag from ''Taco Cave'' and another beaming with anticipation as it eagerly circles the date for a taco party on its taco-themed calendar. But beware: even if all the tips and rules are followed to the letter (on quantity:''The best way to judge is to get a boat and fill the boat with tacos''), all will be for naught if spicy salsa makes its way into the taco filling. In fact, the dragons will bring a whole new meaning to ''housewarming.'' Off-kilter fun for those who like their picture books (and salsa) zesty and fresh."–Publishers Weekly, starred review
 
"Dragons Love Tacos is a heaping helping of silly.  Little kids will relate to the anti-spicy bias and chuckle over Salmieri''s watercolor and gouache cartoon illustrations showing literally boatloads of tacos and all sizes of dragons enjoying their favorite food at pool parties, costume parties and, well, taco parties." –San Francisco Chronicle
 
"The perfect book for kids who love dragons and mild tacos." –Kirkus Reviews
 
"The watercolor, gouache, and colored pencil cartoon illustrations are the real stars here. Regardless of, or perhaps because of, the absurdity of the story, this tale should be a big hit with anyone with an affinity for dragons." –School Library Journal

Format: Picture Books

Dimensions: 40 pages, 4.04 × 4.11 × 0.13 in

Published: September 10, 2013

Publisher: Dial

Language: English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 0803739478

ISBN - 13: 9780803739475

save
28%

In Stock Hurry, only 0 left! Not yet released

$13.68  ea

Online Price

$18.00 List Price

or, Used from $7.68

eGift this item

Give this item in the form of an eGift Card.

+ what is this?

This item is eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $25.
See details

Easy, FREE returns. See details

Item can only be shipped in Canada

Downloads instantly to your kobo or other ereading device. See details

All available formats:

Check store inventory (prices may vary)

Reviews

– More About This Product –

Secret Pizza Party

by Adam Rubin
Illustrator Daniel Salmieri

Format: Picture Books

Dimensions: 40 pages, 4.04 × 4.11 × 0.13 in

Published: September 10, 2013

Publisher: Dial

Language: English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 0803739478

ISBN - 13: 9780803739475

About the Book

The "New York Times"-bestselling creators of "Dragons Love Tacos" are back with a mouthwatering new book that chronicles a raccoon's love for pizza. Full color.

From the Publisher

Shhhh! Don''t tell anyone about this mouth-watering book from the New York Times bestselling creators of Dragons Love Tacos!

How does Racoon love pizza? Oh, let him count the ways. He loves the gooey cheesy-ness, salty pepperoni-ness, sweet sweet tomato-ness, and of course the crispity crunchity crust. But someone is always chasing poor Raccoon away from his favorite food with a broom! What''s a hungry raccoon to do? Plan an elaborate secret pizza party, of course! 
But shhh! It's a secret! In fact, you should probably just forget I told you. Nope, no secret pizza party happening here.You didn't already tell all your friends, did you? Uh oh . . .

Fans of Jon Klassen and Mo Willems''s humor will gobble up this quirky ode to the lengths we will go to for our heart''s desire.

Praise for Dragons Love Tacos:
New York Times bestseller
A New York Times Notable Children''s Book of 2012

"Rubin and Salmieri are two of the weirdest, funniest guys working in kids' lit today. The team lets its geek flag fly in an obsessive how-to guide for would-be dragon taco party hosts. Why a taco party? As Rubin explains, ''The only things dragons love more than parties or tacos, is taco parties.'' If further proof is required, Salmieri—whose poker-faced watercolor, gouache, and color pencil drawings set a benchmark for oddball observational humor—shows one odd, scaly creature with a carryout bag from ''Taco Cave'' and another beaming with anticipation as it eagerly circles the date for a taco party on its taco-themed calendar. But beware: even if all the tips and rules are followed to the letter (on quantity:''The best way to judge is to get a boat and fill the boat with tacos''), all will be for naught if spicy salsa makes its way into the taco filling. In fact, the dragons will bring a whole new meaning to ''housewarming.'' Off-kilter fun for those who like their picture books (and salsa) zesty and fresh."–Publishers Weekly, starred review
 
"Dragons Love Tacos is a heaping helping of silly.  Little kids will relate to the anti-spicy bias and chuckle over Salmieri''s watercolor and gouache cartoon illustrations showing literally boatloads of tacos and all sizes of dragons enjoying their favorite food at pool parties, costume parties and, well, taco parties." –San Francisco Chronicle
 
"The perfect book for kids who love dragons and mild tacos." –Kirkus Reviews
 
"The watercolor, gouache, and colored pencil cartoon illustrations are the real stars here. Regardless of, or perhaps because of, the absurdity of the story, this tale should be a big hit with anyone with an affinity for dragons." –School Library Journal

About the Author

Adam Rubin and Daniel Salmieri are the creative team behind several delicious picture books. Adam''s pizza of choice is pepperoni, while Daniel prefers his with mushrooms. They both live in New York City, pizza capital of the world.

Editorial Reviews

Praise for Secret Pizza Party

"With a casually diverse cast of characters, Secret Pizza Party is a sure hit for primary-grade kids, who will appreciate the subtle humor and absurdity." -School Library Journal starred review

"From the madcap creators of Dragons Love Tacos (2012), another animal foodie shows just how far he will go to get his favorite meal. This screwball of a story will leave readers hankering for a slice." --Kirkus Reviews
Item not added

This item is not available to order at this time.

See used copies from 00.00
  • My Gift List
  • My Wish List
  • Shopping Cart