Mercy Among the Children

Cover may not be exactly as depicted

Mercy Among the Children

by David Adams Richards

Used & Rare price

SPECIAL SHIPPING CONSIDERATIONS FOR USED & RARE ITEMS.

Please see the special considerations for shipping Used & Rare items, including extended delivery times, possible import duties & taxes.

Availability: Ships within 1 week

Format: Paperback

Publisher: Doubleday Canada, Limited

Condition:

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 0385259956

ISBN - 13: 9780385259958

Seller Comments:

UNREAD, Like new, softcover, slight shelf wear, Satisfaction Guaranteed, Personal Service, International Shipping Available. Photos by Request.

From the Publisher

Mercy Among the Children received effusive praise from the critics, was nominated for a Governor General's Award and won the Giller Prize. It was named one of 2000's best books, became a national bestseller in hardcover for months, and would be published in the US and UK. It is seen, however, as being at odds with literary fashion for concerning itself with good and evil and the human freedom to choose between them - an approach that puts Richards, as Maclean's magazine says, firmly in the tradition of Tolstoy and Dostoevsky. Author Wayne Johnston recounts hearing Richards read in 1983 and being struck by his unqualified love for every one of his characters, even though "it was not then fashionable to love your characters". Pottersfield Portfolio editor Tony Tremblay calls Richards the most misunderstood Canadian writer of the century, and a "great moralist", comparing him to Morley Callaghan, Kafka and Melville.

As a boy, Sydney Henderson thinks he has killed Connie Devlin when he pushes him from a roof for stealing his sandwich. He vows to God he will never again harm another if Connie survives. Connie walks away, laughing, and Sydney embarks upon a life of self-immolating goodness. In spite of having educated himself with such classics as Tolstoy and Marcus Aurelius, he is not taken seriously enough to enter university because of his background of dire poverty and abuse, which leads everyone to expect the worst of him. His saintly generosity of spirit is treated with suspicion and contempt, especially when he manages to win the love of beautiful Elly. Unwilling to harm another in thought or deed, or to defend himself against false accusations, he is exploited and tormented by others in this rural community, and finally implicated in the death of a 19-year-old boy.

Lyle Henderson knows his father is innocent, but is angry that the family has been ridiculed for years, and that his mother and sister suffer for it. He feels betrayed by his father's passivity in the face of one blow after another, and unable to accept his belief in long-term salvation. Unlike his father, he cannot believe that evil will be punished in the end. While his father turns the other cheek, Lyle decides the right way is in fighting, and embarks on a morally empty life of stealing, drinking and violence.

A compassionate, powerful story of humanity confronting inhumanity, it is a culmination of Richards' last seven books, beginning with Road to the Stilt House. It takes place in New Brunswick's Miramichi Valley, like all of his novels so far, which has led some urban critics to misjudge his work as regional - a criticism leveled at Thomas Hardy, Joseph Conrad and Emily Bronte in their own day. Like his literary heroes, Richards aims to evoke universal human struggles through his depiction of the events of a small, rural place, where one person's actions impact inevitably on others in a tragic web of interconnectedness. The setting is extremely important in Richards' work, "because the characters come from the soil"; but as British Columbia author Jack Hodgins once told Richards, "every character you talk about is a character I''ve met here in Campbell River".

Used books: 10 more copies of this item are available

Mercy Among the Children

Mercy Among the Children

by David Adams Richards

Availability: Ships within 1 week

Condition:

Format: Trade Paperback

Publisher: Doubleday Canada, Limited

Seller Comments:

Softcover. Sound & good copy, light to moderate rubbing/edgewear to wraps.

$8.82

Mercy Among the Children

Mercy Among the Children

by David Adams Richards

Availability: Ships within 1 week

Condition:

Format: Trade Paperback

Publisher: Doubleday Canada, Limited

Seller Comments:

Softcover. Sound & good copy, light to moderate rubbing/edgewear to wraps, light thumbing wear, name within.

$8.82

Mercy Among the Children

Mercy Among the Children

by David Adams Richards

Availability: Ships within 1 week

Condition:

Format: Trade Paperback

Publisher: Doubleday Canada, Limited

Seller Comments:

Softcover. Sound & good copy, light to moderate rubbing/edgewear to wraps.

$8.82

Mercy Among the Children

Mercy Among the Children

by David Adams Richards

Availability: Ships within 1 week

Condition:

Format: Trade Paperback

Publisher: Doubleday Canada, Limited

Seller Comments:

Softcover. Sound & good copy, light to moderate rubbing/edgewear to wraps, sticker at front wrap, thumbing wear.

$8.82

Mercy Among the Children

Mercy Among the Children

by Richards: David Adams

Availability: Ships within 1 week

Condition:

Format: Trade Paperback

Publisher: Random House

Seller Comments:

Sydney Henderson's family suffer from his almost pathological gentlness.

$11.02

Mercy Among Children

Mercy Among Children

by David Adams Richards

Availability: Ships within 1 week

Condition:

Format: Softcover

Publisher: Anchor Books

Seller Comments:

In great condition overall. Sharp corners. Sturdy binding. Clean pages. Very light shelf wear. Shows no indications of having been read-no creasing to spine, no dogeared pages, no blemishes.

$11.29

Mercy Among the Children

Mercy Among the Children

by David Adams Richards

Availability: Ships within 1 week

Condition:

Format: Paperback

Publisher: Anchor Canada

Seller Comments:

This book is in good condition. All pages are intact, there are no tears to the book and the book is nice and clean. The pages might be slightly dog eared through previous use and textbooks might have a small amount of highlighting but nothing which will obstruct getting the maximum out of the book. Customers are protected by 100% refund guarantee if they are not happy.

$16.94

Mercy Among the Children

Mercy Among the Children

by David Adams Richards

Availability: Ships within 1 week

Condition:

Format: Paperback

Publisher: Anchor Canada

Seller Comments:

**SHIPPED FROM UK** We believe you will be completely satisfied with our quick and reliable service. All orders are dispatched as swiftly as possible! Buy with confidence!

$16.96

Mercy Among the Children

Mercy Among the Children

by David Adams Richards

Availability: Ships within 1 week

Condition:

Format: Trade Paperback

Publisher: Anchor Canada

Seller Comments:

Signed by Author(s) pp. 418. Dedicated & signed by author. Previous owners name in front.

$23.05

Mercy Among the Children

Mercy Among the Children

by David Adams Richards

Availability: Ships within 1 week

Condition:

Format: Trade Paperback

Publisher: Doubleday Canada, Limited

Seller Comments:

Book. 8vo-over 7 in-9 in Tall. Soft cover, very good condition. Mercy Among the Children received effusive praise from the critics, was nominated for a Governor General's Award and won the Giller Prize. It was named one of 2000's best books, became a national bestseller in hardcover for months, and would be published in the US and UK. It is seen, however, as being at odds with literary fashion for concerning itself with good and evil and the human freedom to choose between them-an approach that puts Richards, as Maclean's magazine says, firmly in the tradition of Tolstoy and Dostoevsky. Author Wayne Johnston recounts hearing Richards read in 1983 and being struck by his unqualified love for every one of his characters, even though "it was not then fashionable to love your characters". Pottersfield Portfolio editor Tony Tremblay calls Richards the most misunderstood Canadian writer of the century, and a "great moralist", comparing him to Morley Callaghan, Kafka and Melville.

$25.62

Item not added

This item is not available to order at this time.

See used copies from 00.00
  • My Gift List
  • My Wish List
  • Shopping Cart