The Intuitionist

Cover may not be exactly as depicted

The Intuitionist

by Colson Whitehead

Used & Rare price

SPECIAL SHIPPING CONSIDERATIONS FOR USED & RARE ITEMS.

Please see the special considerations for shipping Used & Rare items, including extended delivery times, possible import duties & taxes.

Delivered in 3-5 weeks

Format: Hardcover

Publisher: Doubleday

Condition:

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 0385492995

ISBN - 13: 9780385492997

Seller Comments:

Book shows minor use. Cover and Binding have minimal wear and the pages have only minimal creases. A tradition of southern quality and service. All books guaranteed at the Atlanta Book Company.

From the Publisher

It is a time of calamity in a major metropolitan city''s Department of Elevator Inspectors, and Lila Mae Watson, the first black female elevator inspector in the history of the department, is at the center of it.  There are two warring factions within the department:  the Empiricists, who work by the book and dutifully check for striations on the winch cable and such; and the Intuitionists, who are simply able to enter the elevator cab in question, meditate, and intuit any defects.  

Lila Mae is an Intuitionist and, it just so happens, has the highest accuracy rate in the entire department.  But when an elevator in a new city building goes into total freefall on Lila Mae''s watch, chaos ensues.  It''s an election year in the Elevator Guild, and the good-old-boy Empiricists would love nothing more than to assign the blame to an Intuitionist.  But Lila Mae is never wrong.

The sudden appearance of excerpts from the lost notebooks of Intuitionism''s founder, James Fulton, has also caused quite a stir.  The notebooks describe Fulton''s work on the "black box," a perfect elevator that could reinvent the city as radically as the first passenger elevator did when patented by Elisha Otis in the nineteenth century.  When Lila Mae goes underground to investigate the crash, she becomes involved in the search for the portions of the notebooks that are still missing and uncovers a secret that will change her life forever.

A dead-serious and seriously funny feat of the imagination, The Intuitionist is a brilliant debut by an exceptional young talent.  Its sidesplitting humor is accompanied by a sobering examination of race--how it causes people to act and what it causes them to believe about themselves and others.  In the tradition of Ralph Ellison, Colson Whitehead artfully crosses back and forth over racial, political, and artistic borders to create a work of stunning depth,  soulfulness, and originality, starring one of the most intriguing heroines in contemporary fiction.

Used books: 61 more copies of this item are available

prev

1

2

3

4

The Intuitionist

The Intuitionist

by Colson Whitehead

Delivered in 3-5 weeks

Condition:

Format: Hardcover

Publisher: New York: Anchor/Doubleday, (1999).

Seller Comments:

Book First Edition. Octavo, black cloth spine over grey paper covered boards. 255pp. plus acknowledgments page. A very tight, fresh, flawless and unread volume in a crisp, sharp, brilliant dust jacket. A pristine copy. Fine in fine dust jacket. AS NEW.

$33.82

The Intuitionist

The Intuitionist

by Colson Whitehead

Delivered in 3-5 weeks

Condition:

Format:

Publisher: Anchor Books

Seller Comments:

Used-Very Good. VG hardback in VG dust jacket. 1st edition. A bright, tidy copy in tight binding, almost as-new. Duset jacket not price-clipped, & protected in removable clear wrapper.

$35.60

The Intuitionist

The Intuitionist

by Colson Whitehead

Delivered in 3-5 weeks

Condition:

Format:

Publisher: New York: Anchor Books, (1999. )

Seller Comments:

SIGNED by author (or contributor) HC-Highly praised debut novel by this young African American writer, simply described as a story of elevator inspectors, but one which has caused its author to be compared to writers from Ralph Ellison to P. K. Dick and Thomas Pynchon. SIGNED on the title page. 255 pp.

$41.34

The Intuitionist

The Intuitionist

by Colson Whitehead

Delivered in 3-5 weeks

Condition:

Format: Hardcover

Publisher: Doubleday

Seller Comments:

Signed by Author(s) 0385492995 First Print. Signed in person by the author directly on the FULL title page NOT inscribed, clipped or otherwise marked. DJ in Mylar.

$41.91

The Intuitionist

The Intuitionist

by Colson Whitehead

Delivered in 3-5 weeks

Condition:

Format:

Publisher: Anchor Books/Doubleday

Seller Comments:

First edition. His very well received first book. A clean near fine copy in fine dust jacket.

$45.38

The Intuitionist. {Signed}. {First Edition/ First Printing.}.

The Intuitionist. {Signed}. {First Edition/ First Printing.}.

by Colson Whitehead

Delivered in 3-5 weeks

Condition:

Format: Hard Cover

Publisher: Anchor Books.

Seller Comments:

12mo-over 6¾"-7¾" tall. Signed by Author A VERY FINE copy of the first edition. In very fine, unclipped jacket. SIGNED by COLSON WHITEHEAD on the title page.

$47.36

The Intuitionist

The Intuitionist

by Colson Whitehead

Delivered in 3-5 weeks

Condition:

Format: Hardcover

Publisher: Doubleday

Seller Comments:

9780385492997. Signed on the title page by Colson Whitehead.; 0.9 x 8.2 x 5.5 Inches; 272 pages; Signed by Author.

$48.84

The Intuitionist

The Intuitionist

by Colson Whitehead

Delivered in 3-5 weeks

Condition:

Format: Hardcover

Publisher: Anchor

Seller Comments:

0385492995. Signed and dated by Whitehead. As two factions at the Department of Elevator Inspectors--the Empiricists and the Intuitionists--wage war on each other, Intuitionist Lila Mae, the first black elevator inspector, faces bedlam when an elevator freefalls on her watch and the mysterious notebooks from the founder of Intuitionism suddenly appear.; Signed by Author.

$49.42

The Intuitionist

The Intuitionist

by Colson Whitehead

Delivered in 3-5 weeks

Condition:

Format: Hardcover

Publisher: Anchor/Doubleday

Seller Comments:

8vo-over 7¾"-9¾" tall. First edition, first prnt. Unread copy in Fine condition in a Fine dustjacket with an archival cover. Whitehead's acclaimed debut novel.

$56.92

The Intuitionist-1st Edition/1st Printing

The Intuitionist-1st Edition/1st Printing

by Colson Whitehead

Delivered in 3-5 weeks

Condition:

Format: 1/4 Cloth

Publisher: Anchor Books/Doubleday

Seller Comments:

8vo; [xii], 255, [5] pages. 0385492995. A handsome First Edition/First Printing in Fine condition in Fine dust-jacket; It is a time of calamity in a major metropolitan city's Department of Elevator Inspectors, and Lila Mae Watson, the first black female elevator inspector in the history of the department, is at the center of it.

$56.92

The Intuitionist

The Intuitionist

by Colson Whitehead

Delivered in 3-5 weeks

Condition:

Format: Hardcover

Publisher: Anchor/Doubleday

Seller Comments:

8vo-over 7¾"-9¾" tall. Signed by Author First edition, first prnt. Signed by Whitehead on the title page. Fine condition in a Fine dustjacket with an archival cover. Whitehead's acclaimed first novel. Actual image of the book; not a stock photo.

$62.70

The Intuitionist

The Intuitionist

by Colson Whitehead

Delivered in 3-5 weeks

Condition:

Format: Hardcover

Publisher: Doubleday

Seller Comments:

0385492995. Very Good+ in a Very Good+ dust jacket.; 0.9 x 8.2 x 5.5 Inches; 272 pages.

$62.70

The Intuitionist

The Intuitionist

by Colson Whitehead

Delivered in 3-5 weeks

Condition:

Format: hardcover

Publisher: Anchor Doubleday

Seller Comments:

First edition. Fine in a fine duswrapper.

$62.70

The Intuitionist

The Intuitionist

by Colson Whitehead

Delivered in 3-5 weeks

Condition:

Format: Hardcover

Publisher: Doubleday & Co

Seller Comments:

Book First printing. Black spine, lavender boards, gilt titles. The author's first novel, a somewhat experimental/speculative fiction in the tradition of Ralph Ellison. As new in like DJ. 255 pp.

$62.70

The Intuitionist

The Intuitionist

by Colson Whitehead

Delivered in 3-5 weeks

Condition:

Format: Hardcover

Publisher: Anchor Books

Seller Comments:

Signed by Author First edition, first printing, hardcover. 255 pages. Very good with tail of spine bumped and small bruise to bottom edge of rear board, in fine dust jacket. Jacket in protective mylar cover. Author's first novel. Signed by author on title page.

$74.25

The Intuitionist

The Intuitionist

by Colson Whitehead

Delivered in 3-5 weeks

Condition:

Format: Hardcover

Publisher: ANCHOR. NY 1999

Seller Comments:

0385492995. Fine in a fine dj. Author's FIRST novel. Favorably compared to Ralph Ellison's "Invisible Man."

$80.02

The Intuitionist (Signed)

The Intuitionist (Signed)

by Colson Whitehead

Delivered in 3-5 weeks

Condition:

Format: Soft Cover

Publisher: Anchor Books / Doubleday

Seller Comments:

Advance Reading Copy (ARC) Signed by Author Author's first book.

$80.02

The Intuitionist Novel

The Intuitionist Novel

by Colson Whitehead

Delivered in 3-5 weeks

Condition:

Format: Hardcover

Publisher: Anchor Books

Seller Comments:

New York: Anchor Books, January 1999. Stated First edition. Hardcover. Fine/fine. 255pp. 8vo. Signed by author on the title page. Author's debut novel is tight and unread, has the original price on the jacket, is unmarked and clean. Complete number line on copyright page beginning with 1 and ending with 10. Brodart protected jacket.

$85.80

The Intuitionist (Signed)

The Intuitionist (Signed)

by Colson Whitehead

Delivered in 3-5 weeks

Condition:

Format: Hard Cover

Publisher: Anchor Books / Doubleday

Seller Comments:

Signed by Author Very slight bump to lower corner of front board and slight rub to tail of spine. DJ in plastic cover. Author's first book.

$91.58

The Intuitionist-1st Edition/1st Printing

The Intuitionist-1st Edition/1st Printing

by Colson Whitehead

Delivered in 3-5 weeks

Condition:

Format: 1/4 Cloth

Publisher: Anchor Books/Doubleday

Seller Comments:

8vo; [xii], 255, [5] pages. 0385492995. A handsome First Edition/First Printing in Fine condition in Fine dust-jacket. Signed by author Colson Whitehead directly on the title page; It is a time of calamity in a major metropolitan city's Department of Elevator Inspectors, and Lila Mae Watson, the first black female elevator inspector in the history of the department, is at the center of it.

$103.12

Item not added

This item is not available to order at this time.

See used copies from 00.00
  • My Gift List
  • My Wish List
  • Shopping Cart