Best of 2012

Best of 2012

Sutton
Hardcover

|November 3, 2014

$29.99

Out of stock online

Not available in stores

Born in the squalid Irish slums of Brooklyn, in the first year of the twentieth century, Willie Sutton came of age at a time when banks were out of control. If they weren't taking brazen risks, causing millions to lose their jobs and homes, they were shamelessly…
The Unlikely Pilgrimage Of Harold Fry
Hardcover

|January 11, 2017

$29.95

Out of stock online

Not available in stores

Recently retired, sweet, emotionally numb Harold Fry is jolted out of his passivity by a letter from Queenie Hennessy, an old friend, who he hasn't heard from in twenty years. She has written to say she is in hospice and wanted to say goodbye. Leaving his tense,…
Let's Pretend This Never Happened: (a Mostly True Memoir)

Out of stock online

Not available in stores

For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris—Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut. Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives—the ones we’d like to pretend never happened—are in fact the ones that define us. In…
The End Of Your Life Book Club
Hardcover

|October 17, 2016

$29.95

Out of stock online

Available in stores

Mary Anne Schwalbe was a renowned educator who filled such august positions as Director of Admissions at Harvard and Director of College Counseling at New York''s prestigious Dalton School. She also felt it incumbent upon herself to educate the less fortunate and…
In the Orchard, the Swallows
Paperback

|April 14, 2012

$22.95

Out of stock online

Not available in stores

A Guardian Book of the Year and Chapters/Indigo Best Book In the foothills of a mountain range in northern Pakistan is a beautiful orchard. Swallows wheel and dive silently over the branches, and the scent of jasmine threads through the air. Pomegranates hang…
The Casual Vacancy
Hardcover

|September 27, 2012

$36.99

In stock online

Available in stores

A big novel about a small town... When Barry Fairbrother dies in his early forties, the town of Pagford is left in shock. Pagford is, seemingly, an English idyll, with a cobbled market square and an ancient abbey, but what lies behind the pretty façade is a town…
The Chaperone
Hardcover

|June 5, 2012

$5.00

Out of stock online

Not available in stores

The New York Times bestseller and the USA Today #1 Hot Fiction Pick for the summer, The Chaperone is a captivating novel about the woman who chaperoned an irreverent Louise Brooks to New York City in 1922 and the summer that would change them both. Only a few…
Escape From Camp 14: One Man's Remarkable Odyssey From North Korea To Freedom In The West

Out of stock online

Not available in stores

A New York Times bestseller, the shocking story of one of the few people born in a North Korean political prison to have escaped and survived.  Blaine Harden''s latest book,  King of Spies , will be available from Viking in Fall 2017. North Korea is…
Bobcat And Other Stories
Paperback

|August 21, 2012

$19.80 online

$22.00list price

save 10%

Ships within 1-2 weeks

Available in stores

At turns heartbreaking and wise, tender and wry, Bobcat and Other Stories establishes Rebecca Lee as one of the most powerful and original voices in Canadian literature. A university student on her summer abroad is offered the unusual task of arranging a friend's…
The Headmaster's Wager
Hardcover

|October 17, 2016

$32.95

Out of stock online

Available in stores

From Giller Prize winner, internationally acclaimed, and bestselling author Vincent Lam comes a superbly crafted, highly suspenseful, and deeply affecting novel set against the turmoil of the Vietnam War. Percival Chen is the headmaster of the most respected…
The Raven Boys: Book 1 of The Raven Cycle

In stock online

Available in stores

An all-new series from the masterful #1 New York Times bestselling author Maggie Stiefvater! Legend holds that Glendower, a vanished Welsh king, sleeps beneath the hills until he's needed. The first person to find him will be granted a wish-either by seeing him…
Gone Girl: A Novel
Hardcover

|June 5, 2012

$23.08 online

$35.00list price

save 34%

In stock online

Not available in stores

Nominated as one of America’s best-loved novels by PBS’s The Great American Read Marriage can be a real killer. One of the most critically acclaimed suspense writers of our time, New York Times bestseller Gillian Flynn takes that statement to its darkest place in…