10:04 by Ben Lerner10:04 by Ben Lerner

10:04

byBen Lerner

Hardcover | November 15, 2017

Pricing and Purchase Info

$8.00 online 
$29.95 list price
Earn 40 plum® points

Out of stock online

Available in stores

about

Following the international buzz for his debut, Leaving the Atocha Station, comes 10:04, Ben Lerner's electric second novel that blends artistry and wit, intelligence and tenderness. A unique collision between art and life by an extraordinary young writer. For readers of Jeffrey Eugenides, Jonathan Lethem, Sheila Heti.
     Leaving the Atocha Station was hailed as "one of the truest (and funniest) novels...of his generation" (Lorin Stein, New York Review of Books), "a work so luminously original in style and form as to seem like a premonition, a comet from the future" (Geoff Dyer, The Observer). Now Lerner's second novel departs from Atocha's exquisite ironies in order to explore new territories of thought and feeling.
     In the last year, the narrator of 10:04 has enjoyed unexpected literary success, has been diagnosed with a potentially fatal heart condition, and has been asked by his best friend to help her conceive a child, despite his dating a rising star in the visual arts. In a New York of increasingly frequent super storms and political unrest, he must reckon with his biological mortality, the possibility of a literary afterlife, and the prospect of (unconventional) fatherhood in a city that might soon be under water.
     In prose that Jonathan Franzen has called "hilarious...cracklingly intelligent...and original in every sentence," Lerner captures what it's like to be alive now, when the difficulty of imagining a future has changed our relation to both our present and our past. Exploring sex, friendship, medicine, memory, art, and politics, 10:04 is both a riveting work of fiction and a brilliant examination of the role fiction plays in our lives.
BEN LERNER is a poet, novelist, essayist, and critic. He has been a Fulbright scholar, a finalist for the National Book Award, a Howard Foundation fellow, and a Guggenheim fellow. He received a MacArthur Fellowship in 2015. In 2011 he won the Preis der Stadt Müenster für Internationale Poesie, the first American to receive this honor. ...
Loading
Title:10:04Format:HardcoverDimensions:256 pages, 8.52 × 5.73 × 1.04 inPublished:November 15, 2017Publisher:McClelland & StewartLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0771047193

ISBN - 13:9780771047190

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Heady but Fun Analytical to the point of hilarity, with some nice formal and meta structures throughout.
Date published: 2016-06-16

Editorial Reviews

“Reading Ben Lerner gives me the tingle at the base of my spine that happens whenever I encounter a writer of true originality. He is a courageous, immensely intelligent artist who panders to no one and yet is a delight to read. Anyone interested in serious contemporary literature should read Ben Lerner, and 10:04 is the perfect place to start. He is destined to have a major career.” —Jeffrey Eugenides, author of The Marriage Plot  “Ben Lerner is a brilliant novelist, and one unafraid to make of the novel something truly new. 10:04 is a work of endless wit, pleasure, relevance, and vitality.” —Rachel Kushner, author of The FlamethrowersPraise for Leaving the Atocha Station:"[A] subtle, sinuous, and very funny first novel.... A beguiling mixture of lightness and weight. There are wonderful sentences and jokes on almost every page. Lerner is attempting to capture something that most conventional novels, with their cumbersome caravans of plot and scene and 'conflict,' fail to do: the drift of thought, the unmomentous passage of undramatic life...." —James Wood, The New Yorker