27 Hours by Tristina Wright27 Hours by Tristina Wright

27 Hours

byTristina Wright

Hardcover | October 3, 2017

Pricing and Purchase Info

$21.66 online 
$24.99 list price save 13%
Earn 108 plum® points
Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

Rumor Mora fears two things: hellhounds too strong for him to kill, and failure. Jude Welton has two dreams: for humans to stop killing monsters, and for his strange abilities to vanish.

But in no reality should a boy raised to love monsters fall for a boy raised to kill them.

Nyx Llorca keeps two secrets: the moon speaks to her, and she's in love with her best friend, Dahlia. Braeden Tennant wants two things: to get out from his mother's shadow, and to unlearn his colony's darkest secret.

To save everyone they love, they'll both have to commit treason.

During one twenty-seven-hour night, these four runaways must stop the war between the colonies and the monsters from becoming a war of extinction, or the things they fear most will be all that's left.

Tristina Wright is a blue-haired bisexual with anxiety and opinions. She's also possibly a mermaid, but no one can get confirmation. She fell in love with science fiction and fantasy at a young age and frequently got caught writing in class instead of paying attention. She writes stories about people who are heroes and monsters and som...
Loading
Title:27 HoursFormat:HardcoverDimensions:400 pages, 8.48 × 5.7 × 1.41 inPublished:October 3, 2017Publisher:Entangled Publishing, LLCLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1633758206

ISBN - 13:9781633758209

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from ALL THE FEELS!! I freaking loved this book. The plot is fast-paced with lots of twists and turns, that keep you on your toes. Granted, it is a young adult novel, so do not expect it to be on par with big names in literary fiction in terms of style or plot twists, but Tristina Wright knows her way around the prose and does it really well. The narrative flows easily. There wasn’t a moment in my reading when I would think: “yeah this is a bit slow”. It was action after action, and at times I needed a moment to process who was running where and who was almost killed this time.   Because I swear, all of the characters of "27 Hours" seem to have a death wish.   It is a well-constructed world, with enough composition and descriptions to fill you in as you go. I found the idea of mystic creatures, chimera (not gargoyles, thank you very much), living on the moon fascinating. The rules of the world are well defined, and even though at some point I was a bit confused about the hierarchy of HUBs and colonies, I felt quite comfortable while reading about the rest of it. I think the characters of "27 Hours" is the best part of this novel. I have not read a single other young adult (or adult, for that matter) book that would have this much representation. We have characters of colour, various origins, ability, gender identities, and sexuality. There is no discrimination based on any of that either. However, using her characters’ voices, the author touches upon few very critical issues that exist in our world, making them sound as ridiculous and horrific as they truly are. I loved this book, plain and simple. It gave me a band of incredibly brave teenagers, who are set on defending their home, even though it seems like a suicide mission. Who are willing to against everything they were taught. Who stand together in spite of differences that try to pull them apart. I loved "27 Hours" so much that I doodled George. I am not an artist but it had to be done. Just because.   I loved all the characters in the book, I can’t even decide who is my favourite. And I ship all of the ships. Yes.   And today, I ordered my own copy of "27 Hours" - because I need to have something to console me as I impatiently wait for book two in this trilogy.   I am usually pretty fair with my rating. To be honest, I would give the plot itself only 4 stars. However, the diversity and representation in this book are so good, that it deserves an extra star. I can not wait to find out what happens next in the story.
Date published: 2017-10-05

Editorial Reviews

"Tristina Wright presents a world that will at once thrill and horrify readers and make the most vulnerable of us feel unambiguously welcome and valid." -Meredith Russo, author of critically acclaimed If I Was Your Girl"A dynamic cast of teens drives this exciting and topical story of ecology, colonialism, and resistance." -Kate Elliott, New York Times bestselling author of Court of Fives"Tristina Wright has masterfully crafted a world that's as fascinating as it is dangerous. From the terrifying monsters to are refreshingly inclusive cast of characters to the bonds of friendship at the heart of this story, it has everything you could possibly want. If you're looking for your next favorite space saga, look no further." -Tara Sim,author of Timekeeper"Vibrant world building, heart-pounding action, and a cast of characters so real and vulnerable they'll steal your heart make 27 HOURS an unforgettable read. This is the queer science-fantasy epic you've been waiting for." -Claire Legrand, acclaimed author of Winterspell"An exhilarating ride from the very first page, filled with fiercely original monsters and a cast as enthralling as they are diverse 27 HOURS is everything readers could want from a space epic. And more." -A.R. Kahler, author of The Immortal Circus series"Tristina Wright's 27 HOURS combines science fiction and fantasy against the backdrop of a world so vivid you can smell it. A whirlwind of action and romance surround its diverse cast as they fight against a ticking clock to survive and save their home from destruction. Readers who loved Laini Taylor's Daughter of Smoke and Bone or Brian K.Vaughn's Saga will be on the edge of their seats at the end of Wright's first entry in The Nightside Saga." -Alexandra Duncan, award-winning author of Salvage"A big, badass space epic with a truly inclusive cast of teens who have strong friendships, high-stakes love lives,and a central place in the adventures of the cosmos. Wright carves out a gorgeous, complex future world and brings it to life, hour by action-packed hour." -Amy Rose Capetta, author of Echo After Echo