97 Orchard: An Edible History of Five Immigrant Families in One New York Tenement by Jane Ziegelman

97 Orchard: An Edible History of Five Immigrant Families in One New York Tenement

byJane Ziegelman

Paperback | May 31, 2011

not yet rated|write a review

Pricing and Purchase Info

$18.50

Earn 93 plum® points

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

“Social history is, most elementally, food history. Jane Ziegelman had the great idea to zero in on one Lower East Side tenement building, and through it she has crafted a unique and aromatic narrative of New York’s immigrant culture: with bread in the oven, steam rising from pots, and the family gathering round.” — Russell Shorto, author of The Island at the Center of the World

97 Orchard is a richly detailed investigation of the lives and culinary habits—shopping, cooking, and eating—of five families of various ethnicities living at the turn of the twentieth century in one tenement on the Lower East Side of Manhattan. With 40 recipes included, 97 Orchard is perfect for fans of Rachel Ray’s Hometown Eats; anyone interested in the history of how immigrant food became American food; and “foodies” of every stripe.

About The Author

Jane Ziegelman is the director of the Tenement Museum's culinary center and the founder and director of Kids Cook!, a multiethnic cooking program for children. Her writing on food has appeared in numerous publications, and she is the coauthor ofFoie Gras: A Passion. She lives in Brooklyn, New York.
A Square Meal: A Culinary History of the Great Depression
A Square Meal: A Culinary History of the Great Depression

by Jane Ziegelman

$11.99

Available for download

Not available in stores

Details & Specs

Title:97 Orchard: An Edible History of Five Immigrant Families in One New York TenementFormat:PaperbackDimensions:272 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 0.61 inPublished:May 31, 2011Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0061288519

ISBN - 13:9780061288517

Look for similar items by category:

Nearby Stores

We found 0 nearby stores

Customer Reviews of 97 Orchard: An Edible History of Five Immigrant Families in One New York Tenement

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

Social history is, most elementally, food history. Jane Ziegelman had the great idea to zero in on one Lower East Side tenement building, and through it she has crafted a unique and aromatic narrative of New York?s immigrant culture: with bread in the oven, steam rising from pots, and the family gathering round.(Russell Shorto, author of "The Island at the Center of the World")