99 Days

99 Days

Hardcover | April 21, 2015

byKatie Cotugno

not yet rated|write a review

From the acclaimed author of How to Love comes another stunning contemporary novel, perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen.

Molly Barlow is facing one long, hot summer—99 days—with the boy whose heart she broke and the boy she broke it for . . . his brother.

Day 1: Julia Donnelly eggs my house my first night back in Star Lake, and that's how I know everyone still remembers everything. She has every right to hate me, of course: I broke Patrick Donnelly's heart the night everything happened with his brother, Gabe. Now I'm serving out my summer like a jail sentence: Just ninety-nine days till I can leave for college and be done.

Day 4: A nasty note on my windshield makes it clear Julia isn't finished. I'm expecting a fight when someone taps me on the shoulder, but it's just Gabe, home from college and actually happy to see me. "For what it's worth, Molly Barlow," he says, "I'm really glad you're back."

Day 12: Gabe wouldn't quit till he got me to come to this party, and I'm surprised to find I'm actually having fun. I think he's about to kiss me—and that's when I see Patrick. My Patrick, who's supposed to be clear across the country. My Patrick, who's never going to forgive me.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$19.20 online
$21.99 list price (save 12%)
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

99 Days

Hardcover | April 21, 2015
In stock online Available in stores
$19.20 online $21.99 (save 12%)

From the Publisher

From the acclaimed author of How to Love comes another stunning contemporary novel, perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen.Molly Barlow is facing one long, hot summer—99 days—with the boy whose heart she broke and the boy she broke it for . . . his brother.Day 1: Julia Donnelly eggs my house my first night back in Star Lake, and that's how I...

From the Jacket

Day 1Julia Donnelly eggs my house my first night back in Star Lake, and that's how I know everyone still remembers everything—how I destroyed my relationship with Patrick the night everything happened with his brother, Gabe. How I wrecked their whole family. Now I'm serving out my summer like a jail sentence: Just ninety-nine days till...

Katie Cotugno is a 2011 Pushcart Prize nominee whose work has appeared inMississippi Review,Apalachee Review,Iowa Review, andArgestes, among other literary magazines, as well as on Nerve.com. Her first novel wasHow to Love. She lives in Boston with her husband, Tom.

other books by Katie Cotugno

How To Love
How To Love

Paperback|Mar 24 2015

$11.62 online$12.99list price(save 10%)
Fireworks
Fireworks

Hardcover|Apr 18 2017

$19.57 online$21.99list price(save 11%)
Duas vezes amor
Duas vezes amor

Kobo ebook|May 1 2014

$6.99

see all books by Katie Cotugno
Format:HardcoverDimensions:384 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 1.21 inPublished:April 21, 2015Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062216384

ISBN - 13:9780062216380

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Continuation I also hope that another book is coming after this one because the ending left so much room for a sequel and I'd like to see where it goes.
Date published: 2015-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE I loved this book, it was a really quick read but it was really enjoyable too. I took me on a roller coaster ride and I enjoyed every minute, every page of it. Really good book!
Date published: 2015-11-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from BOREDOM is what this book brought me. I am the type of person that likes to finish a book when they start it. This being said sometimes I wish I could just end a book when I really don't like it. I have only not finished one book that i started reading and that was Fallen by Lauren Kate. I would say this book was worse but the only thing that made me keep reading because I thought the end would bring the characters some sense of meaning. NO. This whole book was pointless and the ending brought no sense of completion. I love YA and usually I love most books I pick up. I am not a picky reader but this book was probably the worst book I read in a LONG TIME. I do not recommend. What I do recommend instead is the Selection series by Keira Cass. I am currently reading The One and I love everything about all of the books so far !!! If you're going to pick this book up I recommend getting it from the library.
Date published: 2015-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved the book I read this book in two days. I really enjoyed it... I didn't love the ending in a sense that I feel as though there should be a second book... who knows ;) Great story. I gave the book to my 16 year old once I was done with it and she loves it so far as well
Date published: 2015-07-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quick Read I loved Katie's last novel and decided to pick this up. It's perfect book for when you have some time off, because trust me when I say it's a page turner. Only thing is that I wasn't too happy with the ending. Overall, a pretty good book!
Date published: 2015-05-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Book! This was one whirlwind of a book! This is Katie Cotugno second book and it did not disappoint since I pretty much devoured it. As many of you know I fell in love with her debut How to Love which was amazing, but 99 Days is definitely up there as well. It was definitely different of how the story was told since there was 99 chapters to explain what Molly has gone through. Plus the cover is very pretty! I immediately fell in love with Gabe from the start since he was so sweet and plain lovable from the beginning. The romance I felt was all over the place since even my heart was torn between Gabe and Patrick (who are both brothers). It begins with Molly's house being egged by Julia Donnelly and her mom is a best selling author all about what happened to Molly last summer. Now she has returned for the summer and deals with what happens. The book does deal with cheating and a love triangle, and I did like how it featured it in a different angle and how this town now looks at her as a slut. Molly was only 17 when this happens and I did like Gabe probably better than Patrick and she did have a choice and at times it was heartbreaking when she had to make these decisions. She was mistreated very badly when she tries to come back. Katie Cotugno is a great writer and knows how to get you invested with her characters because you can feel Molly's frustration during some scenes. Even though at times the characters made some bad decisions it turned even more complicated and I wouldn't want to be in her shoes. One of the brothers Patrick was her first love and the other was who she had her first night with but if you read the book you can see there was chemistry before. One of the reasons I felt the book was undealt with was the ending because it leaving you hanging and feeling what is going to happen next. But this is a standalone novel so it left it open (so hopefully Katie will create a sequel one day). Overall, 99 Days was a good read full of heartbreaks and enjoyable to read. This contemporary novel was a fast quick read that was full of drama and I am excited for any of Katie's books that will be coming in the near future.
Date published: 2015-05-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Summer Read! Oh man! Who knew that so much could happen in 99 days? (That's like 3 months or so. Also, who gets 3 month summers in high school? Jealous!) 99 Days is about Molly Barlow, whose mom is a famous romance author. Her mom wrote a novel based on her situation with her ex boyfriend and his brother. She was basically slut shamed by the entire town and her ex- best friend who is the sister of her ex-boyfriend. She escaped her home town by going to a boarding school after being recruited for their track team. The summer after graduating high school, she returns to her home town for 99 days before she goes to Boston for university. Her return to Star Lake is a whole journey in and of itself. It's a finding-yourself journey for Molly and I loved going along on the ride with her, despite my cringing at some of the things she does. I love her and her flaws, but most especially when she learns to stand up for herself. I like that she is relatable because she doesn't know what she wants to go into and she keeps making mistakes. It's human and I could definitely relate to her. I kind of love Gabe. He's so freaking nice and sweet to Molly. He likes her for who she is and doesn't try to control her at all. And he gets it, the double standard. Though the town slut shames her, he knows that if she's getting blamed, he should be too. He's pretty perfect, though his rivalry with Patrick is a little gross. 99 Days is a great summer read that you can really just fly through. It shows how one summer can really change your life.
Date published: 2015-04-16

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

Praise for HOW TO LOVE: “Readers looking for a story of whirlwind passion…and a happily-ever-after drive into the sunset will not be disappointed.”