The Complete Stories by Flannery O'connorThe Complete Stories by Flannery O'connor

The Complete Stories

byFlannery O'connorIntroduction byRobert Giroux

Paperback | January 1, 1971

Pricing and Purchase Info

$20.08 online 
$20.50 list price
Earn 100 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores


Winner of the National Book Award

The publication of this extraordinary volume firmly established Flannery O'Connor's monumental contribution to American fiction. There are thirty-one stories here in all, including twelve that do not appear in the only two story collections O'Connor put together in her short lifetime--Everything That Rises Must Converge and A Good Man Is Hard to Find.

O'Connor published her first story, "The Geranium," in 1946, while she was working on her master's degree at the University of Iowa. Arranged chronologically, this collection shows that her last story, "Judgement Day"--sent to her publisher shortly before her death-is a brilliantly rewritten and transfigured version of "The Geranium." Taken together, these stories reveal a lively, penetrating talent that has given us some of the most powerful and disturbing fiction of the twentieth century. Also included is an introduction by O'Connor's longtime editor and friend, Robert Giroux.

Flannery O'Connor was born in Savannah, Georgia, in 1925. When she died at the age of thirty-nine, America lost one of its most gifted writers at the height of her powers. O'Connor wrote two novels, Wise Blood (1952) and The Violent Bear It Away (1960), and two story collections, A Good Man Is Hard to Find (1955) and Everything That Ri...
Title:The Complete StoriesFormat:PaperbackDimensions:576 pages, 8.28 × 5.46 × 1.57 inPublished:January 1, 1971Publisher:Farrar, Straus And Giroux

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0374515360

ISBN - 13:9780374515362

Look for similar items by category:


Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dark, beautiful examination of humanity Haunting and beautiful. I can only read one story at a time and have to pause to ponder it before starting the next one.
Date published: 2017-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Spiritual Classic One of the greatest spiritual writers of the 20th C.
Date published: 2017-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best short story collection out there Flannery O'Connor was a rock star. A devout Catholic in Evangelist territory that kept peacocks and suffered from Lupus while still writing short stories that dealt with religious epiphanies often brought on by grotesque humor and violence. Her stories paint a fascinating portrait of the American South and she is a master of building characters in very few pages. These stories will make you think and will you keep going back for more.
Date published: 2016-11-15

Table of Contents

Introduction by Robert Giroux

The Geranium
The Barber
The Crop
The Turkey
The Train
The Peeler
The Heart of the Park
A Stroke of Good Fortune
Enoch and the Gorilla
A Good Man Is Hard to Find
A Late Encounter with the Enemy
The Life You Save May Be Your Own
The River
A Circle in the Fire
The Displaced Person
A Temple of the Holy Ghost
The Artificial Nigger
Good Country People
You Can't Be Any Poorer Than Dead
A View of the Woods
The Enduring Chill
The Comforts of Home
Everything That Rises Must Converge
The Partridge Festival
The Lame Shall Enter First
Why Do the Heathen Rage?
Parker's Back
Judgement Day

Editorial Reviews

"What we lost when she died is bitter. What we have is astonishing: the stories burn brighter than ever, and strike deeper." -Walter Clemons, Newsweek