Gilead by Marilynne RobinsonGilead by Marilynne Robinson

Gilead

byMarilynne Robinson

Paperback | January 31, 2006

not yet rated|write a review

Pricing and Purchase Info

$19.64 online 
$20.95 list price save 6%
Earn 98 plum® points

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

Twenty-four years after her first novel, Housekeeping, Marilynne Robinson returns with an intimate tale of three generations from the Civil War to the twentieth century: a story about fathers and sons and the spiritual battles that still rage at America's heart. Writing in the tradition of Emily Dickinson and Walt Whitman, Marilynne Robinson's beautiful, spare, and spiritual prose allows "even the faithless reader to feel the possibility of transcendent order" (Slate). In the luminous and unforgettable voice of Congregationalist minister John Ames, Gilead reveals the human condition and the often unbearable beauty of an ordinary life.

Gilead is the winner of the 2005 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction.

About The Author

Marilynne Robinson is the author of the modern classic Housekeeping--winner of the PEN/Hemingway Award--and two books of nonfiction, Mother Country (FSG, 1989) and The Death of Adam. She teaches at the University of Iowa Writers' Workshop.
Housekeeping
Housekeeping

by Marilynne Robinson

$15.59$16.99

In stock online

Available in stores

Lila
Lila

by Marilynne Robinson

$17.47$18.99

In stock online

Available in stores

HOME
HOME

by Marilynne Robinson

$17.42$18.99

In stock online

Available in stores

Shop this author

Details & Specs

Title:GileadFormat:PaperbackDimensions:247 pages, 8.18 × 5.62 × 0.66 inPublished:January 31, 2006Publisher:Picador USALanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:031242440X

ISBN - 13:9780312424404

Look for similar items by category:

Nearby Stores

We found 0 nearby stores

Customer Reviews of Gilead

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

Gilead is a refuge for readers longing for that increasingly rare work of fiction, one that explores big ideas while telling a good story. As John Ames might point out, it's a remarkable thing to consider.