Gilead

Paperback | January 31, 2006

byMarilynne Robinson

not yet rated|write a review

Twenty-four years after her first novel, Housekeeping, Marilynne Robinson returns with an intimate tale of three generations from the Civil War to the twentieth century: a story about fathers and sons and the spiritual battles that still rage at America's heart. Writing in the tradition of Emily Dickinson and Walt Whitman, Marilynne Robinson's beautiful, spare, and spiritual prose allows "even the faithless reader to feel the possibility of transcendent order" (Slate). In the luminous and unforgettable voice of Congregationalist minister John Ames, Gilead reveals the human condition and the often unbearable beauty of an ordinary life.

Gilead is the winner of the 2005 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$19.64
$20.95 list price save 6%
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From the Publisher

Twenty-four years after her first novel, Housekeeping, Marilynne Robinson returns with an intimate tale of three generations from the Civil War to the twentieth century: a story about fathers and sons and the spiritual battles that still rage at America's heart. Writing in the tradition of Emily Dickinson and Walt Whitman, Marilynne Ro...

Marilynne Robinson is the author of the modern classic Housekeeping--winner of the PEN/Hemingway Award--and two books of nonfiction, Mother Country (FSG, 1989) and The Death of Adam. She teaches at the University of Iowa Writers' Workshop.

other books by Marilynne Robinson

Lila
Lila

Hardcover|Sep 30 2016

$8.00$29.99list pricesave 73%
Housekeeping
Housekeeping

Paperback|Jul 19 2004

$15.53$16.99list pricesave 8%
The Givenness Of Things
The Givenness Of Things

Paperback|Nov 1 2016

$18.99

see all books by Marilynne Robinson
Format:PaperbackDimensions:247 pages, 8.18 × 5.62 × 0.66 inPublished:January 31, 2006Publisher:Picador USALanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:031242440X

ISBN - 13:9780312424404

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of Gilead

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

Gilead is a refuge for readers longing for that increasingly rare work of fiction, one that explores big ideas while telling a good story. As John Ames might point out, it's a remarkable thing to consider.