Half Life: A Novel

Kobo eBook available

read instantly on your Kobo or tablet.

buy the ebook now

Half Life: A Novel

by Shelley Jackson

Harper Collins | October 20, 2009 | Hardcover

Not yet rated | write a review

A brilliant, disquieting first novel about a pair of conjoined twins who are deeply unhappy in each other’s company. Nora, the dominant twin, is strong, funny, and deeply independent, thirsting for love and adventure. Blanche, by contrast, has been sleeping for nearly twenty years. Finally sick of carrying her sister’s dead weight, Nora decides she wants her other half gone for good, so she leaves San Francisco for London in search of the mysterious Unity Foundation, which promises to make two one. And that one, of course, will be Nora -- Blanche will be mourned, but not missed.

But once Nora arrives in London, her past begins to surface in surprising and disturbing ways, forcing her into a most reluctant voyage into memory. Something seems to be drawing Nora’s thoughts back to the site of her rather unusual conception, birth, and childhood --the reconstructed ghost town of Too Bad, Nevada, where lizards skitter across the playa and "Shootout at Noon" comes every day. Searching for meaning and understanding in both her own and Blanche’s past, Nora pushes herself to the brink of insanity -- and begins to question her own, and Blanche’s, grip on the truth. Grotesque, funny, intricately wrought, verbally and conceptually dazzling, Shelley Jackson’s first novel is an imaginative and touching portrait of two lives in a cleft world yearning for wholeness -- a world not unlike our own.

Format: Hardcover

Dimensions: 288 pages

Published: October 20, 2009

Publisher: Harper Collins

Language: English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 0060882352

ISBN - 13: 9780060882358

save 93%

  • Out of stock online

$2.00  ea

Online Price

$28.95 List Price

This item is eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $25.
See details

Easy, FREE returns. See details

Item can only be shipped in Canada

Downloads instantly to your kobo or other ereading device. See details

All available formats:

Reviews

– More About This Product –

Half Life: A Novel

Half Life: A Novel

by Shelley Jackson

Format: Hardcover

Dimensions: 288 pages

Published: October 20, 2009

Publisher: Harper Collins

Language: English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 0060882352

ISBN - 13: 9780060882358

About the Book

In the tradition of Middlesex and Geek Love comes a stylish, fascinating, and sometimes disturbing first novel about one Siamese twin's plot to kill the other, written by a spectacularly cool and well& ndash; connected author.

From the Publisher

A brilliant, disquieting first novel about a pair of conjoined twins who are deeply unhappy in each other’s company. Nora, the dominant twin, is strong, funny, and deeply independent, thirsting for love and adventure. Blanche, by contrast, has been sleeping for nearly twenty years. Finally sick of carrying her sister’s dead weight, Nora decides she wants her other half gone for good, so she leaves San Francisco for London in search of the mysterious Unity Foundation, which promises to make two one. And that one, of course, will be Nora -- Blanche will be mourned, but not missed.

But once Nora arrives in London, her past begins to surface in surprising and disturbing ways, forcing her into a most reluctant voyage into memory. Something seems to be drawing Nora’s thoughts back to the site of her rather unusual conception, birth, and childhood --the reconstructed ghost town of Too Bad, Nevada, where lizards skitter across the playa and "Shootout at Noon" comes every day. Searching for meaning and understanding in both her own and Blanche’s past, Nora pushes herself to the brink of insanity -- and begins to question her own, and Blanche’s, grip on the truth. Grotesque, funny, intricately wrought, verbally and conceptually dazzling, Shelley Jackson’s first novel is an imaginative and touching portrait of two lives in a cleft world yearning for wholeness -- a world not unlike our own.

About the Author

Shelley Jackson is the author of the short story collection The Melancholy of Anatomy, the hypertext novel Patchwork Girl, several children’s books, and "Skin," a story published in tattoos on the skin of more than two thousand volunteers. She lives in Brooklyn, New York.