How to Be Black by Baratunde Thurston

How to Be Black

byBaratunde Thurston

Hardcover | January 31, 2012

not yet rated|write a review

Pricing and Purchase Info

$29.01 online 
$31.00 list price save 6%
Earn 145 plum® points

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores

about

Baratunde Thurston shares his 30-plus years of expertise in being black, with helpful essays like “How to Be the Black Friend,” “How to Speak for All Black People,” “How To Celebrate Black History Month,” and more, in this satirical guide to race issues—written for black people and those who love them. Audacious, cunning, and razor-sharp, How to Be Black exposes the mass-media’s insidiously racist, monochromatic portrayal of black culture’s richness and variety. Fans of Stuff White People Like, This Week in Blackness, and Ending Racism in About an Hour will be captivated, uplifted, incensed, and inspired by this hilarious and powerful attack on America’s blacklisting of black culture: Baratunde Thurston’s How to Be Black.

About The Author

Baratunde Thurston is the director of digital atThe Onion, the cofounder ofJack & Jill Politics, a stand-up comedian, and a globe-trotting speaker. He was named one of the 100 most influential African-Americans of 2011 byThe Rootand one of the 100 most creative people in business byFast Companymagazine. Baratunde resides in Brooklyn an...

Details & Specs

Title:How to Be BlackFormat:HardcoverDimensions:272 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 0.93 inPublished:January 31, 2012Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062003216

ISBN - 13:9780062003218

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of How to Be Black

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

“One of the smartest and funniest books I’ve ever read.”