Seasons They Change: The Story Of Acid And Pyschedelic Folk

byJeanette LeechForeword byGregg Weeks

January 1, 2011|
Seasons They Change: The Story Of Acid And Pyschedelic Folk by Jeanette Leech
Earn 110 plum® points
Buy Online
Ship to an address
Free shipping on orders over $35
Pick up in store
To see if pickup is available,
Buy In Store
Not sold in stores
Prices and offers may vary in store


In the late 60s and early 70s the inherent weirdness of folk met switched-on psychedelic rock and gave birth to new, strange forms of acoustic-based avant-garde music. Artists on both sides of the Atlantic, including The Incredible String Band, Vashti Bunyan, Pearls Before Swine and Comus, combined sweet melancholy and modal melody with shape-shifting experimentation to create sounds of unsettling oddness that sometimes go under the name acid or psych folk. A few of these artists--notably the String Band, who actually made it to Woodstock--achieved mainstream success, while others remained resolutely entrenched underground. But by the mid-70s even the bigger artists found sales dwindling, and this peculiar hybrid musical genre fell profoundly out of favour. For 30 years it languished in obscurity, apparently beyond the reaches of cultural reassessment, until, in the mid-2000s a new generation of artists collectively tagged ''New Weird America'' and spearheaded by Devendra Banhart, Espers and Joanna Newsom rediscovered acid and psych folk, revered it and from it, created something new. Thanks partly to this new movement, many original acid and psych folk artists have re-emerged. Seasons They Change tells the story of the birth, death and resurrection of acid and psych folk. It explores the careers of the original wave of artists and their contemporary equivalents.

Jeanette Leech is a writer, researcher, DJ and music historian. She writes regularly for Shindig! magazine, and as part of the B-Music collective she has DJed throughout the UK, including at the female acid folk events known as ''Bearded Ladies'' and the Green Man Festival. She writes extensively in the health and social care fields. ...
Title:Seasons They Change: The Story Of Acid And Pyschedelic FolkFormat:PaperbackProduct dimensions:368 pages, 8.5 X 6 X 1.5 inShipping dimensions:368 pages, 8.5 X 6 X 1.5 inPublished:1 janvier 2011Publisher:Jawbone PressLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1906002320

ISBN - 13:9781906002329

Appropriate for ages: All ages

Look for similar items by category: