Frank Miller's Sin City Volume 1: The Hard Goodbye 3rd Edition by Frank MillerFrank Miller's Sin City Volume 1: The Hard Goodbye 3rd Edition by Frank Miller

Frank Miller's Sin City Volume 1: The Hard Goodbye 3rd Edition

byFrank MillerIllustratorFrank Miller

Paperback | October 19, 2010

Pricing and Purchase Info

$20.68 online 
$25.00 list price save 17%
Earn 103 plum® points
Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

The first volume of the crime-comic megahit that introduced the now-infamous Marv and spawned a blockbuster film returns in a newly redesigned edition, with a brand-new cover by Frank Miller-some of his first comics art in years!

It's a lousy room in a lousy part of a lousy town. But Marv doesn't care. There's an angel in the room. She says her name is Goldie. A few hours later, Goldie's dead without a mark on her perfect body, and the cops are coming before anyone but Marv could know she's been killed. Somebody paid good money for this frame . . .

With a new look generating more excitement than ever before, this third edition is the perfect way to attract a whole new generation of readers to Frank Miller's masterpiece!

* Over a million Sin City books in print!

* New cover by Frank Miller!

* With Miller and codirector Robert Rodriguez gearing up for Sin City 2, this third edition is being released at just the right time!

* The Hard Goodbye was the lead story in the Sin City film, starring Mickey Rourke as Marv!
Frank Miller began his career in comics in the late 1970s, first drawing then writing Daredevil for Marvel Comics, creating what was essentially a crime comic disguised as a superhero book. It was on Daredevil that Miller gained notoriety, honed his storytelling abilities, and took his first steps toward becoming a giant in the comics ...
Loading
Title:Frank Miller's Sin City Volume 1: The Hard Goodbye 3rd EditionFormat:PaperbackDimensions:280 pages, 9 × 6 × 0.69 inPublished:October 19, 2010Publisher:Dark Horse ComicsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1593072937

ISBN - 13:9781593072933

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from The top of Miller's Game Many consider Sin City to be Miller's best work. It's very well done both in story and style. If you haven't read them but loved the movie (as most have) then you'll enjoy the series a great deal.
Date published: 2017-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick. Dark. Action Packed. It's a great face paced story with awesome artwork that's unique to Miller. It doesn't stagnate, nor does it hold punches. Quick. Dark. Action Packed with unique and interesting characters playing off of one another.
Date published: 2017-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Miller at his best Frank Miller was really at the top of his game when he wrote Sin City and the Hard Goodbye is one of the most memorable stories in this collection of stories. You're getting the best of the best in this collection.
Date published: 2017-03-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Loved the story and art Frank Miller might of gone a bit crazy but it shouldn't dampen how great the first Sin City stories were. The Hard Goodbye was my introduction to Sin City back in the day when it was a second edition in the early 2000's. This is the story of Marv, a hard fisted, hard headed, monster of a man getting caught up with a murderer and corrupt politicians. This story is brutal and dark but creates such an amazing universe that these tough characters live in. Highly recommended.
Date published: 2017-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic ! Gritty story with amazing noir art !
Date published: 2017-02-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Frank Miller is amazing! If you like graphic novels or are looking to understand the Sin City characters more i would highly recommend this book to you.
Date published: 2009-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Walk down the right back alley in Sin City and you can find anything. “The Dark Knight Returns” and “300” creator Miller first ushered audiences into the neo-noir world of Basin City with this hard-boiled detective yarn of one man’s violent search of justice which was serialized in Dark Horse Presents and spawned many further yarns and a motion picture franchise. Marv, the 7-foot flat-topped deeply scared anti-hero of the book, who the author has described as “Conan in a trench coat”, makes for a surprisingly engaging lead as he sets out to do what is right but finds himself constantly befuddled by an unnamed mental condition that places everything he narrates under suspicion. The creators first solo followed his highly publicised departure from DC who he thought were attempting to censor his work and seethes with anger and paranoia which he ploughs into this deliberately violent masterpiece that has become highly influential and was one of the major elements of the 2005 film adaptation. Walk down the right back alley in Sin City and you can find anything.
Date published: 2009-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mr. Miller, You Make a Gooooood Comic! Frank Miller Has Really Outdone Himself in this Tragic But Stylish Noir Tale of Blood, Love, and Sacrifice. After Marv, A Lovable Monster of a Man, is Framed for the Murder of his Love, Goldie, He Goes on a Bloody Rampage to Find her Killer. This Story is Great for Fans of Noir, Gore, or a Rip- Roaring Good Time.
Date published: 2007-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gritty, Dark and Devilishly Miller Frank Miller, the man who put the "dark" in the Dark Knight saga, comes out on his own in the first edition of the Sin City saga. This story is based around Marv, a less than attractive meatheaded thug, and his struggle to find the murderer of Goldie, a prostitute who gave him a chance. The search leads him through a long trail filled with gore, sexy look-a-likes, a dominatrix and a priest. A great read, fasted paced and impossible to put down. Who can't love an ugly thug, a dead prostitute and a "damn fine coat."
Date published: 2006-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The easiest read The first book in Frank Miller's gritty crime series is nowhere near as twisty or confusing as the books to follow. This simply tells the story of Marv, a brute who falls in love with a woman, and his rampage of revenge after he wakes to find her dead in his bed. The plot is still intricate, but you're not confused throughout like you can find yourself in say, "Hell and Back". Like all of Miller's books, it's worth every penny, and Marv's story is unique, just as are Dwight's or Wallace's or Hartigan's.
Date published: 2006-07-16