The Story Orchestra: The Nutcracker: Press The Note To Hear Tchaikovsky's Music

IllustratorJessica Courtney-tickle

Hardcover | October 5, 2017

The Story Orchestra: The Nutcracker: Press The Note To Hear Tchaikovsky's Music by Jessica Courtney-tickle
$24.37 online 
$32.99 list price
Earn 122 plum® points
Prices and offers may vary in store

Out of stock online

Available in stores


Follow Clara on a magical Christmas adventure in this musical retelling ofThe Nutcrackerballet—push the button on each beautiful scene to hear the vivid sound of an orchestra playing from Tchaikovsky's score.

It is Christmas Eve at Clara's house. Scents of ginger, chocolate, and peppermint waft through the air. Clara's parents are having a party, and her little brother Fritz is decorating the Christmas tree. Clara's godfather, a toymaker, arrives with gifts, including a very special one for her—a wooden nutcracker carved in the shape of a little man. After Fritz breaks it, the children are sent to bed.

The story follows Clara in her dreams as she battles and defeats a mouse king, then travels with her nutcracker-turned-prince to the Land of Sweets where she watches its enchanting inhabitants perform beautiful dances. As you and your little one journey through the magical scenes, you willpress the buttons to hear 10 excerpts from the ballet's music, including “The Waltz of the Flowers, “The Dance of the Sugar Plum Fairy, “The Russian Dance, and the awesome “Finale.

At the back of the book, find a shortbiography of the composer, Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky, with details about his composition of The Nutcracker ballet. Next to this, you can replay the musical excerpts and, for each of them, read adiscussion of the instruments, rhythms, and musical techniquesthat make them so powerful. A glossary defines musical terms.

The Story Orchestra seriesbrings classical music to life for children through gorgeously illustrated retellings of classic ballet stories paired with 10-second sound clips of orchestras playing from their musical scores.

Manufacturer's note:please pull the white tab out of the back of the book before use. Sound buttons require a firm push in exact location to work, which may be hard for young children. All sound clips are 10 seconds long.
Jessica Courtney-Tickleis an illustrator who graduated from Kingston University in July 2014. Her absolute favorite thing to draw or paint is nature, finding a focus on foliage of any kind as well as children's stories about adventure and exploration. She also has a penchant for drawing theater from music makers to dancers and even sin...
Title:The Story Orchestra: The Nutcracker: Press The Note To Hear Tchaikovsky's MusicFormat:HardcoverProduct dimensions:24 pages, 12.38 X 10.62 X 0.5 inShipping dimensions:24 pages, 12.38 X 10.62 X 0.5 inPublished:October 5, 2017Publisher:Frances Lincoln Children's BooksLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1786030683

ISBN - 13:9781786030689

Appropriate for ages: 6

Look for similar items by category: