The Truth About Delilah Blue by Tish CohenThe Truth About Delilah Blue by Tish Cohen

The Truth About Delilah Blue

byTish Cohen

Paperback | June 8, 2010

Pricing and Purchase Info

$18.25 online 
$19.99 list price
Earn 91 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

On re-order online

Not available in stores

about

Delilah Blue Lovett has always been a bit of an outsider, ever since her father moved her from Toronto to L.A. when she was eight, claiming Delilah’s mother no longer wanted to be part of their family. Twenty now and broke, but determined to be an artist like her errant mom, Delilah attends art class for free -- by modeling nude at the front of the room, a decision that lifts the veil from her once insular world.

While Delilah struggles to find her talent, her father, her only real companion, is beginning to exhibit telltale signs of early-onset Alzheimer’s. And her mother, who Delilah always assumed had selfishly abandoned them, is about to reappear with a young daughter in tow . . . and a secret that will change everything. Delilah no longer knows which parent to trust -- the only one she can really rely on is the most broken person of all: herself.

In a new novel as witty, sparkling, and poignant as her acclaimed Inside Out Girl, author Tish Cohen uncovers the humor and heart within the most dysfunctional of families.

Tish Cohen is the author of the novelsInside Out GirlandTown Houseand a novel for teens,Little Black Lies. Having grown up in southern California and Montreal, Cohen currently lives in Toronto.
Loading
Title:The Truth About Delilah BlueFormat:PaperbackDimensions:432 pages, 8.75 × 6.35 × 1.2 inPublished:June 8, 2010Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1554685869

ISBN - 13:9781554685868

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved this! Cohen tells a great story with believable characters and wonderful writing style! Loved this book!
Date published: 2018-02-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A very good story I really enjoyed this story about a young artist whose self-doubts are balanced by her determination as she navigates a distressing revelation about her family.
Date published: 2017-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stunning Brilliant piece of writing. Complex characters presented with depth and understanding. Real people confronted with challenging circumstances .
Date published: 2015-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from You have to 'discover' Tish Cohen! If you're a regular reader, you may remember me raving about Tish Cohen's book Inside Out Girl. I was thrilled to see she had a new release The Truth About Deliah Blue - and yes I will be raving again! Delilah Blue moved with her father Victor from Toronto to Los Angeles when she was eight. She has always believed that her mother abandoned her. Victor has always been overprotective, sheltering 'Lila' from anything or anyone he perceives as a possible danger or threat. As a result Lila has become a bit insular. She has always loved art, as did her mother. For financial reasons, she is unable to attend college. She boldly decides to step out of her comfort zone and do nude figure modeling so she can 'attend' the classes. Victor is not behaving like himself lately though - he seems to be forgetting things, though he struggles valiantly to hang on to his normal routines. He is only 53. In the midst of this....Delilah's mother appears - along with her young daughter Kieran. She tells a very different story than Victor's. Delilah doesn't know who or what to believe. Wow. Cohen's forté is character development. Victor's struggle to adhere to his regular routine, picking just the right tie, remembering that a special client likes a certain type of donut, but forgetting salient details was heartbreaking. He knows that something is wrong, but doesn't acknowledge the elephant. Flashbacks to the past are part of the memories Victor hangs on to and slowly but surely we learn how father and daughter came to be in L.A. Lila's struggle to step outside of the invisible fences that surround her will have you silently urging her forward. Lila's mother Elisabeth evoked strong feelings in this reader the more we got to know her. Kieran is a moving character as well - having lived with the loss and her mother's memories of Delilah her entire life. Cohen explores every character's expectation of what is right and what shoud be done. Not all were what I expected, which I appreciated. A great page turner that I truly enjoyed. Fans of Lori Lansens and Jodi Picoult would enjoy this book.
Date published: 2010-07-23

Editorial Reviews

"Cohen knows how to focus on character in ways that make readers care."
-- Kirkus Reviews ()