The Taker: Book One of the Taker Trilogy

Paperback | March 27, 2012

byAlma Katsu

not yet rated|write a review
In the tradition of Anne Rice and Elizabeth Kostova comes a hauntingly atmospheric tale spanning several lifetimes—a love story featuring alchemy, lust, and betrayal.

True love can last an eternity . . . but immortality comes at a price.

On the midnight shift at a hospital in rural St. Andrew, Maine, Dr. Luke Findley is expecting a quiet evening. Until a mysterious woman arrives in his ER, escorted by police—Lanore McIlvrae is a murder suspect—and Luke is inexplicably drawn to her. As Lanny tells him her story, an impassioned account of love and betrayal that transcends time and mortality, she changes his life forever. . . . At the turn of the nineteenth century, when St. Andrew was a Puritan settlement, Lanny was consumed as a child by her love for the son of the town’s founder, and she will do anything to be with him forever. But the price she pays is steep—an immortal bond that chains her to a terrible fate for eternity.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$17.00

In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From the Publisher

In the tradition of Anne Rice and Elizabeth Kostova comes a hauntingly atmospheric tale spanning several lifetimes—a love story featuring alchemy, lust, and betrayal. True love can last an eternity . . . but immortality comes at a price. On the midnight shift at a hospital in rural St. Andrew, Maine, Dr. Luke Findley is expecting a qui...

Alma Katsu has a B.A. in Writing from Brandeis University, where she studied under John Irving, and an M.A. from the Johns Hopkins Writing Program. She lives with her husband in Virginia.

other books by Alma Katsu

The Reckoning: Book Two of the Taker Trilogy
The Reckoning: Book Two of the Taker Trilogy

Paperback|Jan 22 2013

$24.60 online$32.99list price(save 25%)
The Descent: Book Three of the Taker Trilogy
The Descent: Book Three of the Taker Trilogy

Paperback|Jan 7 2014

$15.13 online$18.99list price(save 20%)
see all books by Alma Katsu
Format:PaperbackDimensions:464 pages, 8.25 × 5.31 × 1.3 inPublished:March 27, 2012Publisher:Gallery BooksLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1439197067

ISBN - 13:9781439197066

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of The Taker: Book One of the Taker Trilogy

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

Looking for a good read? Get ready to hear about a time-transcending page turner. Two years ago,having just finished The Vampire Chronicles by Anne Rice and The Twilight Series by Stephanie Meyer, I was still hungry for more of the supernatural. My only hesitation was that I wanted something a little more plausible than blood-sucking vampires. As fate would have it, I stumbled upon The Taker by Alma Katsu. Dutifully, I checked reviews before purchasing the book. How I hadn’t heard of it prior to then is beyond me, as the book was insanely well-received and only growing in popularity. I took the novel home and was blown away by the captivating story of an impressionable young woman, the “Adonis” who she falls in love with and the “monster” who falls in love with her. Lanore, Jonathan and Adair had me spellbound like no other characters have. The Taker satiated my need for the supernatural, but was unique in it’s portrayal of everlasting love and unrelenting obsession, both of which know no boundaries for these characters. The second installment, The Reckoning, was equally fascinating—the never-ending love chase propelling the jump between several different time periods and beautiful locations all over the world. Finally, the end of this twisted tale will come to an end with Katsu’s final installment, The Descent.